4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Baldi hot spring were amazing and great food

It would have been nice to walk on one of the trails near the Arenal volcano

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! I was in San Jose for business and had 1 day to explore and have fun. This tour is just perfect for that because you get to see so much of the country. But beware you are gone for more than 13 hours. Also, you should know the driving in Costa Rica can be pretty scary.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a fun way to spend the day, and really a good value. As other reviewers have mentioned, the food was excellent, especially the buffet dinner at the hot springs. The bus ride was comfortable enough, included basic info about Costa Rica from the guide, who was friendly and helpful, and kept to the schedule well. There were stops along the way which provided opportunities to pick up some pretty good souvenirs. The actual stop at the volcano viewpoint was good, but since this is an Arenal Volcano day trip, I had expected a little more time actually observing the volcano. Maybe a second stop at another viewpoint would have been nice. It wasn't a huge problem though, as we got to move on to the hot springs where we had VIP access for the afternoon. This was a great way to wind down later in the day, and the hot springs facilities are beautiful.

Overall, what this tour had to offer was very satisfactory. I would have liked a little more time to see the volcano, but the other aspects of the day trip were great. I appreciated that the tour company was environmentally conscious, already holding a decent green rating and looking to improve their rating soon. The tour guide was good, and the hotel pick-up and drop-off was easy. I think that you will enjoy this trip, especially if you are looking for a fun and decently priced day trip out of San José.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour overall. The drive to Arenal was long and curvy through the OMG road. Lunch was delicious but wasn't buffet style. Hot spring was great and refreshing. Dinner was buffet and was delicious. Highly recommend!

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Arenal is picturesque, it was a cloudy day when we went so didnt see the cone of the volcano up close. its worth doing

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Die Tour ist im allgemeinen sehr schön! Leider konnten wir wetterbedingt den Vulkan nicht sehn, was wohl auch recht häufig vorkommt. Die Hot Springs im Anschluss sind jedoch sehr empfehlenswert und erholsam. Das Essen war sowohl Mittags als auch Abends sehr gut.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Loved the tour, tour guide, and other participants. The driver drove safely and the hot springs were amaaaazing. There are only 2 things keeping me from giving this 5 stars... 1. lunch was mediocre 2. once I was on the bus I was told there were 2 hot springs destinations and if I wanted to go to the deluxe one I had to pay an extra $28. I feel like this should have been made clear in the trip description beforehand. I did pay the extra money and I think it was worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This tour was great. You get to see much of the countryside and the view are wonderful. The hot springs they give you a key for a locker and a towel which was great. They are beautiful and very relaxing.
My negative was out tour guide Alfredo spoke mostly in spanish and we had to keep asking him to talk in english. I felt I missed much information since he spoke mostly spanish. He also was not credible in his facts. He stated items that we Americans all knew were false. Midway through the tour we changed buses and they second guide was much better and spoke much more in english. They company should have english only and spanish only tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was a great tour that my friends and I really enjoyed. We got lucky and caught a clear day during the rainy season. The drive and the Arenal volcano surroundings are very scenic. Baldi was also fun and relaxing.
Pros:
*Nice full-day of activities, without being too burdened by a tour guide or pressured to buy things
*Delicious lunch
*Great tour for a first time visitor to CR

Cons:
*Long drive from San Jose (3.5 hours on a bus)
*Dinner buffet at Baldi was just ok...lunch was WAY better
*Detour to drop folks off at another hot springs resort was LONG and along some very rough terrain

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Good trip se los recomiendo a todos la van a pasar muy bien .La naturaleza increible.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

It is quite good overall, especially about the 3 hours we spent at the hot springs. But the drive from San Jose to the volcano is too long (about 3.5 hours). It is a scenic drive, but on the way back to San Jose, it's all dark, you won't be able to see anything.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The hot springs they took us to was Baldi. It was under going renovations in a very small area. The place was still amazing and very clean!!! A wonderful place to end our time in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great - very knowledgable and friendly. Even thought it was cloudyrainy for much of the day, we were able to get good views of the volacno saw it erupt 3 times. The food was also really good, and the hot springs were amazing! I'd definately recommend this trip. However, participants should be aware that it's more of a 14-15 hour trip as compared to the 11 hours advertised.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was great but the bus broke down, and they did not notify us until we had waited almost three hours. Everythihg was rescheduled and we went the day after the original schedule.

From USD $ 127.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message