4.5 star rating: Recommended 702 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yosemite National Park and Giant Sequoias Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 702 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Jim, our guide was excellent. We were entertained during the long drive with the history of Yosemite and other anecdotes of interest. We stopped at all scenic spots to take our photographs. A light snowfall added to the beauty of the terrain. As it was a day trip from San Francisco, considering the long drive we were fortunate to have 2 1/2 hours to ourselves at Yosemite. The views were awesome. The return journey also provided us with more photo opportunities, courtesy Jim who also obliged us by giving us the chance of photographing San Fransico and the Bay bridge at night. Overall a thoroughly satisfying trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Went to Giant Sequoa's instead because of the shutdown. Great alternative and the tour guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Yosemite tour was fantastic, beautiful scenery and our tour guide and bus driver Ben kept us updated and entertained throughout the trip! Will definitely do a few days next time and do some proper hiking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We hadn't realised reconfirmation was necessary until just before we left the UK so luckily managed to arrange our hotel pick up in time for the trip. Reconfirmation requirement should be made clearer as this appears to be new and was rather unexpected. Overall our trip to Yosemite was fantastic and our guide Roman really made our day memorable and fun. It was sad to see the damage caused by the recent fires and also we were unable to visit the Sequoias due to closures in areas still ablaze, but we were still glad that we made the journey. One final thing to suggest - perhaps Roman could add California 37 by Train to his California compilation playlist as it's one of our favourites and he seems to have missed it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I loved Yosemite!!! Only regret: I decided to do one day trip. Next time I'm back, I'm going to stay there for at least 3 days!
I found our tour guide, Andy, very helpful and knowledgeable. Nice guy with a "soul".
And he didn't ask for tips (as described by other tourist in reviews with various companies). Something I really appreciate as I don't like to be told I need to tip a guy just because I'm in US. Saying that I gave him a tip as I truly believed he deserved it. It was a long day and he stayed positive until the very end.
I went with the same company for Wine Country tour with a different tour guide and right at the start of the journey, he reminded us about tips and the fact that they don't make enough money. As a matter of fact, he would remind us about it on each possible opportunity. I'm not going to mention his name but in my charts, this works the opposite way.
Overall, I would definitely recommend Extranomical Tours company, especially if you go with Andy.
He travelled the world himself so it's good to be able to talk somebody about their travel experience.
Iwona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good trip.Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My brother Jason is wheelchair bond. Having the ability to help him see Yosemite was one of the highlights of our trip. The bus was small and intimate. Was very plush. I was also very impressed with our tour guide, Joe. He was knowlegable, presented wonderful information and anecdotes. He was also very attentive to my brother's needs and was concerned for his safety while on the bus. It was a wonderful day!!!!

My only concern is this: When Joe talked about the Native American people he mentioned that they came from elsewhere- the landbridge across the Bering Straights. As a Cherokee woman, I would ask that when mentioning Native Americans, our traditions tell us that we have always been here. We didn't come from someplace else. It's a small point but one that I think is worth mentioning.

Other than that, bravo Joe and bravo Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip. Ben, our driver was entertaining, easy to understand and knew a lot about what we were driving through. Great guy. The bus was comfortable, and the drive there and back long (as expected), but comfortable. Well worth the trip. Yosemite is a beautiful place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The trip was great, aided of course by the terrific weather. The pace of the trip was reasonable. but it is a long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our trip to Yosemite was even better than we had anticipated. Ben, our tour guide, was fantastic. Very knowledgable about the area and added a lot of humour along the way. It was a very long day and he managed to keep us all entertained. We did a Grand Canyon tour after this one and I found this tour to be the better of the two. Such a majestic and magnificent area. I would HIGHLY recommend going with this company - well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great Tour!
Saw everything we needed to (not everything we wanted to, but it was just a day tour wasn't it!) and had a blast! Well run tour with a great tour guide. Fun time!
(Except for the couple with the wife who gets car sick... why would you go on a bus tour with 5 hours of driving if ou get car sick... hmmmmm....??)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fantastic day trip. Fire was raging 15 miles away although we were safe and able to see the visitors centre. Well worth a visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great trip. Guide was fantastic.
Go in Spring when the waterfalls are flowing we missed them in August.
Gorgeous peace and tranquility in the park.
The Sequoias were stunning but not many of them there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour was excellent, the driver was very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Do this trip, just taking this tour was spectacular, the views alone a worth it. Roman our tour guide was great, getting to see the Giant Sequoias was a bit of a hike. If you want to see the waterfalls don't go in July or August as you won't see them but all the same well worth the trip.
We were fortunate to go before the fire hit.

From USD $ 157.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402YNP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message