Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 419 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anastasia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Academy of Science was fantastic! So much cool stuff to see. From rainforest to reefs to the planetarium which is a must see. Would be fantastic for children. Definately reserve at least half a day.

Cora W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

went with my three grandsons and had a great time even with the overwhelming crowd......it was stupendous

Denise V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great interactive experience for the family

Devorah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was alL air was suppose to be, a wonderful place to visit and the savings through Viator was excellent!

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is an awesome place. We went on Thursday 8/1/13, and although it was busy, not packed like a weekend. Be sure to visit the simulated earthquakes of 1906 and 1989. Interesting for locals, as well of-towners. Be sure to allow enough time, so much to see. Very well organized, and staff is pleasant and helpful. Parking was kinda weird though, you have to pay your ticket before you get into your car, not sure if the machine was not working right, but we got stuck at the exit.

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great place to go for all ages!

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Academy (Myself, wife, son and 2 teen-aged grand-sons) Especially the planetarium and rain forest.

jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed the new academy of science. it was incredible!! what a great experience its was for my family. The only thing I would change is the outside food stand. Hot dogs suck!

Thank you for asking,
Jonathan

JouJou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome!

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed seeing all of the changes made to the academy. The ticket agents were helpful and made it very easy for us to get in. The only problem we encountered was a summer camp program was there on the day we arrived and they had bus loads of kids who were very unruly and running around so we couldn't spend the amount of time we would have liked to viewe the exhibits. I think if we were to go again, we would not choose a summer trip. The Rain Forest exhibit is amazing. Thank you for the opportunity.

Javiera M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The museum is totally one of the museums i would recomend, specially If you like interactive and educative things. It has a little of everthing, the aquarium is wonderful, a huge variety, the rainforest is amazing and the planetarium awesome! I totally recomend This museum!

jose m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome

Marilyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

There was a very long line to get in which we were able to skip, which was great being handicapped. Also, this allowed us to get the Planetarium tickets early and see many other exhibits ahead of a larger crowd. Recommend this Viator program to all who travel to busy places. The Museum was remodeled not too long ago and is an excellent place to visit for all ages. All day- flat rate parking is now available under the building which was also much easier then years ago. Must see planetarium and rain forest exhibits.

Courtney V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great museum with so much to see and do. Fun for all ages!

Kailash M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

California Academy of Sciences is an amazing place to visit during San Francisco Visit.. It just beats all the Science Museum across the country. I doubt one day is sufficient to see everything there...

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The CAS is truly a wonderful experience. The displays are incredible and the the rain forest dome is not to be missed. Notice I did not ONCE use the word AM - -ING, to describe it... I refuse to use the most overused and inappropriately used word in the english language! Why is EVERYTHING "am - -ing"?
Too bad the CAS is overpriced for parking and food, but this is not surprising in a big city, just frustrating.
At least you get some value for your money, this is a great day of edu-tainment! And by the way - any of you reading that are under 30 years old -- When someone says "thank you", the correct response is "you're welcome", NOT "No Problem". I usually don't think it's a problem to begin with, whatever it might be that I'm thanking you for! So, DO go to visit the CAS! You will enjoy it, I'm certain.
It's AMAZING!
No Problem!

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Went very smoothly.

Brian

Melissa H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I had such a splendid time at the Academy. They have a great range of exhibits so there's something for everyone. My favorite was the digital time machine that displays how the continents drifted over millions of years. I spent a good amount of time in the Rainforest watching butterflies landing nearby me and listening to the birds. The new Built for Exhibit was on display and seeing one of the actual racing catamarans suspended from the ceiling was super-cool. It really got me excited for the upcoming America's Cup!

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We spent 5 hours in this amazing place. The aquarium was outstanding. We watched the diver within one of the large fish tanks and listened to his audio interaction with a guide from within the tank. Excellent to watch. The earthquake display is very good and the presentation given in the large dome was exceptional. Remember to try and sit at the back seats for a greater effect. Well worth the trek to get there as not central to other places in SFO.

Wendy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Was great to have things taken care of and be able to walk right in.

Glorimar O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great! Had an easy and fast time exchanging my brochure for my ticket. Thanks.

Corinne N S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our grandchildren, ages 6, 10 and 12 enjoyed the feeding of the penguins. They also were fascinated by the rain forest. The 6 year old especially liked the sea creatures and being able to touch them. Not having to stand in the long line was a plus!

Ilene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

First, if you can, get your tickets in advance. The day we got there the line to buy tickets was at least 10 minutes long, probably more. As for the Academy of Sciences, we were there for five hours and didn't finish. Don't miss the Planetarium show (sign up when you enter because it books fast), go on top of the roof, enter the biodome and don't forget to go downstairs to the Aquarium. I must say, it was quite a fantastic day of learning and beauty. Don't miss the gift store. Many cool things to be had there.

Febe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Skip the line is the most convenient way to get access to the academy!!!

Andrea S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great!

Viewing 4 of 17

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 34.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5072CAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message