Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 343 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 343 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Alcatraz is a must see! The audio tour is incredible. This probably one of my all time favorite tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

trip was excellent from start to finnish hop on hop off bus was great information about the city.
alcatraz was amazing would recomend this trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Brilliant combo and the commentary on the buses is AMAZING! Especially Willy haha glad I got heaps of his tour on video :) Fully recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

great service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Stress free! We bought these tickets ahead of time and had a wonderful time at San Fran. You take the Alcatraz tour on your first day after visiting the Tour bus main office where they hand you your tickets and give you the time of your tour. We got to see all we wanted.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Fantastic. Would definitely do it again and book through yourselves. Glad I booked it before I went as really busy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Prebooked this tour before we went and glad we did as it was sold out when we arrived so tip is to plan ahead! We spent approx 3 1/2 hours on the island including boating time.

The boat over to the island was a smooth ride and very well organised. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would certainly recommend.

I would suggest if you want to watch the video that is shown as beginning of tour to wait until later as everyone on the boat seemed to go in there first thing and you could not see much or hear much of it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

FANTASTIC - would do again and tell people to book with you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Well organised tour. Had a fantastic time. Exceeded our expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was a very good trip. We were very pleased to have booked in advance or we would not have got a ticket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

excellent, cannot rate highley enough
thank you

Kevin M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The HOHO bus was very good. The drivers/guides were nice (especially mike) and they were very frequent. The stops were convenient. Alcatraz was well worth doing. The trip over only lasts 15 minutes. As well as the jail there is wildlife and walking trails.

the only issue was that we arrived the day before the ticket started and we walked down from Nob Hill to collect the tickets at 6.30pm. We were told that we would have to come back the next morning to the office and pick up the HOHO and alcatraz tickets, but we had to be there before 10am as we could be going to alcatraz at any time of the day. This doesn't really help you to plan your trip very well. Also, 10 am is early for me if I'm on holiday!! The queue was out the door when we arrived at about 9.40. ....

LORNA B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

well organised. must take the audio tour. creepy in some areas but really worthwhile going

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

excellant hop on gives you freedom with excellant guides and alcatraz is a must see

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

An excellent tour and great value for money! The two day pass meant getting around San Fran during our stay was very easy. The audio tour at Alcatraz was worth every bit of praise we'd read previously and worth the tour price alone! For the bus tour, I'd definitely recommend exploring the Japanese Tea Garden and walking the Golden Gate Bridge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

excellent service to visitors by way of knowledgeable and personable guides; perfect photo ops atop the bus; Alcatraz tour outstanding way to move people through and excellent programed commentary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I was with my daughter in San Francisco for 3 days. The hop on Hop off bus was excellent I learned more about San Francisco than I ever thought possible. The drivers were very informative and with a sense of humour. The Alcatraz trip was very well organized. All in all I cannot recommend this tour enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

very enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Ron was my driver when I took the full loop on the Hop-on Hop-off Tour. He was really entertaining to listen to, and he had a lot of great information on the various sites around the city. The bus is really convenient, and the stops are well chosen. When I went, it was raining, so this was a great way to see the sites of the city, and try to stay dry. I was also really happy that Ron mentioned the Chinese New Year parade that was happening while I was in town, otherwise I never would have heard about it. But because of his wonderful information, I got to go see the 2 hour parade, which was really one of the highlights of my trip! For the other half of this combo package - I had heard a lot about Alcatraz, and was really anticipating seeing The Rock, but even with all that anticipation, Alcatraz exceeded my expectations. The Audio Tour on the island is really well done, from the people they chose to narrate the tour, to the sound effects (in stereo) and what they chose to highlight while on the tour. I actually think it was better than being on a tour with a guide, because I could take the Audio Tour at my pace, and it kept this very reverent silence inside The Rock that sort of added to the ambiance. Book Alcatraz Early! A lot of people I met in San Francisco told me that they’d never been, or that they tried to get tickets and the tickets were already sold out! You’ll be kicking yourself if you don’t get to go to Alcatraz!

Kenneth B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

A great day was had by all. Thank you and well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

amazing a must do if u go here audio tour of alcatraz was the best ever and hop on hop off ticket well worth it tour guides were very informative and san francisco people exceptionally nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Very enjoyable Alcatraz trip was great plus hop on hop off driver "Ron" was very helpful in sorting out a mix up with tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Good way to get around San Francisco, plenty to see and Alcatraz is fantastic!!!

Janet D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

An excellent way of seeing so much of San Francisco.

From USD $ 99.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660HOHOTRAZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message