Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 67 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wow best bus tour ever. Takes you back to the sixties, which I loved as I wasn't even born then, so anyone who was I am sure will love it even more. The guys who run the tour are totally in to the spirit of it all, its a timewarp fantasy i definately recommend. Great stop at Golden Gate Park, great music and history lessons. I most definately recommend this tour, be prepared to change your name, and enjoy the peace and love.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

She was most enthusiastic and did a great job despite a loss of power at the later stage. She offered a refund which was not necessary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wow, it took me back to the 70's when I lived in SF singing along to the music. The tour guide was fantastic with her rose coloured glasses and vintage clothing, the tour was a "trip"
Golden Gate park even looked the same except the Hippie's have been replaced by the homeless people, but with some imagination you can pretend it's the same as it was back then. Highly recommend this one if you're over 50 years old. My 23 year old daughter struggled to understand what it was all about but she went along for the ride and particpated with the vibe of the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Peace,love and grooviness abound on the magic bus, whose window shades work like eyelids.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

All baby boomers need to take this walk/ride down memory lane; 1967 the summer of love. Absolutely enjoyed it to the max. Enjoyed the singing, the memories and the tour gal, Ms. A...she was awesome! I plan another trip with other friends in Sept 2013; will book this tour again. Hip hio hoorah for the bus driver too! Nice guy; great driver. Donna, Spfld, IL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an enjoyable trip back to the day. Lots of background info not commonly know on the city events of the time. Our 15 year old daughter loved it and we did too. The tour guides were a trip, very enjoyable, and and totally cool.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The people coordinating this tour put a lot of effort and thought, more than any other tour I have ever been on, into making this tour the very best possible for the visitors. From receiving a flower for our hair to the very professional souvenoir 3-D booklet, everything was well-planned, easy to understand and fun. My 17yr old son said this was the highlight of our 3+ days in SF. It is innovative, upbeat and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Magic Bus Tour is unique. Fantastic entertainment and a real insight into the politics and culture of the 60s. Enjoy using your imagination and join in the sing-a-longs. A shame it's not advertised more - people are missing out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Magic Bus was a hoot. The guide was terrific and fun. This is a multi-media tour that is very well done. You certainly have to "play along," but please do -- and enjoy a trip back in time to the time that the Beats were hip and the Summer of Love was magic. If you lived the era, it's a fun trip down memory lane -- if you're too young to remember, it's a fun history lesson.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

WELL I WAS SO SURPRISED, AND DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT, BUT WITHOUT ADOUBT A TOUR THAT TOOK YOU BACK IN TIME, AND NOT TO BE MISSED.THANK YOU VIATOR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My Grandson 16y/o and I LOVED the Magic Bus Tour. we came home and watched "The 60's " movie and loved revisiting the history of that incredible time. Thank you soooo much.
Fran Cooperrider and Kevin Dole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a wonderful tour. We both enjoyed it. I have told about six people how great it was. Your staff were a delight and when we get back to San francisco we will most likely take it again.
Only complaint, the seats are not very comfortable. Thank you for a great few hours,
Terry and Rose

Francine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a fun tour with a high energy guide. I recommend this tour, not only for the novel concept but also for what you learn. It is important that you are prepared to participate to maximise your enjoyment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Hey Man...The Magic Bus Tour of San Francisco was AWESOME!!!! - Artemis was a wonderful tour guide and the whole experience was well worth it!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Used to live in SF 20 years ago but never took a bus tour. This seemed different and unique- and it was in a good way. Took my 28 yo and 17 yo sons and we all had a great time. Saw familiar sights but from a different perspective. The videos, music and tour guide were entertaining. Definitely recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great way to really kick off our short stay in San Fran. If this tour is approached with the sense of fun in which it is offered, you will have a blast. Sing, laugh, listen to a bit of history. TAKE THIS TRIP!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everyone MUST TAKE THIS TOUR!! This tour is NOT TO BE MISSED. If you/your group ever listed to the Grateful Dead, read 'The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test' or listed to any music during the late 60's then you MUST TAKE THIS TOUR!!
This is the BEST TOUR I have ever, ever experienced. The narrated projections are fascinating and this tour is the most magnificent way to tour SF.
DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR!! It is amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour was good! I enjoyed the experience. It was a great around town tour and both the driver and guide were fantastic. Loved the technology used for the tour as well! Haven't experienced anything like it! I would recommend it to a friend and have! Totally good vibes the entire trip :)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

it was a fun tour! Brought back good memories.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very entertaining with some good history. GaGa our tour guide was the best. Very funny!!! It would be nice if we could have stopped in one of the areas to go through some of the shops etc. Just to have a bit of a break.
But still recommend the tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Really fun! Interesting look at the city with some groovy people!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time. It is not really a tour of the city - although you do see some of it. It is more of an experience. Would have loved more time at the GG Park, which was the only stop and it lasted 15 minutes. We laughed and enjoyed TreeFlower - but we were all from the 60's so that worked for us! PEACE

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was great, but I think if they stopped at Haight - Ashbury and let people check out some of the stores and the area say for 30 to 45 minutes it would be even better!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Gaya our tour guide was fantastic. So full of energy. I loved the tour. I wish they had gone a little slower or even stopped in the Haight Ashbury area as the history their was very good and it seemed like it went a little fast through there. This tour would've been five stars if there had been more people on board. Overall, we really loved it and would recommend it for anyone interested in the history of the 60s.

From USD $ 60.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5521MAGICBUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message