Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

LeQuia C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time viewing the volcano and the hot springs were Excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area, but make sure you give 48 hour notice to get transportation because it is through a different company and can get tricky.

Elizabeth J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

G S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Baldi hot spring were amazing and great food

It would have been nice to walk on one of the trails near the Arenal volcano

Erin H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! I was in San Jose for business and had 1 day to explore and have fun. This tour is just perfect for that because you get to see so much of the country. But beware you are gone for more than 13 hours. Also, you should know the driving in Costa Rica can be pretty scary.

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a fun way to spend the day, and really a good value. As other reviewers have mentioned, the food was excellent, especially the buffet dinner at the hot springs. The bus ride was comfortable enough, included basic info about Costa Rica from the guide, who was friendly and helpful, and kept to the schedule well. There were stops along the way which provided opportunities to pick up some pretty good souvenirs. The actual stop at the volcano viewpoint was good, but since this is an Arenal Volcano day trip, I had expected a little more time actually observing the volcano. Maybe a second stop at another viewpoint would have been nice. It wasn't a huge problem though, as we got to move on to the hot springs where we had VIP access for the afternoon. This was a great way to wind down later in the day, and the hot springs facilities are beautiful.

Overall, what this tour had to offer was very satisfactory. I would have liked a little more time to see the volcano, but the other aspects of the day trip were great. I appreciated that the tour company was environmentally conscious, already holding a decent green rating and looking to improve their rating soon. The tour guide was good, and the hotel pick-up and drop-off was easy. I think that you will enjoy this trip, especially if you are looking for a fun and decently priced day trip out of San José.

HUA T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour overall. The drive to Arenal was long and curvy through the OMG road. Lunch was delicious but wasn't buffet style. Hot spring was great and refreshing. Dinner was buffet and was delicious. Highly recommend!

miguel Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Arenal is picturesque, it was a cloudy day when we went so didnt see the cone of the volcano up close. its worth doing

Janine E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Die Tour ist im allgemeinen sehr schön! Leider konnten wir wetterbedingt den Vulkan nicht sehn, was wohl auch recht häufig vorkommt. Die Hot Springs im Anschluss sind jedoch sehr empfehlenswert und erholsam. Das Essen war sowohl Mittags als auch Abends sehr gut.

Patricia D T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Loved the tour, tour guide, and other participants. The driver drove safely and the hot springs were amaaaazing. There are only 2 things keeping me from giving this 5 stars... 1. lunch was mediocre 2. once I was on the bus I was told there were 2 hot springs destinations and if I wanted to go to the deluxe one I had to pay an extra $28. I feel like this should have been made clear in the trip description beforehand. I did pay the extra money and I think it was worth it!

Miriam K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This tour was great. You get to see much of the countryside and the view are wonderful. The hot springs they give you a key for a locker and a towel which was great. They are beautiful and very relaxing.
My negative was out tour guide Alfredo spoke mostly in spanish and we had to keep asking him to talk in english. I felt I missed much information since he spoke mostly spanish. He also was not credible in his facts. He stated items that we Americans all knew were false. Midway through the tour we changed buses and they second guide was much better and spoke much more in english. They company should have english only and spanish only tours.

Kristin G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was a great tour that my friends and I really enjoyed. We got lucky and caught a clear day during the rainy season. The drive and the Arenal volcano surroundings are very scenic. Baldi was also fun and relaxing.
Pros:
*Nice full-day of activities, without being too burdened by a tour guide or pressured to buy things
*Delicious lunch
*Great tour for a first time visitor to CR

Cons:
*Long drive from San Jose (3.5 hours on a bus)
*Dinner buffet at Baldi was just ok...lunch was WAY better
*Detour to drop folks off at another hot springs resort was LONG and along some very rough terrain

jorge j

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Good trip se los recomiendo a todos la van a pasar muy bien .La naturaleza increible.

Vinh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

It is quite good overall, especially about the 3 hours we spent at the hot springs. But the drive from San Jose to the volcano is too long (about 3.5 hours). It is a scenic drive, but on the way back to San Jose, it's all dark, you won't be able to see anything.

Mistie J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The hot springs they took us to was Baldi. It was under going renovations in a very small area. The place was still amazing and very clean!!! A wonderful place to end our time in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Christopher T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great - very knowledgable and friendly. Even thought it was cloudyrainy for much of the day, we were able to get good views of the volacno saw it erupt 3 times. The food was also really good, and the hot springs were amazing! I'd definately recommend this trip. However, participants should be aware that it's more of a 14-15 hour trip as compared to the 11 hours advertised.

Virna G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was great but the bus broke down, and they did not notify us until we had waited almost three hours. Everythihg was rescheduled and we went the day after the original schedule.

LUIS M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The mist made it very difficult to see the volcano

Eleftherios M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The Arenal volcano is not so active, I just saw smoke on its peak, no thunder, no rolling lava, absolutely quiet, but the hot springs are good. You have to be careful if you are sunburned because the water some times in some pools is too hot.

Lynn G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This tour took in many different sites and included 2 delicious meals. However, the tour guide did not keep to the schedule. What was supposed to be an 11 hour tour ended up being 14 hours!

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Alexandra L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

If you want to do a tour that takes you to see a volcano for 10 mins and spend 3 hours relaxing at springs, it and #39;s a great tour. But if you are more interested in the volcano it and #39;s not really worth it.
However, the lunch was fantastic and the guide jorge was very good too.

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The trip was really good, the Tabacon Hot Springs was really relaxing and enjoyable. The property is beautiful. We would have liked more time at the volcano. The view was nice but would have liked to be closer or more time to go on one of the trails.

Jennied7331

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The ride was rough. We expected to get closer to the volcano but that is not the case. Baldi hot springs was good. The foods were excellent. We enjoy the company of the tourist and the foods more than the tour it self. Three stars for the foods.

Leslie C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

bus trip too long

Peggy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Long day with only a distant look at the volcanoe. I was expecting to get a look at the crator so my expectations may have been the problem.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$136.99 Save $7.00

From USD $ 129.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100AVHS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message