4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was very nice and guide was very knowledgeable. At that day it was raining close to the volcano, so we haven't seen the crater. However, they showed us a coffee plantation and beautiful place with lots of animals! Toucans, monkeys, different wild cats, hummingbirds and others! Lunch was a buffet style and tasted amazing! After the lunch we moved to the next location to see waterfalls! I've been in lots of places but these kind of waterfall I haven't seen anywhere else! I'd highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutamente satisfecho en todos los aspectos. La relación precio/valor superó mis expectativas. Tenía un sólo día para hacer turismo, y realmente la amplitud del tour me permitió sacar el 100% de provecho al día. El guía totalmente conocedor de los itios y siempre estuvo muy atento y pendiente de todos nosotros. Los 3 sitios incluídos realmente bellos y dignos de conocer. En total recomiendo este tour como una obligación si tiene poco tiempo para hacer turismo!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide, Choo Choo (sp?) was great! He was very friendly and informative. The coffe tour was great and we enjoyed being able to ake in the beautiful scenery of the plantation, learn the entire process that goes in to producing coffee, and the time in the shop at the end. Buy your coffee here! First, you get to buy coffee from the place where you actually saw the process first hand know that it's considered one of the best in Costa Rica, and second because, at $8/bag (when we were there) it's also the best deal you'll find. Poas Volcano was amazingly beautiful. We took a bit of a trek to the main crater, but it was too foggy to see anything. We took another trail that led us to a second crater, which was just beautiful. Choo Choo suggested heading back to the main crater before departing, and I'm glad he did because, by the time we got back, the fog had lifted and seeing the crater was well worth the wait and the hike. We stopped at roadside store where we got to sample "Locarno strawberries", strawberry wine, and a Vsta Rican wine, then headed to La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Lunch there was delicious - you ave to try their fried plantains - so good. The fauna and flora at the Gardens is so beautiful. There are tons of hummingbirds and the have a bit of a wildlife zoo going on with a butterfly area, frogs, monkeys, a tiger, birds, and other animals. At the end of the walk through there are paths to two waterfalls, one of which you can get close enough to feel the mist. I highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was great,more then we have expected. We had luck to have nice weather,great tour guide,good food. We have a lot of fun and that was the best we experienced in San Jose.
Jesus,man you are the best.
Definitely we will recommend to everyone,who visit San Jose, the combo tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best day trip I've ever taken. The volcano portion was very intriguing, but the wildlife sanctuary is an absolute must for any animal lover. If you are into coffee, you will also enjoy the informative tour of the Doka coffee plantation and the delicious breakfast. Other outstanding points were the amazing Buffet lunch and the walk to the waterfalls. Even though it was raining, it was absolutely gorgeous.. Lastly, the quick stop to try fresh chocolate-dipped strawberries at a souvenir shop was the icing on the cake. Excellent value, excellent day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I enjoyed this tour very much. Our tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a refreshing change of pace and scenery from the bustling city tour we took 2 days before. Our guide Alberto was very congenial and informative. The volcano, rain forest, waterfalls, coffee plantation--all were a treat for the senses.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We really enjoyed this trip. It is a great way to see the area around San José and you fit so much into one day. We started off at the coffee estate and to be honest, I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy this at first but we really did. It was actually really interesting and the grounds were nice. We had breakfast there overlooking the valley and it was a nice way to start to the morning. This was followed by a trip to Poaz volcano and we were lucky enough to get there on a clear day so had great views. After this we went to La Paz waterfall gardens which was very enjoyable. They buffet lunch there was amazing, we ate so much! The walk around the waterfalls was pleasant and we saw a bit of wildlife. We had enough time in each place, I thought the day was spread out well with a good balance of guided and independent parts and it was just a really good day. I’d definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was the best tour of all. The volcano crater was visible with fumeroles spewing out their steam. There was a great walk about. The La Paz waterfalls with its added attractions and Costa Rican lunch buffet were first class.
A great outing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Good Mix.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

BY FAR THE BEST OF TWO. ALMOST WORTH THE TRIP TO BE PICKED UP AT THE HOTEL.VERY BEAUTIFUL AND WORTH THE MONEY.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

excellent tour , very wel organised

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour with an excellent guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Tour was awesome; guide was on time, food was good as hell. Just so much fun!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Enjoyed the entire day. Great guides.

From USD $ 123.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message