Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 343 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 343 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guides on the hop on hop off bus tour were great! Very knowledgeable and it was clear that they enjoyed doing their job- always good to see. The trip to alcatraz was also fantastic! Great experience all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had different tour guides as we went thru the city on the 2 day hop on/off. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgable. Espically about past and upcoming earthquakes and the city's goal of being self contained by 2020. WOW!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a very exciting tour for our family to take. We were very happy with the overall package. There is a great insight of the way off life for both the inmates and the correctional offices that served there.
We were lucky enough to meet an author there that had spent time on the rock as a child due to her father working there. I did not realise that the families of the correctional services officers lived on the island as well.
She gave me some insight of the morning of the escaped 3 men that were never found.
Excellent bookshop and souvenirs available.
We also finished of our day after Alcatraz with a simple 10 minute walk to fisherman's wharf for dinner.
Overall a excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour and an informative guide, who gave us lots of useful, as well as interesting, information. The visit to Alcatraz was superb. The audio commentary is excellent, allowing the visitor to control the speed of their tour - the sound effects help create a brilliant atmosphere. I would recommend this trip wholeheartedly; it is imperative to book in advance as the next available dates for Alcatraz were 17 days in advance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great way to see the city without having to drive yourself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour with very knowlegable guides, each wih their own approach and sense of humour. The Alcatraz trip was the icing on this particular cake but the ability to hop on and off at points of interest ran it a close second.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed our tour guide. He was funny and informative. It was a great way to see the city and decide where you want to concentrate your time on.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Alcatraz was great. Buying your ticket in advance is a must. We ran into people who waited to get tickets when they arrived in San Francisco and they were not able to get tickets. The Hop-on Hop-off tour was great. In July just make sure you are dressed warm because it is a little chilly riding that open bus on the interstate and thru town. But the driver does have blankets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

have been once before and the second time around still did not disappoint. loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The bus tour guides were excellent and well informed as we took the tour from Fisherman's wharf across the bridge and through central SF. The highlights were crossing Golden Gate Bridge "take us to the bridge"", Golden Gate Park (including the museums and Japanese tea garden) and Union Square. The trip to Alcatraz was very interesting and we were fortunate to arrive just as one of the Alcatraz historical guides was starting a tour up the hill to the prison. He was excellent and gave a real insight into the reasons why Alcatraz was chosen for the prison and why it eventually was abandoned. The prison was a bit gloomy and cold with the audio guide filling in the details as to the nature of the prisioners kept there. Overall both parts of the trip were well worthwhile and I would definitely recommend this activity to all first time visitors to SF.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

You get to see so much of the area, well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Alcatraz was amazing and i would't have missed it for the world, the bus tour however wasn't the best one there was although it was nice to have a sit down for an hour or so but there are better tours out there

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really enjoyed Alcatraz, the commentary is very realistic and you feel like you are there when Alcatraz was a working prision. Worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Brilliant, Weather was fine and San Francisco was a great city to visit with it's wonderful buildings and character. The buses were very regular and the commentary was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. Only difficulty was hearing the tour guide on the Hop-on Hop-off bus.
Alcatraz was more than we expected.

John North
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

A great bus tour, albeit somewhat very windy on the top deck. The Alcatraz trip is worthwhile on its own and an interesting trip into the past history of the island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had an absolutely brilliant tour guide on our hop-on hop-off bus unfortunately we cannot remember his name he was just 21 but so informative and friendly and the Alcatraz tour was one of the highlights of our entire trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way to see lots in a short time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Hop on Hop off is the easiest way to travel around San Francisco and i really enjoy the Alcatraz tour. I would recommend tourist to take up this package.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour and good value.Best way to see all San Francisco in a couple of days and the buses come round every 20 mins so you can make your own plans and not waste time waiting for the next bus. The Alcatraz tour was so interesting and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic we went after lunch and the fog had cleared and glad we went!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Every part of the tour was exceptionally pleasant. The tour was always on time. Clean detailed information and worth the fee. It was fun informative and I would definitely use these services again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A must do if in San Francisco, we were there for 3 days and because of this ticket managed to see and do all that we wanted. Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The Alcatraz tour was just fantastic and an interesting piece of history for the San Francisco area. Highly recommended and very worthwhile. The Hop-on Hop-off bus was also very informative and very worthwhile. Gives you a chance to get an overall feel for the area and plan your sightseeing over a few days. The staff were friendly and know their stuff. This was thumbs up all the way!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really fantastic...! Alcatraz was amazing and the hop on and off bus was top notch...! The bus driver was funny and did a great job in introducing San Francisco.

From USD $ 99.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message