4 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:San Francisco, California
  • Duration:90 minutes (approx.)

San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

tour was great but need to let everyone know that there are lots of steep hills to climb and dark alleyways making footing unsafe in some areas. but tour info was good. didn't see ghosts.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Really enjoyed the tour, went down back alleys and saw some quite interesting things, would recommend this one.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Cynthia did an excellent job of taking a large, disparate group of tourists through Chinatown. The Ghost Stories and history of Chinatown were delivered very clearly with a smile. This is a tough feat in an unpredictable and uncontrollable environment. The magic show was a nice way to end the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was more of a history of Chinatown than a ghost tour. We learned more about the area and the back rooms and alleys. A good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This was informative, fun, and I would definitely recommend it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Just ok dont know why it was called a ghost tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

A little taste of a different side to Chinatown.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

INfo given was wonderful,alleys of Chinatown not very appealing. Also,was not aware that a magic show was included. He was good,but it would have been nice to know due to extra time

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011


3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Only rating it a 3 because it wasn't so much a ghost tour as it was more a historical late night chinatown tour. Still really liked the tour. We had a very knowledgeable tour guide and she made it very enoyable. We learned info we wouldn't have known otherwise about chinatown if we hadnt have taken the tour. Worth checking out if you have the time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

We had a lot of fun, and our guide clearly knew a lot about Chinatown and its history, however the tour was not what we were expecting. We figured there would be more ghost stories, and our guide seemed a little bit scatter-brained and not very organized with the tour. That said, we still had a fun time and we're glad we went.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A fun evening out,not much in the way of ghost storeys but the lady who runs the tour knows her local history and made it very interesting,you can tell how passionate she is about sharing her knowledge! unfortunately we decided to eat at the chines restaurant where the tour started from and it wasn't very nice! but worth doing the trip !

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not really what I was expecting slightly disappointing

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

It wasn't what I thought it would be. Mainly just a tour of Chinatown, not as much about ghost stuff as I thought there would be.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Let's just say if you are mildly cultured or at least have any remote knowledge of Chinatown if SF, you should NOT book this tour. No history, no spooky stories, no surprises, this tour was abysmal.

The tour guide obviously knows NOTHING about the history of Chinatown, Chinese immigrants or even Chinese in general. Most of the "ghost" stories were made up and the tour adds no value to your trip in SF. The worst part is, you have to walk with the group and listen to these BS for two hours. It was so boring and ridiculously stupid me and my partner had to drop out of the group 1 hour after the walking started.

I would NOT recommend this trip to anyone.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This is a zero star tour. It was incredibly boring, the guide seemed to be making it up as we walked. Such a waste of time, could not wait to leave.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012


1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2008

First of all this is not a ghost tour, it's a Chinatown tour. I've been to multiple ghost tours in San Francisco and this one is nothing like it. Our guide was horrible at telling a story. At best she would tell us the punch line before the build up. Often the accompanying guide would step in with some facts about the area or situation at hand to help. Save your money and go to the Ghost Hunt Tour or the Haight Ghost Tour. And if you want a Chinatown tour, buy a book and head over there.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: We're sorry the Chinatown Ghost Tour didn't live up to your expectations. Our San Francisco travel manager is constantly looking for new tours in San Francisco, so we'll be sure to see if there are other San Francisco ghost tours we can include in future. In the meantime, if you're interested in ghosts and the supernatural, check out the SF Vampire Walking Tour.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 23.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3423GHOST


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message