4.5 star rating: Recommended 342 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 342 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good deal! Easy to get all of the tickets!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Many great tour guides and personalities who make it fun and informative. You have some great employees!

Carlos R
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I'm glad I got the 2-day tour! I loved the experience from start to end. I was a bit late to claim my Alcatraz ticket due to Bay to Breakers event that made the streets impassable. Thank goodness the tour operator actually held my ticket till I arrived. I quickly hopped on the bus and started my tour. As per the guide, most tourists would stay in the bus on the first day, so as to roam all the stops. Day two is mostly when people hop off to stay longer in selected spots. That's what I did. Although some of the stops were practically not interesting, it's still good to hear about the history of those places. The Alacatraz tour was spectacular especially with the audio tour that tells you the story of what happened there hundreds of years ago. Wish the bus could've stopped longer in the Golden Gate Park, as it was huge. Nevertheless, I enjoyed every bit of it. Tip: Put on sunscreen, since you'll be sitting on a double decker bus and would be under the sun. Bring a jacket as well, since it's cold.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

trip was fabulous, but forgot how cold it can be, should have remembered. Next time wont insist on wearing shorts and t/shirt. Our guide on the open top bus was very friendly and full of information. Would recommend this tour
Cills

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

excellent way to get around, would definitely recommend to others

Stetta
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this tour! Would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The hop on hop off tour if really good value for money! Alcatraz is fantastic, and just jump on and off the bus when you like!
Tour guide willy was fantastic, if you manage to get him you are in for a treat the bloke is a comedian!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A must to see. A great trip on the boat and the tour around Alcatraz was so interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I wish I would have known I had to go to the tour company office to get a ticket for Alcatraz prior to be dropped off at Alcatraz and standing in line at the ticket office. It was a huge inconvenience and messed up my entire day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Booked this experience on line months before our trip. The hop-on-hop-off service was very good especially as we were staying at fishermans wharf. The Alcatraz tour was everything we hoped it would be plus more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was very well organised and once we had picked up our Alcatraz tickets we were taken to the port to catch the boat. It was a misty day but that seemed to add to the atmosphere of the island! The audio guide when you get there is really interesting and you have the flexibility of getting the boat back from Alcatraz when you like. It was a great day and a worthwhile tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I was so pleased with the tour. My son and I went to San Francisco over the Christmas Break. We really wanted to visit Alcatraz but couldn't find tickets. We got the chance through this tour. It was AWESOME!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

First time in helicopter surprised how gentle flight was and didnt appear to be going fast although it was 170mph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide on the bus was very informative as well as entertaining. The self guided tour at Alcatraz was a great way to tour at your own pace and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The drivers were great, buses on schedule and the Alcatraz tour very interesting. It was the best way to enjoy this city from end to end!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent driver wish the bus would go in both directions we only went on the first day because we did not want to go back at the same places or pay again it was expensive for just one day every thing we saw was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hop-on hop-off bus is a great way to see the main sights of San Francisco. The trip to Alcatraz was very interesting and informative. Well worth doing the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great start to stay, saw the finish of America Cup race as we departed. The island was clear and the ferry clean and comfortable. The self guided tour was very interesting and informative. It was well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Once again, we were unaware of the need to reconfirm this trip prior to arrival but luckily noticed before we left the UK. As we didn't have long in San Francisco we booked this excursion for our first two days and so visited Alcatraz on our first full day. It was a great experience and well organised with interesting speakers and a great audio tour. The hop on, hop off bus was also great, and much better than the one we booked in LA as we had an actual tour guide, rather than earphones, which really brought things to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Hop-on Hop-off was well worth the money. Great hosts on the buses and the trip over the Golden Gate bridge was an added bonus.
The Alcatraz trip was great but beware, we were told to be at the office for 09:30. Got there at 09:00 and were given tickets for 14:40. So we did not have a great deal of time to explore as last boat back is 18:30. Bit of a con i think.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guides on the hop on hop off bus tour were great! Very knowledgeable and it was clear that they enjoyed doing their job- always good to see. The trip to alcatraz was also fantastic! Great experience all round.

From USD $ 99.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message