Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Tina A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Fansastic tour! I met some nice people and really enjoyed every part of the tour. I think the hot springs was the star of the tour, however, in my opinion, they could quite easily cut down the time spent in the springs by an hour. I think we had 3 and half hours, which I think was too long and this meant that we didn't back back to San Jose until around 10:30pm. Bearing in mind that we were picked up at 6:30am in the morning, it felt like a day and a half. I enjoyed it though.

Christopher J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide Maria was very knowledgeable and had a great personality. She did a great job. Arsenal was beautiful and the Hot Springs were wonderful.

Kay M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

enjoyed seeing the beautiful countryside and towns on way to volcano. Good lunch at Rancho Pearle Restaurant Baldi Spa was excellent. Met expectations based on Viator's descriptions.

Mandisa D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. My only complaint is that we were not able to spend more time in the hot springs.

Mary M P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide. Great trip, but it was a very long day.

AARON MARK A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

this was a lovely tour. The tourguides were friendly and I especially enjoyed the hotsprings waterpark! Never did I think my childhood would be rekindled like that! make sure that the day isnt cloudy when u are goin to visit the Volcano...or else the volcano may not be fully visible. :)

Ed D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

COULD ONLY SEE ABOUT 1/3 OF ARENAL AS IT WAS EXTREMELY CLOUDY AND MISTING RAIN. THE 2 MEALS WERE VERY GOOD WITH LUNCH BEING ALA CARTE AND DINNER AT ALBI HOT SPRINGS RESORT WAS A 5 STAR. YOU WON'T REGRET GOING TO THIS.

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour the hot springs was out of this world. The tour guide was great but he was not to good in explaining English one thing to take into consideration although it's a Spanish speaking country not all tourist is Spanish speaking

sheelk

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

mobart

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Amazing nature. We enjoyed Baldi Hot Springs. Only stop in Sarchi could skip.

Anne K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Its only lucky if you would be able to see the volcano. Probably August is not a good time. After all the long hours of driving, nothing really could be seen. It was rain and fog all day long. If you enjoy the spa activities, the afternoon was a relaxing one.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! We got to see so much of Costa Rica in one day, from city to small town, cloud forest to active volcano. The hot springs are fantastic, and the food (lunch and dinner are included) was delicious. Highly recommend.

debborablank

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The hot springs were wonderful and the night was ended gloriously by eating dinner in the tree tops....exquisite view. If u tend to motion sickness be prepared for the windy trip there.

Carmen B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip with wonderful guides.

LeQuia C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time viewing the volcano and the hot springs were Excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area, but make sure you give 48 hour notice to get transportation because it is through a different company and can get tricky.

Elizabeth J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

G S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Baldi hot spring were amazing and great food

It would have been nice to walk on one of the trails near the Arenal volcano

Erin H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! I was in San Jose for business and had 1 day to explore and have fun. This tour is just perfect for that because you get to see so much of the country. But beware you are gone for more than 13 hours. Also, you should know the driving in Costa Rica can be pretty scary.

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a fun way to spend the day, and really a good value. As other reviewers have mentioned, the food was excellent, especially the buffet dinner at the hot springs. The bus ride was comfortable enough, included basic info about Costa Rica from the guide, who was friendly and helpful, and kept to the schedule well. There were stops along the way which provided opportunities to pick up some pretty good souvenirs. The actual stop at the volcano viewpoint was good, but since this is an Arenal Volcano day trip, I had expected a little more time actually observing the volcano. Maybe a second stop at another viewpoint would have been nice. It wasn't a huge problem though, as we got to move on to the hot springs where we had VIP access for the afternoon. This was a great way to wind down later in the day, and the hot springs facilities are beautiful.

Overall, what this tour had to offer was very satisfactory. I would have liked a little more time to see the volcano, but the other aspects of the day trip were great. I appreciated that the tour company was environmentally conscious, already holding a decent green rating and looking to improve their rating soon. The tour guide was good, and the hotel pick-up and drop-off was easy. I think that you will enjoy this trip, especially if you are looking for a fun and decently priced day trip out of San José.

HUA T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour overall. The drive to Arenal was long and curvy through the OMG road. Lunch was delicious but wasn't buffet style. Hot spring was great and refreshing. Dinner was buffet and was delicious. Highly recommend!

miguel Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Arenal is picturesque, it was a cloudy day when we went so didnt see the cone of the volcano up close. its worth doing

Janine E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Die Tour ist im allgemeinen sehr schön! Leider konnten wir wetterbedingt den Vulkan nicht sehn, was wohl auch recht häufig vorkommt. Die Hot Springs im Anschluss sind jedoch sehr empfehlenswert und erholsam. Das Essen war sowohl Mittags als auch Abends sehr gut.

Patricia D T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Loved the tour, tour guide, and other participants. The driver drove safely and the hot springs were amaaaazing. There are only 2 things keeping me from giving this 5 stars... 1. lunch was mediocre 2. once I was on the bus I was told there were 2 hot springs destinations and if I wanted to go to the deluxe one I had to pay an extra $28. I feel like this should have been made clear in the trip description beforehand. I did pay the extra money and I think it was worth it!

Miriam K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This tour was great. You get to see much of the countryside and the view are wonderful. The hot springs they give you a key for a locker and a towel which was great. They are beautiful and very relaxing.
My negative was out tour guide Alfredo spoke mostly in spanish and we had to keep asking him to talk in english. I felt I missed much information since he spoke mostly spanish. He also was not credible in his facts. He stated items that we Americans all knew were false. Midway through the tour we changed buses and they second guide was much better and spoke much more in english. They company should have english only and spanish only tours.

Kristin G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was a great tour that my friends and I really enjoyed. We got lucky and caught a clear day during the rainy season. The drive and the Arenal volcano surroundings are very scenic. Baldi was also fun and relaxing.
Pros:
*Nice full-day of activities, without being too burdened by a tour guide or pressured to buy things
*Delicious lunch
*Great tour for a first time visitor to CR

Cons:
*Long drive from San Jose (3.5 hours on a bus)
*Dinner buffet at Baldi was just ok...lunch was WAY better
*Detour to drop folks off at another hot springs resort was LONG and along some very rough terrain

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$136.99 Save $7.00

From USD $ 129.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message