4.5 star rating: Recommended 670 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 670 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour! We enjoyed it very much. Also, nte that this company (unlike other companies) leaves a little later and can pick your up at your hotel (unlike other companies) ... which is really nice for people who don't like to wake up early when they're on vacation. One tip: Pack a small snack or have a little breakfast before the trip or on the way. Then when you get to Monterey you can enjoy the aquarium for the full amount of time. (We were famished by the time we got to Monterey so ended up getting a lunch there, and deemed it just so-so ... plus regretted that we weren't spending our whole time of the Monterey stop at the aquarium.) Then when you get to Carmel, you can grab another meal and feel good about maximizing your enjoyment of each stop. Another note: Our driver was amazingly knowledgeable about the whole area and its history. He had a dry sense of humor which we found to be entertaining. One woman on our ride tried to ask a couple questions, but he had a hard time hearing her and had to focus on the road. Therefore, for the bus ride south, expect to be doing a lot of passive listening and learning while you look out the windows. We loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour.....very knowledgable bus driver. Would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The ride was spectacular on the way. 17 Mile Drive was better than I ever anticipated. The driver was very entertaining! As always picked up and dropped off at our hotel by the Airport.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

From the moment we joined the coach until we departed at the end of the day we were well looked after by our driver/guide, John. His knowledge of the areas we were visiting was interesting and illuminating. Our timetable was clearly explained by him and pickup points/times throughout the day's tour were clearly set out. The coach was comfortable and since not all the seats were taken we could spread ourselves out with ease.
We had sufficient time in both Carmel and Monterey to explore. As an avid Steinbeck reader I was very interested in Cannery Row and the Doc's lab.
Good tour. Great scenery Good job, John.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was the most awesome and beautiful views I have ever seen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour, coastline scenery going down was fabulous as was Monterey,and the aquarium.
17 mile drive ,Carmel and Pebble Beach were all highlights as was the Lone Cypress.
Tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable and made many photo stops along the way .
A must do when going to Sanfrancisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick-up from my SFO area motel was perfect to start. Great tour guide/driver, from the city to the end of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip out of San Francisco. Relaxing and great views on the 17-mile drive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A good day out although places are very touristy now. But good driver, coach and itinery . Worth doing to see this part of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

It was fine, beautiful weather, pleasant driver. Great trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the trip. Experienced driver and customer orientated services made the long trip enjoyable. We definitley recommend your company to friends when they travel in your area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best tour I think we have ever gone on. It was booked through Viator but was a Grayline Tour and we had the greatest tour guide named Wolfgang. He was an encyclopedia of knowledge and had been a tour guide since 1978 in the California coastal areas. We left early in the AM from San Francisco and made a scenic drive down the California coast. Monterey, the 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach and Carmel were great. We made several rest stops at scenic areas along the way down and the return trip back to San Francisco that night arriving back to our hotel (we were dropped off at our hotel) by 9:00 PM. It was a great day and I would do it all over again if I am in the San Francisco area. Don't miss this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Would highly recommend Viator tours. The driver was great recommended some nice places to eat in Montery. The bus was very clean and comfortable. The drive thru 17-mile drive was well worth the trip alone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent, very knowledgeable ( and entertaining) driver guide. Would suggest cutting back time spent in Monterey / Carmel to 75 / 45 minutes respectively to facilitate an earlier return to San Francisco.

From USD $ 76.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMON

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message