Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 1372 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1372 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Brian was AMAZING. Because of him this tour rates a 5. The tour itself though was too short at muir woods and too short (30 min.) in Sausalito. Brian really went out of his way to make sure we had amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus was clean.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing was tour. Francis our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Randy our bus driver had excellent driving skills. The Muir Woods was beautiful. Sausalito was breath taking. Adequate time was spent at each location. Even got a scenic look of Golden Gate Bridge from the mountain. Happy customer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide, Troy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The key was the excellent guide/driver Aaron who had a wealth of information and shared it with us for the entire trip.

Two precautions are that 1) for the afternoon trip they do not pick up from your hotel and 2) plan for extra time, not just the 4 hours since in our case we got back about 7PM from the 2PM trip. However the extra time was spent in some phenomenal views of San Francisco.

The impressive Muir woods walk took an hour (stopped for 1 hr 15 min). The bus and the ticket process were both clean and easy.

Highly recommend both the sites and the tour company. The trip exceeded my expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had such a great time on this tour. The Muir Woods are awe inspiring. We wish we would have had more time there. Sausalito is such a charming little bay town. We had plenty of time for some wine and walking around. Archie was so nice. He was very informative!! Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very nice. Our guide Troy was very knowledgeable and a great narrator. Sausalito was too short of a stop to really do much of anything except get a lay of the land for a future visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

great driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the tour. Our guide Brian was extremely knowledgable and made the tour all the more enjoyable. The woods were gorgeous, we got to have a yummy lunch at Sausalito and take pictures looking back over the bridge from the Marin headland area. Ticked all the boxes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brian was a great tour guide, and we learned a lot from him. This tour was a great way to see some of the sights near San Francisco without missing a whole day of our conference. The drive to Muir Woods was beautiful, and Muir woods was even more so. Sausalito was a nice spot for lunch. We ate at the fish and chips shop, and it was very good. If you want more time at Sausalito, there is a ferry that takes you back to Fisherman's Wharf. On the way back, Brian stopped at a view point where you can see the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco from the north side of the bay. This tour was definitely one of the high points of our trip to San Francisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome mini-trip! Had a blast and learned a lot. Kudos to Brian for keeping everyone engaged and teaching us throughout the ride. Would definitely recommend this to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful way to cover a lot! Loved our tour guide! Perfect time allotment - redwoods in Muir woods are magical - our guide took us up to Muir point as well for gorgeous Pacific Ocean views - Sausalito is so 'boho' - we left the tour there and had a great leisurely lunch, shopped, and took the ferry back - wonderful day trip!
Don't miss this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The bus driver/tour guide, Troy, was very well spoken and informative. I am prone to car-sickness and should've taken something because it is a very winding road leading up the mountain to Muir Woods. (The driver took it slow, so not his fault.) Enjoyed walking along the water and in the shops in Sausalito. Had a great pizza for a quick lunch. The driver doing the hotel pick ups and taking us to the office/departure point in the Fisherman's Wharf area was careful and on time for us being the 2nd stop. From that point on, passengers were in the bathroom upon our arrival or otherwise not on time, so he got further and further behind schedule.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Despite atrocious weather and flooding we had a really good trip. Our driver Matty saved the day by getting us to all our destinations despite having to use narrow woodland roads and some tricky navigation. He was also a great source of local historical and geographical information, ( despite being a Texan! ) and we came away feeling we had really learned something about the places we had visited, as well as seeing some beautiful sights. I'd recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We booked the tour one day before we were I to go, meven with the short time frame, everything worked well. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the meeting point. We then had a great bus with the nicest most interesting and funfun driver/guide. We were then taken back to our hotel after a beautiful trip through Muir Woods!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing trip. Loved the tour, the guide was pleasant and full of great information. I only wish it could have been longer but what a great trip. I would have loved a little more time in the Woods and in Sausalito as both were equally beautiful and deserve more time. The entire experience was as perfect as I needed it to be as I was there celebrate my sweetie's 50th birthday and give him a Dream Come True Vacation and that is exactly what happened. Thank you for a job well done, and making dreams possible. I can HIGHLY recommend this tour, worth the time and for sure the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent tour...our guide Brian was informative and funny...we enjoyed the option of taking the ferry back from Saucalito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Great guide. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour director, Troy, was awesome. He was very knowledgable and entertaining. We really enjoyed the tour of Muir Woods and Sausolito. I highly recommend that you make this tour a part of your visit to San Francisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our favourite thing we did in San Fran! The Redwoods were so amazing, you step off the bus and the smell just hits you, so majestic. Our tour guide was very informative and funny. Learnt a lot about the city. We loved Sausalito, we spent the afternoon and take the ferry back. Amazing time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The redwoods are absolutely amazing! Magnificent. The tour was very nice and the driver did a great job of keeping everyone informed of interesting facts along the way. He was very upbeat and engaged.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

There are no words to describe this trip. Just do it! The trees and the forest are magnificent. The air is so clean that if you live in the city, you won't know what hit you! Be sure to take the easy hike to at least three of the four bridges on the trail in Muir Woods. It is a loop trail, so it doesn't matter which direction you start. The shops in Sausalito are varied; we did a lot of window shopping and took many pictures of the San Francisco skyline from the shore. This is an excellent way to see Muir Woods and Sausalito!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous. Great guide/driver. We left the tour early and spent the afternoon in Sausalito, catching the ferry back to San Francisco. Must do!!

Special Offer
$60.00 Save $10.00

From USD $ 50.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message