Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 50 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Brenda C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

I would recommend this night tour to anyone. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. This tour gives you a taste of the past and present mixed together. I would do this tour again if I had a chance. I would also encourage teens to take this tour.

Sandie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was lots of fun! Our Hostess was VERY sweet, knowledgable, friendly and a marvelous story teller. Walking through all the back alleys and hearing the history and the stories about specific buildings was fun. The stories of 'unusual happenings' were so interesting! Chinatown came to life for our group of four. We live in the Bay Area - and we will be back again!

Sally S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

30 of us met at the Four Seas Restaurant at 7 PM and checked in. We were then broken into two groups and assigned an escort, who walked us around Chinatown's streets and alleys for 90 minutes describing historical facts and lore about the area. It was very interesting and provided us with a lot of historical information that made the rest of the trip more fun as well. The walking was up and down - it was San Francisco - and anyone walking with that stress will be challenged.
Take your camera and don't be shy about asking questions.
Check online for tour coupons and promotions - you might find a good deal on Groupon!

Carmel W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great tour! Cynthia was a wonderful tour guide., Deffinatelty would reccomend this. Have a drink at the LIPO Lounge before you go and have a shot a Chinese Whiskey it is great!!

June S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We thouroughly enjoyed it. Though no ghosts appeared our guide gave us allot of history on Chinatown and was very entertaining.

bj

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

tour was great but need to let everyone know that there are lots of steep hills to climb and dark alleyways making footing unsafe in some areas. but tour info was good. didn't see ghosts.

debbie.hudson

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Really enjoyed the tour, went down back alleys and saw some quite interesting things, would recommend this one.

Nicholas A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Cynthia did an excellent job of taking a large, disparate group of tourists through Chinatown. The Ghost Stories and history of Chinatown were delivered very clearly with a smile. This is a tough feat in an unpredictable and uncontrollable environment. The magic show was a nice way to end the tour.

Carter W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was more of a history of Chinatown than a ghost tour. We learned more about the area and the back rooms and alleys. A good experience.

Carol I USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This was informative, fun, and I would definitely recommend it.

JoAnne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Just ok dont know why it was called a ghost tour

Benjamin C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

A little taste of a different side to Chinatown.

Kathy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

INfo given was wonderful,alleys of Chinatown not very appealing. Also,was not aware that a magic show was included. He was good,but it would have been nice to know due to extra time

Wendy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

www

Gillisha W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Only rating it a 3 because it wasn't so much a ghost tour as it was more a historical late night chinatown tour. Still really liked the tour. We had a very knowledgeable tour guide and she made it very enoyable. We learned info we wouldn't have known otherwise about chinatown if we hadnt have taken the tour. Worth checking out if you have the time.

Wyatt R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

We had a lot of fun, and our guide clearly knew a lot about Chinatown and its history, however the tour was not what we were expecting. We figured there would be more ghost stories, and our guide seemed a little bit scatter-brained and not very organized with the tour. That said, we still had a fun time and we're glad we went.

Dianne F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A fun evening out,not much in the way of ghost storeys but the lady who runs the tour knows her local history and made it very interesting,you can tell how passionate she is about sharing her knowledge! unfortunately we decided to eat at the chines restaurant where the tour started from and it wasn't very nice! but worth doing the trip !

Kurt S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Irene, our tour guide, was very knowledgable about Chinatown and its history. However, it really wasn't a ghost walking tour, it was more like Chinatown history tour with a couple of ghost stories thrown in, which would have been fine in itself but I was looking for some spooky fun and it didn't deliver that.

kazza24

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not really what I was expecting slightly disappointing

Beth K USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

It wasn't what I thought it would be. Mainly just a tour of Chinatown, not as much about ghost stuff as I thought there would be.

Abigail A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I feel badly saying this, but this tour was not worth the time or money. It wasn't really a tour at all. The tour guide was difficult to understand and told very disjointed rambling stories about personal experiences growing up in Chinatown. I do not recommend this tour. I'm sorry.

Ming C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Let's just say if you are mildly cultured or at least have any remote knowledge of Chinatown if SF, you should NOT book this tour. No history, no spooky stories, no surprises, this tour was abysmal.

The tour guide obviously knows NOTHING about the history of Chinatown, Chinese immigrants or even Chinese in general. Most of the "ghost" stories were made up and the tour adds no value to your trip in SF. The worst part is, you have to walk with the group and listen to these BS for two hours. It was so boring and ridiculously stupid me and my partner had to drop out of the group 1 hour after the walking started.

I would NOT recommend this trip to anyone.

Karen R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This is a zero star tour. It was incredibly boring, the guide seemed to be making it up as we walked. Such a waste of time, could not wait to leave.

Patricia H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

Lame!!!

Jennifer E USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2008

First of all this is not a ghost tour, it's a Chinatown tour. I've been to multiple ghost tours in San Francisco and this one is nothing like it. Our guide was horrible at telling a story. At best she would tell us the punch line before the build up. Often the accompanying guide would step in with some facts about the area or situation at hand to help. Save your money and go to the Ghost Hunt Tour or the Haight Ghost Tour. And if you want a Chinatown tour, buy a book and head over there.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: We're sorry the Chinatown Ghost Tour didn't live up to your expectations. Our San Francisco travel manager is constantly looking for new tours in San Francisco, so we'll be sure to see if there are other San Francisco ghost tours we can include in future. In the meantime, if you're interested in ghosts and the supernatural, check out the SF Vampire Walking Tour.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 29.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3423GHOST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message