• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour overall. The drive to Arenal was long and curvy through the OMG road. Lunch was delicious but wasn't buffet style. Hot spring was great and refreshing. Dinner was buffet and was delicious. Highly recommend!

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Arenal is picturesque, it was a cloudy day when we went so didnt see the cone of the volcano up close. its worth doing

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Die Tour ist im allgemeinen sehr schön! Leider konnten wir wetterbedingt den Vulkan nicht sehn, was wohl auch recht häufig vorkommt. Die Hot Springs im Anschluss sind jedoch sehr empfehlenswert und erholsam. Das Essen war sowohl Mittags als auch Abends sehr gut.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Loved the tour, tour guide, and other participants. The driver drove safely and the hot springs were amaaaazing. There are only 2 things keeping me from giving this 5 stars... 1. lunch was mediocre 2. once I was on the bus I was told there were 2 hot springs destinations and if I wanted to go to the deluxe one I had to pay an extra $28. I feel like this should have been made clear in the trip description beforehand. I did pay the extra money and I think it was worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This tour was great. You get to see much of the countryside and the view are wonderful. The hot springs they give you a key for a locker and a towel which was great. They are beautiful and very relaxing.
My negative was out tour guide Alfredo spoke mostly in spanish and we had to keep asking him to talk in english. I felt I missed much information since he spoke mostly spanish. He also was not credible in his facts. He stated items that we Americans all knew were false. Midway through the tour we changed buses and they second guide was much better and spoke much more in english. They company should have english only and spanish only tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was a great tour that my friends and I really enjoyed. We got lucky and caught a clear day during the rainy season. The drive and the Arenal volcano surroundings are very scenic. Baldi was also fun and relaxing.
Pros:
*Nice full-day of activities, without being too burdened by a tour guide or pressured to buy things
*Delicious lunch
*Great tour for a first time visitor to CR

Cons:
*Long drive from San Jose (3.5 hours on a bus)
*Dinner buffet at Baldi was just ok...lunch was WAY better
*Detour to drop folks off at another hot springs resort was LONG and along some very rough terrain

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Good trip se los recomiendo a todos la van a pasar muy bien .La naturaleza increible.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

It is quite good overall, especially about the 3 hours we spent at the hot springs. But the drive from San Jose to the volcano is too long (about 3.5 hours). It is a scenic drive, but on the way back to San Jose, it's all dark, you won't be able to see anything.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The hot springs they took us to was Baldi. It was under going renovations in a very small area. The place was still amazing and very clean!!! A wonderful place to end our time in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great - very knowledgable and friendly. Even thought it was cloudyrainy for much of the day, we were able to get good views of the volacno saw it erupt 3 times. The food was also really good, and the hot springs were amazing! I'd definately recommend this trip. However, participants should be aware that it's more of a 14-15 hour trip as compared to the 11 hours advertised.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was great but the bus broke down, and they did not notify us until we had waited almost three hours. Everythihg was rescheduled and we went the day after the original schedule.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The mist made it very difficult to see the volcano

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The Arenal volcano is not so active, I just saw smoke on its peak, no thunder, no rolling lava, absolutely quiet, but the hot springs are good. You have to be careful if you are sunburned because the water some times in some pools is too hot.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This tour took in many different sites and included 2 delicious meals. However, the tour guide did not keep to the schedule. What was supposed to be an 11 hour tour ended up being 14 hours!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Overall the trip was okay, but NOT punctual. If there is a tourist who is running late or does not respect the times when you have to be back on the van, the entire group misses out. We didn't get out moneys worth because of this. LEAVE people go are late. They are adults. They can deal with it.

Special Offer

From USD $ 119.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message