4.5 star rating: Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The service was wonderful and the tour was great to do, especially if you want to see most of Costa Rica in one day.

Michael K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We were in a small bus which was good for the roads. Excellent guide, had good knowledge and a good attitude. The three main destinations are all good and the travel time between them not too long. It would be good if bottled water was included on the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I only had 1 day in San Jose and wanted to make the best of it. I think I chose the right company and the right tour! Our tour guides were very professional. One of the nice features was the guide had a microphone in the tour van and kept us entertained with interesting tidbits about the region. Coffee plantation was nice, the botanical gardens were the best and the highlight of the tour! Breakfast was good, lunch was OK. All in all, I would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Our guide was terrific! The trip was timed perfectly so we got to see the volcano. I have recommended this tour to family members. Incredible sights, knowledgeable staff and good food.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Long but worth it! It was nice to see a variety of different parts to the Costa Rican culture. Translation was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

The best way to see a lot of Costa Rica. The waterfalls, butterflies, and coffee plantation were great. A nice introduction to Costa Rica!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

An exceptional experience and the best tour to take to get an overall view of what Costa Rica has to offer. However, tour was fast paced and somewhat strenuous from a physical standpoint lots and lots of steps to climb at the waterfalls and a good amount of uphill walking at the crater. It would have been helpful if this had been mentioned in the description. A good value with 2 meals included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Excellent tour! We especially enjoyed the La Paz waterfall and area around it, very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide, highly recommended!

Tania K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I only had one day to see Costa Rica before a conference. This tour was a fantastic way to see the best of Costa Rica in a day. Coffee plantations and volcanoes, birds and butterflies, waterfalls and wildlife.

Elizabeth M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very good way to see a bit of everything in Costa Rica. You get the coffee, volcano and wildlife all in a day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very informative, and an excellent alternative to driving yourself to the tourist attractions we were able to visit all in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Really enjoyed this.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Max, our guide, was funny and very knowledgeable. The tour was bilingual Spanish English and Max was good at maintaining a commentary in both languages, but it did make it harder for us take in the information. The coffee plantation gave us a good breakfast and the tour was very informative - well definitely avoid de-caf from now on. The visit to the volcano was disappointing because the clouds were down and we saw nothing of it, although the cloud forest was fascinating. The souvenir stop was not really necessary. The La Paz Waterfall Gardens was well organised, basically a mini zoo and some good waterfalls. The aviary was good and you can get your picture taken with a toucan. The hummingbirds were fantastic, especially because they were not in a cage, but just lured by the food. The buffet meal was excellent. The big cats section was a little uncomfortable, especially as one or two of the cats were exhibiting repetitive behaviour. The waterfall walk was accurately described and you can get close enough to get soaked if you so desire. It was a packed tour, but generally worth the effort.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Coffee tour was nice, Poas Volcano was covered in clouds and usually is during rainy season (we went beginning of December) so can't really see anything but nice walk through rainforest. La Paz waterfalls was very nice. Tour guide was good but not great, very knowledgeable about the coffee plantation though.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unless you could have enough time to wait for the fog to go away, the crater or Lake view of Paos Volcano could hardly be seen clearly. La paz Waterfall is interesting and worth visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I would have liked to have a brochure with a map to be able to see where we were with suggestions on the different trails available at each site. Also, the lunch was not the best…breakfast was great. The guide and drive were great.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed this tour. The pick up was prompt. We started the tour having breakfast at the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation for a light breakfast. The breakfast was a little under expectation but it sufficed. The tour of the plantation was nice. I liked the walk through of the coffee process, from seed to the shelf. Then we drove through the country side to our next destination. After our arrival, We then proceeded on a short hike to the Paos Volcano. Now the view of this natural spectacle left me speechless for a moment. I also enjoyed the volcanic lake located at a higher elevation. Be prepared, it is a real trek upward, but it is a beautiful walk through the cloud forest. Then we were off to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we enjoyed the breath taking waterfalls and the indigenous animals, butterflies, and birds of Costa Rica. The lunch/dinner was delicious and beyond expectation. Overall this tour was wonderful and a well spent day experiencing some of the best of CR.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My favorite tour! Of course we didn't see the volcano, but I didn't expect to. It's tough with all the clouds.

Be advised that ALL of the animals you will see are in a zoo/refuge center but it was very cool all the same. I just wish I would have known and that's why I gave it four stars instead of five. You get to take photos of you with the toucans, and I got a photo of a leopard yawning that was incredible.

Max was one of the best guides I've had--instead of speaking for 15 min in English and then 15 min in Spanish, he would go back and forth, paragraph by paragraph. I like that style of interpretation so you don't feel like you are missing something that was told in the other language.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was very well organised and did a lot in a day. Coffee Plantation trip far more enjoyable than I had expected. We actually got to see the volcano crater, which was fabulous. The trip to Le Paz was excellent, with lots to see and animals that appeared very well looked after. And we got to try strawberry wine and queso palmita on the way. All on all, a great day! Not cheap, but an easy way to see a lot easily.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great trip, knowledgeable guide, and wonderful sights. The food was excellent! However, as I was staying at the hotel that was the last stop for the morning pickup, the only remaining seat was in the cramped back seat of a microbus, and it was not a very comfortable ride. Otherwise it was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip. Our guides were excellent, the trip was timed well, and everything was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was well run, the guide was great, pretty good value. We went to the Doka coffee plantation first and had a good breakfast (typical local food). We went to the Poas volcano second, and it was all clouded in (we knew this was a possibility) so we couldn't see the crater at all, it was worth a try. Then we went to the La Paz waterfall gardens (included a good buffet lunch there). The butterfly and hummingbird gardens were great, the waterfalls were cool, the animal enclosures for the cats were a bit small and very zoo-like (it is obviously a successful business, so I would like to see them expand the habitats for the bigger animals).

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour. Good value for money. Would recommend it to anyone with limited time wanting variety.

From USD $ 121.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message