• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was organized very well, with nice people and a lot of information about Costa Rica

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

My family was very pleased. Great driver and tour guide. Would do again.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Unique experience, I will go back and take family members so they can experience it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Nice tour, loved the view and really enjoyed the Baldi hot pools, very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were able to see the whole volcano, and the hot springs were great. The food was excellent too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Too bad it was cloudy and unable to see the top of the volcano. But the warm springs were great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Highly recommend the volcano and hot springs tour. Easy trip from San Jose.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Pleasant, knowledgeable guide. Excellent food and indescribable beauty.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The hot springs were wonderful and the night was ended gloriously by eating dinner in the tree tops....exquisite view. If u tend to motion sickness be prepared for the windy trip there.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip with wonderful guides.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time viewing the volcano and the hot springs were Excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area, but make sure you give 48 hour notice to get transportation because it is through a different company and can get tricky.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Baldi hot spring were amazing and great food

It would have been nice to walk on one of the trails near the Arenal volcano

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! I was in San Jose for business and had 1 day to explore and have fun. This tour is just perfect for that because you get to see so much of the country. But beware you are gone for more than 13 hours. Also, you should know the driving in Costa Rica can be pretty scary.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a fun way to spend the day, and really a good value. As other reviewers have mentioned, the food was excellent, especially the buffet dinner at the hot springs. The bus ride was comfortable enough, included basic info about Costa Rica from the guide, who was friendly and helpful, and kept to the schedule well. There were stops along the way which provided opportunities to pick up some pretty good souvenirs. The actual stop at the volcano viewpoint was good, but since this is an Arenal Volcano day trip, I had expected a little more time actually observing the volcano. Maybe a second stop at another viewpoint would have been nice. It wasn't a huge problem though, as we got to move on to the hot springs where we had VIP access for the afternoon. This was a great way to wind down later in the day, and the hot springs facilities are beautiful.

Overall, what this tour had to offer was very satisfactory. I would have liked a little more time to see the volcano, but the other aspects of the day trip were great. I appreciated that the tour company was environmentally conscious, already holding a decent green rating and looking to improve their rating soon. The tour guide was good, and the hotel pick-up and drop-off was easy. I think that you will enjoy this trip, especially if you are looking for a fun and decently priced day trip out of San José.

Special Offer

From USD $ 119.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message