Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 99 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Leeanne K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A great way to see all the sights of San Francisco. Very entertaining host. Cold but fine and sunny day and was a treat to be in an open top vehicle. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that as we had young children with us, I would have preferred more secure seat belting particularly given the hill climbs beyond the GG Bridge. Otherwise, a brilliant experience.

John E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I booked this as a memorable way to see and experience for the first time the Golden Gate Bridge for my almost four year old boy and two year old girl. Unfortunately we had a couple of things going against us. Within a few minutes of starting on the tour, my son's hat flew off. We probably should have asked the tour to stop but didn't. About a ten minute crying session ensued.

Secondly it was uncommonly hot and humid Sunday at the 1pm SF summer afternoon. Beyond that we got there right at 1pm and I felt like if we had arrived a minute or two later we would have been left behind. That being said I have to say for the cost it all seemed a bit rushed. It's a once in a lifetime experience, no doubt about that, but the cost for riding across the GGB and around the backside of the headlands and back, I'm not sure if I'd do it over again. I'd maybe consider doing the 3pm tour so that the guides wouldn't feel rushed to get back. In fact I had booked the 3pm tour via Viator only to find out they had overbooked that time slot and I was asked to switch to the 1pm slot.

Maybe I expected a little more or an actual drive through the downtown of Sausalito. I think I got bamboozled on that one.

One of the things that sold me was to have the experience for my kids, my son especially, of riding the firetruck across the bridge. In that sense I think it was mission accomplished. I did later also find out that the hop on off bus company I booked also went over the bridge Big Bus. Just something to consider if you or kids aren't that into firetrucks. I also had mentioned it was my wife's birthday and I was told the guide would do something to acknowledge that, but nope.

Bruno O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fun experience with a great entertainment from the team. Not so much so see however in San-Francisco but wonderful view of the bridge. To do.

Lisa H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing experience, would deff recommend it to all ages, just be prepared for the singing from the tour guide. Bumpy ride to be expected as it's an old vehicle but you see some amazing sites and you will never experience anything like this again! It's amazing

Tori

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Loved the tour and the concept of it! Not too into the childish singing though. One suggestion would be is to install speakers at the back of the vehicle. We were gutted we couldn't hear most of the tour narration. But overall we enjoyed the trip immensely!

Christie E Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Very nostalgic for us. Fun for all. Thankful for the unique experience. Original sing along cheesy and detracted from an all adult tour. Might want to consider tailoring tour to audience.

Peggy K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a fun tour! I purchased this tour as a birthday gift for my husband. We are always looking for new things to do when we visit San Francisco, and this tour filled the bill. Although the singing was quite cheesy, the rest of the tour was informative. And what fun to drive across the Golden Gate Bridge on back of the fire truck! !

MALCOLM Z

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

This was a fun trip; a little too much sing along for the older folks. A little more informative details about the different places that were mentioned would have been good.

TranceTraveller Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was fun. Chilly over the bridge, though - wear the jacket!

Deb

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

An amazing trip, totally loved every minute. The only comment would be the difficulty to contact the company when we realised we had not "confirmed" our booking, as we tried to do this on the day - however we turned up at the correct time and all was ok.

Vicki G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We had a fantastic time! The crew were really friendly and knew all there was to know about the san Francisco area. They were full of enthusiasm and made sure everyone was involved. A great trip for the whole family! Thanks for a great experience!!!

Julie F United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Good tour of San Francisco.

Virginia P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Being in a fire truck made it fun, and different from all the other tours. Our entire group enjoyed it. The team that ran the tour really made sure that you were equipped for weather. They were also very attentive to the children.

Nicola R. Z USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

The husband & wife team really go all out to entertain and inform while touring. The fire engine-open air tour gives a whole different perspective to seeing SF!

Trudy B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great fun.

Nanci H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

We couldn't get the song out of heads for days to come! A very nice time with great guides and beautiful scenery!

Sally C B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

This is a fabulous tour for kids more so than adults. I wish we had a street address for the place where you begin so it could more easily be found with GPS.

Kathleen K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

The only concern we had was with the fire truck itself. My husband was the last person in the row and was not confident about the strength of the seat belts. He had no where to hold on to. There should be a bar across the back or at least something else for the people to hold on to.

Samuel D USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

It was a unique tour.Unfornately the same cant be said of the tour guides or the lenght.The hostess was not very well versed when we went to the Presidio.We saw some conrete bunkers on a hill and I asked her about them.She didnt know.She should due to the fact how often they go there.They seemed bored and treated the trip like they didnt want to be there.The tour was too fast and couldnt spent more time taking some great photos prior to crossing the Golden Gate Bridge.Im hoping they get over this going through the motions thing and a longer trip.Otherwise the trip was good.

Wilma H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Fun trip

Patricia M USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was too crowded on truck.

nvstudios Greece

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The main reason why I chose to do this activity was to go over the Golden Gate bridge on a fire engine truck. Instead of doing this, we were driven over the Bay Bridge to Treasure Island and ended up in a winery, sampling wines... When I booked this activity (some months ago) the ride over Golden Gate was definitely advertised and this was only underlined by the photos published on the web page. The site still demonstrates same route over Golden Gate. The fire engine also had a sign reading "We go over the Golden Gate bridge" and a photo of this sign is available upon request. To make the long story short, the whole idea is built over the Golden Gate/Sausalito/Fort Point/Fort Baker route drive, but I never saw such a drive on the 1st of June (3 pm) session, without any explanation or apology provided from the tour organizer. If they had advertised that there is a possibility of not driving over the Golden Gate bridge but following alternative route to Treasure Island through Bay bridge, I would have given 5 stars to this activity...

Susan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Very amateurish, only for children. Woman was so full of herself. Her Guinness Book of Records singing was terrible. Would rather have taken a city tour and learnt more about San Francisco. Tour left late. Thank God for the seat belts.

Kim H United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Amazing we were recommended to do it glad we dis was brillisnt

Viewing 4 of 4

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3952FIRE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message