Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

jorge j

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Good trip se los recomiendo a todos la van a pasar muy bien .La naturaleza increible.

Vinh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

It is quite good overall, especially about the 3 hours we spent at the hot springs. But the drive from San Jose to the volcano is too long (about 3.5 hours). It is a scenic drive, but on the way back to San Jose, it's all dark, you won't be able to see anything.

Mistie J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The hot springs they took us to was Baldi. It was under going renovations in a very small area. The place was still amazing and very clean!!! A wonderful place to end our time in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Christopher T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great - very knowledgable and friendly. Even thought it was cloudyrainy for much of the day, we were able to get good views of the volacno saw it erupt 3 times. The food was also really good, and the hot springs were amazing! I'd definately recommend this trip. However, participants should be aware that it's more of a 14-15 hour trip as compared to the 11 hours advertised.

Virna G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was great but the bus broke down, and they did not notify us until we had waited almost three hours. Everythihg was rescheduled and we went the day after the original schedule.

LUIS M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The mist made it very difficult to see the volcano

Eleftherios M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The Arenal volcano is not so active, I just saw smoke on its peak, no thunder, no rolling lava, absolutely quiet, but the hot springs are good. You have to be careful if you are sunburned because the water some times in some pools is too hot.

Lynn G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This tour took in many different sites and included 2 delicious meals. However, the tour guide did not keep to the schedule. What was supposed to be an 11 hour tour ended up being 14 hours!

Alexandra L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

If you want to do a tour that takes you to see a volcano for 10 mins and spend 3 hours relaxing at springs, it and #39;s a great tour. But if you are more interested in the volcano it and #39;s not really worth it.
However, the lunch was fantastic and the guide jorge was very good too.

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The trip was really good, the Tabacon Hot Springs was really relaxing and enjoyable. The property is beautiful. We would have liked more time at the volcano. The view was nice but would have liked to be closer or more time to go on one of the trails.

Jennied7331

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The ride was rough. We expected to get closer to the volcano but that is not the case. Baldi hot springs was good. The foods were excellent. We enjoy the company of the tourist and the foods more than the tour it self. Three stars for the foods.

Leslie C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

bus trip too long

Peggy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Long day with only a distant look at the volcanoe. I was expecting to get a look at the crator so my expectations may have been the problem.

Michele M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Overall the trip was okay, but NOT punctual. If there is a tourist who is running late or does not respect the times when you have to be back on the van, the entire group misses out. We didn't get out moneys worth because of this. LEAVE people go are late. They are adults. They can deal with it.

Greg P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This was my first day trip in Costa Rica and it was Average. There were many good points and several bad points.

Pros: Excellent meal at the Arenal volcano, Baldi hot springs is truly magnificent. I highly recommend this place and although mine wasn't a romantic escape, I can see the intoxicating effect this place would have if you were to bring your significant other.

Cons: A 2 hour bus ride that only stops once to buy souvenirs and when we get to the volcano, you really don't go to it. All you do is eat lunch and look at it from afar. It looks like any other mountain, so in essence you are riding 2 hours to look at a mountain. Very lame. As I previously mentioned the hot springs are amazing, but there is NOTHING else to do there. After 3 hours of sitting in a hot tub, you start to prune up and would like to do something else. Other than eat candy at the gift shop or get drunk at a bar (which is WAAAY overpriced), there is nothing. Couple that with a terrible buffet dinner, and I was ready to leave. Also.. a warning. Baldi obviously promotes to schools that are vacationing. There was over 4 tour buses full of teenagers that were at the hot springs. Although they behaved themselves, don't expect a peaceful retreat.

Pauli

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

This is a long trip from San Jose. We left around 8 and didn't arrive at the hot springs until after 2. We had lunch en route and a stop at Arenal to take some pgo ictures.
I'd advise you to check which Springs you are going to ... I saw the photo of Tabacon Springs and assumed that to be the destination (I'd been to Tabacon and wanted to return) ... but no... I was told I'd only paid to go to Baldi Springs. It cost me another $48 USD to go Tabacon. Tabacon is beaautiful and the buffet superb.

Ronald C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

NICE RIDE TO THE TWO PLACES. AVERAGE SIGHTSEEING SETTINGS. VERY VERY LONG 14 HOUR DAY.

Phillip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Drive was too long and was disappointed we did not get a closer look at the Volcano after driving for 3 hours. Hot springs was very nice though and the dinner was very good.

Kerantha P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The tour was OK. The drive was LONG (3 hours) and the vehicle was very small and completely full. There was no restroom in the van. The van was old and it rattled--made a lot of noise. Seats were uncomfortable. The volcano (which didn't do anything but smoke---and hasn't done in 2 1/2 years according to the tour guide) wasn't anything spectacular. The landscape where we stopped to take pictures was beautiful, but at the end of the day, the volcano was just a mountain. The visit to the hot springs resort was well worth it. Very relaxing. Beautiful resort. Definitely the highlight of the trip. My one draw back was that the water wasn't very hot. The day wasn't very hot, so the waters were pretty luke warm. The food (lunch and dinner) was very good. Tour guide was knowledgeable.

Luis

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Lunch was poor

Alissa H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

It was a nice day trip. Although, I wish that the group didn't have to split up to go to 2 different hot springs and restaurant locations. Also, we were the first picked up and the last dropped off. It was a lot of time just sitting in the bus....kind of a drag

Erika K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

This trip is a lot longer than described. The way to the volcano took abot 5-hours since they stopped at a souvenir shop. If you get car sick, it is recommended to take some medication with you since there is a very good chance you will get sick. Other than that this tour was very pleasant, the food was excellent and the facilities at Tabacon resort were very, very good.

Hans H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sorry to say it was too long on a bus to see a volcano that was mostly hidden in clouds
The Baldi Hot Springs were OK but the buffet dinner was mediocre
I would give it a 3 star rating if it didn't involve over 8 hours in a bus

Charles G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

There were 25 people on the bus. 20 went to one hot spring and 5 of us got dumped at the other.
Poor instructions from the guide . All 5 of us were lost as the guide was with the larger group.
We would have preferred to stay with the group, even if it was a down grade in facilities.

Steven S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Viator was great but the local tour operator was terrible. They forgot to pick us up and told us it was our fault. We had to re-organize our trip to reschedule the tour and when they were suppose to pick us up a second time, they went to the wrong hostel and told us to take a taxi to another hotel.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$136.99 Save $7.00

From USD $ 129.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message