Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 362 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Biocare TA USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

this is one of the top tours our clients choose when offered a day in SF

LAWRENCE E. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

TOUR OF ALCATRAZ WAS INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE. ALL TOUR BUS DRIVERS WERE VERY UPBEAT, COURTEOUS AND A PLEASURE TO HAVE MET. GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY.

Thomas Martin Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A Must!

Tony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Hop on hop off tour was just what we needed with short time in San Francisco, we got to see all the major areas without having to worry about public transport. The Alcatraz option was great as the trips were all sold out so it was well worth having this booked in advance, cost was very reasonable too.

amelia c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Best decision a ever made.We found out things about San Francisco we didin't know and saw places we didin't know existed. And very friendly service.

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Would not have missed this trip to Alcatraz. It was very informative and very well organised.
The hop on hop off bus experience was not quite so well organised. Slight lack of information regarding times etc. We did have one very well informed and helpful guide. The star rating is mainly for the Alcatraz trip. I would rate the hop on hop off experience with a three star rating.

Cadsta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Amazing, tour guides were great and buses were on time.

litwinowfam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

WoW!

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

If you take this tour, make sure you ask for "Willie". He is one of the best tour guides I have seen, with his witty color commentary! Makes the ride fun!

San Francisco is a great city and this tour brings out the best of the city, and what it offers. Alcatraz was fantastic! Great views of the island, the city, and an audio tour of the prison. Would take tour again!

catherine m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This is definitely the tour to book if you want to see San Francisco in a short space of time. The hop on and off was great and the guide we had the first day was fantastic (Willie) and gave us loads of detailed info on the city, it's history, best shops restaurants etc. .. The trip to Alcatraz w amazing but try to get a morning tour if possible as you will want and need to spend at least three hours , we had the afternoon trip and the last boat from the island was at half four so we felt rushed but still a brilliant thing to experience. Would use Viator again for booking trips when on holidays.

Jeff T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Alcatraz is a must see! The audio tour is incredible. This probably one of my all time favorite tours.

Lilian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

trip was excellent from start to finnish hop on hop off bus was great information about the city.
alcatraz was amazing would recomend this trip

rossco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Brilliant combo and the commentary on the buses is AMAZING! Especially Willy haha glad I got heaps of his tour on video :) Fully recommend this tour

deborah l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

great service

Love Traveling! USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Stress free! We bought these tickets ahead of time and had a wonderful time at San Fran. You take the Alcatraz tour on your first day after visiting the Tour bus main office where they hand you your tickets and give you the time of your tour. We got to see all we wanted.

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Fantastic. Would definitely do it again and book through yourselves. Glad I booked it before I went as really busy.

sasha011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Prebooked this tour before we went and glad we did as it was sold out when we arrived so tip is to plan ahead! We spent approx 3 1/2 hours on the island including boating time.

The boat over to the island was a smooth ride and very well organised. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would certainly recommend.

I would suggest if you want to watch the video that is shown as beginning of tour to wait until later as everyone on the boat seemed to go in there first thing and you could not see much or hear much of it!

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

FANTASTIC - would do again and tell people to book with you

Bernie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Well organised tour. Had a fantastic time. Exceeded our expectations.

JOHN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was a very good trip. We were very pleased to have booked in advance or we would not have got a ticket.

SUSAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

excellent, cannot rate highley enough
thank you

Kevin M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The HOHO bus was very good. The drivers/guides were nice (especially mike) and they were very frequent. The stops were convenient. Alcatraz was well worth doing. The trip over only lasts 15 minutes. As well as the jail there is wildlife and walking trails.

the only issue was that we arrived the day before the ticket started and we walked down from Nob Hill to collect the tickets at 6.30pm. We were told that we would have to come back the next morning to the office and pick up the HOHO and alcatraz tickets, but we had to be there before 10am as we could be going to alcatraz at any time of the day. This doesn't really help you to plan your trip very well. Also, 10 am is early for me if I'm on holiday!! The queue was out the door when we arrived at about 9.40. ....

LORNA B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

well organised. must take the audio tour. creepy in some areas but really worthwhile going

PAUL H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

excellant hop on gives you freedom with excellant guides and alcatraz is a must see

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

An excellent tour and great value for money! The two day pass meant getting around San Fran during our stay was very easy. The audio tour at Alcatraz was worth every bit of praise we'd read previously and worth the tour price alone! For the bus tour, I'd definitely recommend exploring the Japanese Tea Garden and walking the Golden Gate Bridge.

Viewing 5 of 15

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 100.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message