• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 25 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 25 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

One of the best experiences ever. Worth every penny and I will do the same tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Loved the Platinum Tour - especially skipping all the entrance lines. Jumping the line outside was great, but it was the best to not wait for access to anything inside. The rainforest, planetarium and living roof were super cool. Getting to see all the behind the scenes action - where they make the food, clean the water and the scientists working made the whole California Academy of Sciences experience much richer. And I loved getting access to the vault. Also our guide was awesome, he seemed to know everything. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Not much to comment here as we just collected the tickets and had a great time .

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It was amazing tour which we learnt a lot of interesting things

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

the behind scenes tour was a little too technical.but the overall was excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Very interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Staff at the entrance to the Academy did not know
how to process the Viator voucher I had. Eventually a supervisor was found who knew the process. Not a big deal since we were there well before our tour time. Wife and I enjoyed the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

QUITE DISAPPOINTED IN THE "BEHIND THE SCENES PLATINUM TOUR". TOOK WAY TOO LONG, AND JUST A LOT OF TALK I WAS NOT MUCH INTERESTED IN. DID LIKE THE GEM EXHIBIT, AND THE REAL SCIENTISTS WORKING ON THEIR STUFF. THERE WERE NO LINES, SO THE "SKIP TO THE FRONT" WAS A MUTE ISSUE. WHEN WE FINALLY FINISHED THE TOUR WE ONLY HAD A LITTLE OVER 2 HOURS TO DO THE ENTIRE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES BUILDING.

LOVED THE FROGS!!!! AND RAIN FOREST.

IF I WERE TO GO BACK, I WOULD JUST GO TO THE ACADEMY, AND SKIP THE TOUR.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Our guide was supurb, but I think I would have liked some more "personal" details. We learned a lot about the filtering system, etc, but would have liked to know more about the people and many other little, behind the scenes, things.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Not worth the extra cost unless you like looking at pipes and pictures of what the old pipes looked like, or pictures of what the old museum looked like. Disappointing.

Special Offer

From USD $ 54.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5072BTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message