• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 964 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 964 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robin B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour is excellent and was a memorable experience for us. We had 80 degrees of heat inland that day in September, but were perfectly comfortable on the air conditioned coach. The route to Sonoma and Napa takes you across the Golden Gate Bridge so plenty of chance to see San Francisco cityscape from the coach. At the first vineyard visited in Sonoma, we tasted two "flights" (tastings) a red and white wine served outside in the garden area by a small lake. This vineyard had put it's best wines for competition entry and had won many prizes. A delightful location and access was available to all areas of the ranch here, which was great. The second vineyard, Madonna, was where they made organic wines and is the second oldest family vineyard in the Sonoma area. Here we had a tour of the winery and saw the oak casks storage area where Maurice presented the history of the vineyard, how wine is made here and a beginners guide to tasting. He was superb and his experiences and verbal presentation made the visit here very memorable. Three flights tasted here and the quality of this wine was excellent. Buy your bottles here to drink on your holiday or take home. They cost a little more than supermarket table wines, but they are organic and unique to taste. They are some of the best wines available in the area, and they deliver cases in USA too. Then the tour takes you on to Napa Valley where we stopped for lunch in a great small town, then onto Sutter Hill Estate where we tasted two special reserve flights and then had the opportunity for three more flights from a selection of about 8 different wines! A well stocked gift shop gives you the opportunity to buy souvenirs and more wine, of course, some of which is not available in the high street supermarkets carrying the Sutter Hill brand. So 10 flights (tastings) included, 3 vineyards visited, time for lunch, wine and souvenirs. One of the highlights of our trip, if you love wine, take the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day-trip where you get to see three very different vineyards and learn a little about tasting wine and how wine is made.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was awesome. Our bus driver was very nice and explained a lot of the sights we saw on the tour. The winery's we visited were very awesome as well. Out tour guide at the Madonna winery was the best. She was very funny and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the best time EVER..Gordy was a GREAT tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. The 3 winery were all different but all good in there own way. My favourite was Sutter home. Yountville the place you stop for lunch is a cute and has some yummy places to eat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We enjoyed and appreciated our driver, Gordy, as well as learning a lot during our visits to the wineries of Napa and Sonoma. We had an excellent time and will treasure our memory of a wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great for the price. However, the tour guide was slightly annoying as he literally talked from the time the bus got going until we reached the first vineyard. While some of the information was helpful and gave context for the wine tour, most of it seemed like random rambling. The vineyards and the lunch stop were perfect. This is a great tour for first timers in San Francisco and I don't think you can find a better bang for your buck.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour guide! Beautiful scenery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely day in the Napa Valley and Sonoma. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and his commentary was extensive. The wineries we visited were lovely and the wine was good. We learned about making wine and the area and met some people along the way. This tour was well worth doing and a great day out from San Francisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Although we are not wine drinkers we wanted to see Napa Valley and Sonoma. It was a wonderful trip. The scenery was beautiful and the wineries were interesting. We learned a lot about grapes and wines and the families who run the businesses. I would recommend this trip. We even stopped at the Golden Gate Bridge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was great. Both funny and very knowledgeable. Great way to spend a free day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Driver gave us all kinds of information along our route. Wineries chosen were top notch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent. Tour guide "Gordie" very knowledgeable and friendly. Only improvement -- Could have had a little more time in Yountville for lunch, rushed for time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our wine tour was excellent, Gordy was our guide and he was informative and entertaining at the same time. We tasted several wines which were all excellent. Thanks for the great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour departed on time and returned on time. The coach was clean and confortable. The driver/guide was very knowledgable about growing, producing and enjoying wine. The vineyards were interesting and the vineyard reps were very pleasant. The wine tasting was fun and there was no pressure to purchase wine. Overall a very enjoyable day.

From USD $ 75.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOWIN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message