4.5 star rating: Recommended 1371 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1371 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was so much fun. The only woods are stunning and the tour guide Erin was professional, funny and kknowledgeable. highly recommend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience getting to see Muir Woods and visit Sausalito. Troy was our driver, he was very knowledgable about the history of San Francisco and he got us there and back safely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We both really enjoyed Muir Woods Wonderfull, amazing tall redwoods.You need walking shoes if you want to go on a trail, which we did.Woods are silent only and odd sound of birdnowhere to stop and sit The main walk is on the flat by a stream and there are places to sit and look up.You need a camera and water. We didnt see anywhere to get a drink or food. The trip to the woods is lovely and the views good.Driver stops so you can photograph The Golden Gate Bridge which you cross twice.Sausalito was charming. Plenty of restaurants and places to drink. Some really interesting glass in shops and lovely buildings.Lovely walk along the front and we were there as the light changed to evening and the views across the water were very atmospheric and if you are a camera enthusiast well worth taking as the mists coming down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, our tour guide Aaron was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We loved Muir Woods and Sausalito. This would make a great full day trip, because we really needed more time in both places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining, and tour delivered exactly what was advertised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Muir Woods was one of the coolest places I've been to. If you enjoy huge trees and feeling "small" I'd totally recommend the visit. The Giant redwoods were also a sight to see as I've never seen trees that big. Sausalito was a great town to end the trip with. The town had beautiful views and shops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour with a wonderful guide named Troy. A bit cold in the woods so bring a coat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour and tour guide, Kenneth did a wonderful job

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

vår guide var en kille i 30 års åldern, jätte roligt och lättsam. kunde mycket om san francisco.
muirwoods var ett mysigt ställe, lite kallt då vi var där i början på januari. vi fick även möjlighet att stanna vid golden gate bron påvägen tillbaka och ta kort. mycket värt hela utflykten.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had the greatest tour guide on the Muir Woods trip . He made the trip so much fun, He played San Francisco songs on the way back, and gave us a lot of info too. Everything went on schedule, and he took us to a really cool look-out to see Golden Gate Bridge. I was ther Jan 9th, 2015. i would use the Viator again. Everyone I had contact with through this trip from booking and some phone contact was so helpful. Would use again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must do. Muir Woods is something special. Our Tour bus driver was great, and told us all many great facts as we drove through the city, over the Golden Gate Bridge into the Muir Woods.
A spectacular day. Don't miss this chance while in the great city of San Francisco.
Steve Chater, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Both just beautiful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time! Troy our driver was funny and informative. We loved going to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Trip wasn't too long or taxing and we had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed this trip to Muir Woods. We were suppose to go to yosemite but changed our mind since it might not be the best time to travel that far in Nov to see the Sequoia trees. We instead took this short trip to muir woods. We really amazed with the view and enjoyed this trip. We had enough time to explore independently the park. The sausalito trip was just ok, it was short but we felt there was really nothing to see. On our way back, our tour driver, stopped to let us see the Golden Gate at night. It was an awesome view from where we stopped.
Few suggestions for improvement, perhaps since almost every tourist have cell phone, the tour guide should text all as reminder when it is almost time to return to bus; or perhaps give everyone some type of device that would ring so as to encourage everyone returning to the bus on time. It was very annoying that we had to wait for the few late tourists who did not pay attention to the time.
I would also suggest to have some music on during the trip to enhance the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brian was a GREAT tour guide. He had extensive knowledge of both San Francisco and places around the world. He had great historical stories for every moment of the ride! The Muir Woods were beautiful. Make sure to keep yourself on schedule because you do not have long to stay and take pictures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was awesome and our tour guide, Troy, was fantastic! He was knowledgeable and made the trip interesting and fun. Would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Brian was AMAZING. Because of him this tour rates a 5. The tour itself though was too short at muir woods and too short (30 min.) in Sausalito. Brian really went out of his way to make sure we had amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus was clean.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing was tour. Francis our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Randy our bus driver had excellent driving skills. The Muir Woods was beautiful. Sausalito was breath taking. Adequate time was spent at each location. Even got a scenic look of Golden Gate Bridge from the mountain. Happy customer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide, Troy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The key was the excellent guide/driver Aaron who had a wealth of information and shared it with us for the entire trip.

Two precautions are that 1) for the afternoon trip they do not pick up from your hotel and 2) plan for extra time, not just the 4 hours since in our case we got back about 7PM from the 2PM trip. However the extra time was spent in some phenomenal views of San Francisco.

The impressive Muir woods walk took an hour (stopped for 1 hr 15 min). The bus and the ticket process were both clean and easy.

Highly recommend both the sites and the tour company. The trip exceeded my expectations.

Special Offer
$60.00 Save $10.00

From USD $ 50.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message