• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 85 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We really enjoyed this trip. It is a great way to see the area around San José and you fit so much into one day. We started off at the coffee estate and to be honest, I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy this at first but we really did. It was actually really interesting and the grounds were nice. We had breakfast there overlooking the valley and it was a nice way to start to the morning. This was followed by a trip to Poaz volcano and we were lucky enough to get there on a clear day so had great views. After this we went to La Paz waterfall gardens which was very enjoyable. They buffet lunch there was amazing, we ate so much! The walk around the waterfalls was pleasant and we saw a bit of wildlife. We had enough time in each place, I thought the day was spread out well with a good balance of guided and independent parts and it was just a really good day. I’d definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was the best tour of all. The volcano crater was visible with fumeroles spewing out their steam. There was a great walk about. The La Paz waterfalls with its added attractions and Costa Rican lunch buffet were first class.
A great outing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Good Mix.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

BY FAR THE BEST OF TWO. ALMOST WORTH THE TRIP TO BE PICKED UP AT THE HOTEL.VERY BEAUTIFUL AND WORTH THE MONEY.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

excellent tour , very wel organised

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour with an excellent guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Tour was awesome; guide was on time, food was good as hell. Just so much fun!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Enjoyed the entire day. Great guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a fantastic trip! I had arrived in Costa Rica the night before so this was a great way to get introduced to the country.

The best part of the day was going to the La Paz waterfalls and seeing not only the waterfalls, but the animal sanctuary. I've done a lot of Viator tours before and this was one of my favorites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour! La paz and Poas were my favorite, though Dokka was interesting...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Brilliant tour. Great guide, ok breakfast, brilliant lunch, and some amazing sites. And we were lucky enough to see Poas on a clear day :)

Robert R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Great trip. Good selection of things to see and good introduction to Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The trip was very interesting, liked everything about it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Guide was very knowledgeable, would have wanted to stay longer and linger at the waterfalls gardens but we were pressed for time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This tour was well worth the money! Donald was an awesome tour guide with 15 years of experience. He knows so much about the process at the coffee plantation, the volcanos and the waterfalls. He taught us a little Costa Rican, as well as telling us about the country while on the bus.
Even though we are huge coffee lovers, we had no idea what the process involved. I only have more of an appreciation for coffee farmers now. The breakfast was excellent too!
It happened to be cloudy at the Poas volcano, so we didn't see much. Instead we hiked up 160 feet to the other crater and saw the lake. Some of our group stayed at the original crater long enough to see the clouds part for a good view of the crater. We regret missing that a little. Note to people on the tour - when the guide says meet at a certain time, be there. Don't make him come looking for you because you made everyone wait 20 minutes!
The waterfall area was serene. It started with several "houses" of wildlife in which you could get up close to a variety of native wildlife. An excellent lunch buffet was next, offering traditional CR dishes as well as pizza, hot dogs and salad. The tour ended with the falls, which were gorgeous. Donald knew the tour so well, that he could tell us how many steps we would descend and ascend.
In addition to Donald's great tour guide skills, our driver was amazing - some of the roads were narrow, on a cliffsiode and full of potholes. I never once felt scared or unsafe.

From USD $ 104.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message