Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 352 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 352 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Every part of the tour was exceptionally pleasant. The tour was always on time. Clean detailed information and worth the fee. It was fun informative and I would definitely use these services again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A must do if in San Francisco, we were there for 3 days and because of this ticket managed to see and do all that we wanted. Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The Alcatraz tour was just fantastic and an interesting piece of history for the San Francisco area. Highly recommended and very worthwhile. The Hop-on Hop-off bus was also very informative and very worthwhile. Gives you a chance to get an overall feel for the area and plan your sightseeing over a few days. The staff were friendly and know their stuff. This was thumbs up all the way!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really fantastic...! Alcatraz was amazing and the hop on and off bus was top notch...! The bus driver was funny and did a great job in introducing San Francisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great tour, buses take you to the main attractions, funny drivers-guides... simply the must!
The only minor thing though... it would just improve the service if there was a possibility of having earphones - especially when sitting on the top of the bus the wind can impede hearing of what the guide says. But apart from that... :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

ALCATRAZ IS A MUST SEE. GREAT AUDIO TO ACCOMPANY THE WALK ROUND AND SOME GOOD PHOTO OPPORTUNITIES BOTH IN AND OUT OF JAIL.
TAKE A JACKET WITH YOU THOUGH EVEN ON A WARM DAY. WE HAD THE MIST ROLL IN AND THE TEMPERATURE DROPPED SEVERAL DEGREES.
DID THE BUS TOUR TWICE, OUR SECOND DRIVER WAS AN ABSOLUTE HOOT, NEVER STOPPED TALKING FOR THE FULL TWO HOURS. FULL OF FACTS AND VERY FUNNY.WORTH THE TRIP JUST TO LISTEN TO HIM.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Good value and very well organised. Having access to the hop on and off bus for the two days allowed us to back the next day to places of interest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We used this service for 3 days and we were so impressed with every single one of our tour guides. Those men were so knowledgeable about San Francisco and loved sharing all the info they could with us. We thoroughly enjoyed hopping on and off the bus whenever we wanted and staying at whatever attraction we wanted to see as long as we wanted. Due to the wonderful service that the buses offered us, we never needed to spend any money on cabs or other buses. We just kept going around and around all day long and completely enjoying ourselves. The tour guides were not only informed but each one of them had such incredibly fun personalities. I wish we had all of their names to give them special thanks. We spent a lot of time with Ron and some time with Willie (wait to you hear this dude's laugh and call him "Wolfman Jack Willie") and some time with Paul. There was another really great guide whose name has for some reason left my mind. Those guides really made our trip worthwhile. I cannot imagine trying to see the sights we saw without all the info that was shared with us. Alcatraz is not to be missed. Make sure you get the audio out there and make sure you book ahead of time. Thankfully we did, but we met people on our buses who didn't follow that advice and had to miss the Alcatraz trip because they hadn't booked in advance and the tours out there were sold out! Save your cab fares and use the blue buses. What a great group of guys who are in-the-know and just all around super people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Alcatraz was very interesting.
The tour guide on the hop on hop off bus was very knowledgeable.

DOUG C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Absolutely no problems with booking, retrieving tickets or service provided. Had a fabulous few days using the hop on hop off bus and Alcatraz was incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

You need to book alcatraz early in order to get on the island as it sells out. The voice tour is pretty good too. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

really good deal for transport around the area and it also guarantees you an alcatraz ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent best way to see SanFransico,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great Value trip. Alcatraz is very atmospheric and a fantastic experience. The hop on hop off tour was excellent with very informative guides who were all great characters. Bus does stop at all the landmark sites and all run on regular basis. The ticket had unlimited use within the 48 hours which was great value. Due to the number of traffic lights at every junction there were many photo opportunities of the sites of the City. Highly recommended tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

alcatraz is amazing. well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

absolutely wonderful. very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

it was go

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We had a wonderful time. All our booked tickets were waiting for us, no hassle at all. Mr. Richmond at the main office was great and made us feel welcomed. The tour guides were all fantastic. If we ever go back to San Francisco we will use them again and will not hesitate to recommed them to our friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

I had wanted to visit Alcatraz for decades and this trip delivered all that I hoped it would - All elements of the trip fell into place like clockwork and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to The Rock. The HO HO Bus was excellent - all drivers had there own style of dlivering commentary and all were great in there own ways - we have done HO HO Buses in a number of cities and have never been disappointed with the service given - this was easily worth the money I paid and will definitely use these type of Buses again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

this is one of the top tours our clients choose when offered a day in SF

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

TOUR OF ALCATRAZ WAS INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE. ALL TOUR BUS DRIVERS WERE VERY UPBEAT, COURTEOUS AND A PLEASURE TO HAVE MET. GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A Must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Hop on hop off tour was just what we needed with short time in San Francisco, we got to see all the major areas without having to worry about public transport. The Alcatraz option was great as the trips were all sold out so it was well worth having this booked in advance, cost was very reasonable too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Best decision a ever made.We found out things about San Francisco we didin't know and saw places we didin't know existed. And very friendly service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Would not have missed this trip to Alcatraz. It was very informative and very well organised.
The hop on hop off bus experience was not quite so well organised. Slight lack of information regarding times etc. We did have one very well informed and helpful guide. The star rating is mainly for the Alcatraz trip. I would rate the hop on hop off experience with a three star rating.

From USD $ 99.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message