4.5 star rating: Recommended 322 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 322 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The drivers were great, buses on schedule and the Alcatraz tour very interesting. It was the best way to enjoy this city from end to end!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent driver wish the bus would go in both directions we only went on the first day because we did not want to go back at the same places or pay again it was expensive for just one day every thing we saw was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hop-on hop-off bus is a great way to see the main sights of San Francisco. The trip to Alcatraz was very interesting and informative. Well worth doing the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great start to stay, saw the finish of America Cup race as we departed. The island was clear and the ferry clean and comfortable. The self guided tour was very interesting and informative. It was well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Once again, we were unaware of the need to reconfirm this trip prior to arrival but luckily noticed before we left the UK. As we didn't have long in San Francisco we booked this excursion for our first two days and so visited Alcatraz on our first full day. It was a great experience and well organised with interesting speakers and a great audio tour. The hop on, hop off bus was also great, and much better than the one we booked in LA as we had an actual tour guide, rather than earphones, which really brought things to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Hop-on Hop-off was well worth the money. Great hosts on the buses and the trip over the Golden Gate bridge was an added bonus.
The Alcatraz trip was great but beware, we were told to be at the office for 09:30. Got there at 09:00 and were given tickets for 14:40. So we did not have a great deal of time to explore as last boat back is 18:30. Bit of a con i think.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guides on the hop on hop off bus tour were great! Very knowledgeable and it was clear that they enjoyed doing their job- always good to see. The trip to alcatraz was also fantastic! Great experience all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had different tour guides as we went thru the city on the 2 day hop on/off. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgable. Espically about past and upcoming earthquakes and the city's goal of being self contained by 2020. WOW!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a very exciting tour for our family to take. We were very happy with the overall package. There is a great insight of the way off life for both the inmates and the correctional offices that served there.
We were lucky enough to meet an author there that had spent time on the rock as a child due to her father working there. I did not realise that the families of the correctional services officers lived on the island as well.
She gave me some insight of the morning of the escaped 3 men that were never found.
Excellent bookshop and souvenirs available.
We also finished of our day after Alcatraz with a simple 10 minute walk to fisherman's wharf for dinner.
Overall a excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour and an informative guide, who gave us lots of useful, as well as interesting, information. The visit to Alcatraz was superb. The audio commentary is excellent, allowing the visitor to control the speed of their tour - the sound effects help create a brilliant atmosphere. I would recommend this trip wholeheartedly; it is imperative to book in advance as the next available dates for Alcatraz were 17 days in advance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great way to see the city without having to drive yourself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour with very knowlegable guides, each wih their own approach and sense of humour. The Alcatraz trip was the icing on this particular cake but the ability to hop on and off at points of interest ran it a close second.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed our tour guide. He was funny and informative. It was a great way to see the city and decide where you want to concentrate your time on.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Alcatraz was great. Buying your ticket in advance is a must. We ran into people who waited to get tickets when they arrived in San Francisco and they were not able to get tickets. The Hop-on Hop-off tour was great. In July just make sure you are dressed warm because it is a little chilly riding that open bus on the interstate and thru town. But the driver does have blankets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

have been once before and the second time around still did not disappoint. loved it!

From USD $ 99.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message