4.5 star rating: Recommended 244 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 244 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Booking this San Francisco tour online was easy and fast. The tour was wonderful and informative. Our tour guide was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

Fascinating time. About the right amount of time, maybe more in Sausalito. Exactly as described.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

I loved the tour guide, she told us things I never knew about the area and I have lived here all my life. She has a great bubbly personality and it was a fun experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Our guide was excellent at explaining the overview of the history of this park. The views were phenomenal! Very tall, beautiful trees! Once you exit the bus, the smell of nature just hits you right away. It was an excellent trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The first stop on the tour is on a mountain from which you can have your picture taken 'in front' of the Golden Gate Bridge. Moving on to Muir Woods, you pass through the beautiful hilly countryside while wondering how people can manage to build homes on the sides of mountains. The Redwoods are absolutely breathtaking. You are able to walk on trails at ground level or venture up into the hills while absorbing all of the natural surroundings. Take your time to snap tons of pictures in front of the giants, and even stop for a pose inside one of the Redwoods, but don't walk off the trails.

Sausalito is perfect for those who enjoy small cafes, boutiques and art galleries. The food is wonderful and you have a great view of the Bay while sitting outside for lunch or a cup of coffee. The Bay Cruise takes travelers on an audio tour while circling Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. From the boat, tour-goers can enjoy views of the city sky-line, the Palace of Fine Arts, the Presidio, etc. It can get chilly on the water so be sure to bring an extra layer. Once the Bay Cruise is over, take the time to walk around Fisherman's Wharf and do some shopping or stop for some soup or chili in a sourdough bread bowl at Boudin's. San Francisco is a great city with tons of sights, shopping and great restaurants. As an aside also make some time to visit wine country!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A really good tour, but the time for lunch in Sausalito was limited especially as the cafes were very busy.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

it was a good tour and we would recommend it to others. We would have liked a little more time to walk the park.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Muir Woods tour was great. The stop at Sausalito was too short. One hour only allowed enough time to eat lunch. I was disappointed that the bus didn't drop us off at the Bay Cruise location. We were told that we would have to walk down to Fisherman's Wharf pier 39. Also, we were told to go back to the office to get a ride back to the hotel but we had to wait two hours for the bus to drop us off. Very uncoordinated.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Wonder trip. Archie bus driver was great. Only did not get bay cruise tickets at the time of check-in. Had to go back later to get.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful day all around.
Troy did an excellent job driving and narrating the tour.
Our only complaint was the other members of the tour who kept us waiting 20 minutes at Muir Woods. Troy had told everyone NOT to hike to the end of the trail but that request fell
on deaf ears.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Trip is very good and very interesting. The only thing which was dissapointing was that the bay cruise already finished after 55 minutes, though it should have been 90 minutes

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was great, trees were amazing and beautiful! Sausalito is a quaint yet gorgeous little village. The bay cruise was a lovely way to relax and sit back and enjoy San Fran from the Water. Golden gate up and close was truly breathtaking!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

the only problem with this tour was the meeting place, we were told to stay on one corner and when the bus arrived everyone from the opposite corner got on to the bus first even though my friend and I were there 20 earlier than told to be. the tour itself was wonderful

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a jam-packed, exciting day this was! I just loved the peace and the beauty that surrounds... Muir Woods!!! If you get car sick though, you may want to sit up front! Our bus had no air that we could really feel and winding roads leading to the woods! We stopped at Muir Beach on the way back, and it is just gorgeous!! A nice little surprise to our tour! Sausalito was fabulous, I just wish we had longer than 45 mins. to explore!!! Also, I HIGHLY recommend the Bay Cruise… loved being right under the Golden Gate Bridge!!! THANK YOU!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip was great. If this is your first time, I recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pickup process was okay. We have been on tours like this, and we know how hard it is to get to the starting point such as Fisherman's Wharf. However, once at the wharf, the lines to get our respective tickets were long and slow. Could this be speeded up? Our tour bus driver Ken was okay. Some of the comments he made to my husband and I were a bit heavy on the side of abuse by either husband or wife. His information was good, but the comments should have been kept to himself.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour!! but not enough time in Sausalito..Only had time for a quick bit of food.did not have time to appreciate the town.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Driver/Guide very good

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Cool tour! The redwoods were breathtaking and it was very peaceful walking through the forest. Wish we had a little more time but it was beautiful. Saucilito wasn't as cute and nice as i thought it'd be but it was ok. Good for walking around, window shopping, and people watching. Bay cruise was relaxing

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good trip well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Incredible experience

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

tour was great. Could have used more time in Sausalito, but all in all it was a good way to see everything.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Archie the bus driver was great! Nice tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed the tour to Muir Woods. The weather was perfect for hiking. I wish we could have spent more time there and maybe skipped Sausalito. The bus driver was informative about history of San Francisco along the way and it was nice to have someone else drive and navigate the crazy traffic and figure out where to park. The cruise was fun as well although, it is so cold to stand on the deck of the boat, I found myself sitting inside the cabin and only sneaking out for a picture or two.

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message