4.5 star rating: Recommended 95 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent trip overall. Tour guide, Grabine aka Chuchu was very informative. From pick up to drop off, we had a good time. The servings in the prepared lunch plates was a bit small. Could improve on the portions a bit. The dinner was outstanding!!! The buffet was too good!
Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wonderful places, delicious meals!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very nice tour, would recommend to anyone. The thermal spring resort was beautiful. Beautiful view of volcano. Beware of slide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Breath taking views ...Several georgeous hot springs...this place is beautiful and the views from the volcano are awe inspiring..If you go toCosta rica you must visit Arenal!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

well worth the $, recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was amazing! We highly recommend it! We enjoyed the hot springs so much! Just a note: The $25 extra charge was worth it! Tabacon was the best!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

It was a great trip! The tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable. The hot springs were fun but the visit to the Arenal Volcano outlook was the highlight. We got there just before sunset and took some amazing pictures. The food was very good as well. It is a long trip but worth it. Just don't expect the volcano to spew lava and throw a show. It is on a "calm" period and it is just smoking at the top but it is still spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This trip was great! The food was fantastic and we really enjoyed the hot springs and watching the volcano erupt. Overall, this trip was stellar!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very nice trip ..our guide Gustavo was very knowledgable and gave us very interesting bits of the history of Costa Rica.The volcano and springs were awe inspiring to say the least.Definitely and experience you have to see with your own eyes to appreciate..Bring plenty of film or a digital camera and video as you will be snapping memorable photos all day long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Highly Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was organized very well, with nice people and a lot of information about Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

My family was very pleased. Great driver and tour guide. Would do again.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Unique experience, I will go back and take family members so they can experience it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Nice tour, loved the view and really enjoyed the Baldi hot pools, very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were able to see the whole volcano, and the hot springs were great. The food was excellent too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Too bad it was cloudy and unable to see the top of the volcano. But the warm springs were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Highly recommend the volcano and hot springs tour. Easy trip from San Jose.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Pleasant, knowledgeable guide. Excellent food and indescribable beauty.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. My only complaint is that we were not able to spend more time in the hot springs.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide. Great trip, but it was a very long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

this was a lovely tour. The tourguides were friendly and I especially enjoyed the hotsprings waterpark! Never did I think my childhood would be rekindled like that! make sure that the day isnt cloudy when u are goin to visit the Volcano...or else the volcano may not be fully visible. :)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

COULD ONLY SEE ABOUT 1/3 OF ARENAL AS IT WAS EXTREMELY CLOUDY AND MISTING RAIN. THE 2 MEALS WERE VERY GOOD WITH LUNCH BEING ALA CARTE AND DINNER AT ALBI HOT SPRINGS RESORT WAS A 5 STAR. YOU WON'T REGRET GOING TO THIS.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour the hot springs was out of this world. The tour guide was great but he was not to good in explaining English one thing to take into consideration although it's a Spanish speaking country not all tourist is Spanish speaking

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Amazing nature. We enjoyed Baldi Hot Springs. Only stop in Sarchi could skip.

Special Offer

From USD $ 127.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message