Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

fairchild119

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

I wish I had more time to spend at the California academy of sciences. The tour was great. Our tour guide was really friendly and knowledgeable.

Glyn Y

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good tour, nice to see the back operations of the Academy aquarium, and the lanyard allows for fasttrack into some of the exhibition areas and a discount at the café.

Anthony C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Not much to comment here as we just collected the tickets and had a great time .

Thi Ngoc Thuy L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It was amazing tour which we learnt a lot of interesting things

peter j

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

the behind scenes tour was a little too technical.but the overall was excellent

Barbara N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Very interesting

Frank N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Staff at the entrance to the Academy did not know
how to process the Viator voucher I had. Eventually a supervisor was found who knew the process. Not a big deal since we were there well before our tour time. Wife and I enjoyed the tour.

Ivy Chan

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Skipping the lines really help to save time for us to visit the museum thoroughly. It is a great museum. The behind the scene tour was informative with a great tour guide. However, I expected more to see behind the aquarium, e.g. more real life sea animals to see but not only seeing jelly fishes, real life demonstration on how to prepare food for the animals, etc.

Alan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Academy behind the scenes was a disappointment. It was very brief and limited in what you were shown. The Academy though was 5 stars and would recommend any person who visited San Francisco to make this the number one attraction they go to.

LINDA H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

QUITE DISAPPOINTED IN THE "BEHIND THE SCENES PLATINUM TOUR". TOOK WAY TOO LONG, AND JUST A LOT OF TALK I WAS NOT MUCH INTERESTED IN. DID LIKE THE GEM EXHIBIT, AND THE REAL SCIENTISTS WORKING ON THEIR STUFF. THERE WERE NO LINES, SO THE "SKIP TO THE FRONT" WAS A MUTE ISSUE. WHEN WE FINALLY FINISHED THE TOUR WE ONLY HAD A LITTLE OVER 2 HOURS TO DO THE ENTIRE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES BUILDING.

LOVED THE FROGS!!!! AND RAIN FOREST.

IF I WERE TO GO BACK, I WOULD JUST GO TO THE ACADEMY, AND SKIP THE TOUR.

Sandyjean W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Our guide was supurb, but I think I would have liked some more "personal" details. We learned a lot about the filtering system, etc, but would have liked to know more about the people and many other little, behind the scenes, things.

joan B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Not worth the extra cost unless you like looking at pipes and pictures of what the old pipes looked like, or pictures of what the old museum looked like. Disappointing.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 59.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5072BTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message