4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a fantastic trip! I had arrived in Costa Rica the night before so this was a great way to get introduced to the country.

The best part of the day was going to the La Paz waterfalls and seeing not only the waterfalls, but the animal sanctuary. I've done a lot of Viator tours before and this was one of my favorites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour! La paz and Poas were my favorite, though Dokka was interesting...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Brilliant tour. Great guide, ok breakfast, brilliant lunch, and some amazing sites. And we were lucky enough to see Poas on a clear day :)

Robert R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Great trip. Good selection of things to see and good introduction to Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The trip was very interesting, liked everything about it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Guide was very knowledgeable, would have wanted to stay longer and linger at the waterfalls gardens but we were pressed for time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This tour was well worth the money! Donald was an awesome tour guide with 15 years of experience. He knows so much about the process at the coffee plantation, the volcanos and the waterfalls. He taught us a little Costa Rican, as well as telling us about the country while on the bus.
Even though we are huge coffee lovers, we had no idea what the process involved. I only have more of an appreciation for coffee farmers now. The breakfast was excellent too!
It happened to be cloudy at the Poas volcano, so we didn't see much. Instead we hiked up 160 feet to the other crater and saw the lake. Some of our group stayed at the original crater long enough to see the clouds part for a good view of the crater. We regret missing that a little. Note to people on the tour - when the guide says meet at a certain time, be there. Don't make him come looking for you because you made everyone wait 20 minutes!
The waterfall area was serene. It started with several "houses" of wildlife in which you could get up close to a variety of native wildlife. An excellent lunch buffet was next, offering traditional CR dishes as well as pizza, hot dogs and salad. The tour ended with the falls, which were gorgeous. Donald knew the tour so well, that he could tell us how many steps we would descend and ascend.
In addition to Donald's great tour guide skills, our driver was amazing - some of the roads were narrow, on a cliffsiode and full of potholes. I never once felt scared or unsafe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We stay Costa Rica only two days. The Combo tour gives us the best and must see in Costa Rica. Before we visit CR, we think we should see the vocanal, reain forest and cofee process. The tour all included in one and very organized. We are enjoy and more than what we expect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip. Jason was our tour guide. Well planned timing of meals and tours. Out of our three tour days we had the most fun on this day. Def recommend taking extra clothing. Tour lasts longer than listed hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Awesome tour and guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

The trip was worth the costs of the tour. The breakfast was nothing to brag about and the lunch was great ( buffet style). The waterfall tour was wondfer...make sure to bring rain coat or umbrella and water shoes/boots...overall it was a great tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was simply wonderful! We were picked up on time at our hotel. Our tour guide, Melvin, was knowledgeable, polite and patient. The bus was comfortable, the food breakfast and lunch was plentiful and delicious, and all of the facilities restaurants and restrooms were clean and comfortable. The one suggestion I would make would be to cut back on some of the details at the coffee plantation. It was interesting, but just a little bit too much information regarding the coffee making process.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This tour was very timely, comprehensive and included a great taste of Costa Rica. Very friendly crew!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour. Nice combo of a great selection of tours. Well worth the money paid.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved the tour. We saw a lot in a short amount of time. Our guide was excellent and our driver did a spectacular job of driving, even when the roads to the falls were not in the best condition. Breakfast and lunch were both great. My friend had some mobility problems and our guide suggested a golf cart to take her back to the bus. This to me was up and above what was required. The only suggestion I would make is to warn people that the steps back from the falls are many and steep.

From USD $ 123.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message