4.5 star rating: Recommended 106 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 106 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was very well organised and did a lot in a day. Coffee Plantation trip far more enjoyable than I had expected. We actually got to see the volcano crater, which was fabulous. The trip to Le Paz was excellent, with lots to see and animals that appeared very well looked after. And we got to try strawberry wine and queso palmita on the way. All on all, a great day! Not cheap, but an easy way to see a lot easily.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great trip, knowledgeable guide, and wonderful sights. The food was excellent! However, as I was staying at the hotel that was the last stop for the morning pickup, the only remaining seat was in the cramped back seat of a microbus, and it was not a very comfortable ride. Otherwise it was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip. Our guides were excellent, the trip was timed well, and everything was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was well run, the guide was great, pretty good value. We went to the Doka coffee plantation first and had a good breakfast (typical local food). We went to the Poas volcano second, and it was all clouded in (we knew this was a possibility) so we couldn't see the crater at all, it was worth a try. Then we went to the La Paz waterfall gardens (included a good buffet lunch there). The butterfly and hummingbird gardens were great, the waterfalls were cool, the animal enclosures for the cats were a bit small and very zoo-like (it is obviously a successful business, so I would like to see them expand the habitats for the bigger animals).

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour. Good value for money. Would recommend it to anyone with limited time wanting variety.

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

one of the best tours..have to bring some snacks though because breakfast is not much, but it all make up with the lunch buffet. Ricardo is a wonderful guide

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

It was a very nice tour. But we were not lucky with the weather, couldn't see the volcano at all...Beautiful waterfalls garden with great lunch and very interesting visit to the coffee plantation. Nice day, but not the great one. Thanks anyway!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour. It was raining all day, so couldn't see the volcano. La Paz was wonderful. Oliver was a great tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour and our tour guide was wonderful and very knowlegable.

NAZIR B
Trinidad and Tobago

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour was great and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excelente tour por la ciudad .Se la recomiendo a todos .

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very informative tour. If you could throw a zipline in there somewhere you would have the perfect tour. Anna Lucia, the tour guide, was great. Breakfast and Lunch were good.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Most interesting history of the City, probably because guide, Jason was so extremely knowledgeable. The big turn off was at end of tour when they brought us to a jewelry store to shop.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

perfect day trip for a little bit of everything. coffee plantation was interesting, poas volcano really neat and la paz waterfall / nature center was beautiful. with breakfast and lunch included it is a great value. the driver and guide were terriffic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

I got to see a lot around the Alajuela region. I don't know if this is "the best of Costa Rica." The meals were good as well. We were lucky to see most of the crater of the Poas volcano, but pay attention to the forecast before you book. We were lucky to finish La Paz before it started pouring down.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Very good tour - three sights you don't want to miss! Be prepared to meet lots of crowds at Volcan Poas, especially if you go on a weekend. I've been on both the Doka and Cafe Britt coffee tours, and I have to admit that the Cafe Britt one is much more entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The tour was very punctual, the sites visited were interesting and the tour guide was very informative. The coffee plantation and the volcano were my favorites. The waterfall site was a bit boring but not a big problem. The food there was very good, however.

E Y
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The best of all our Viator tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Very good, but we had a lot of rain at waterfalls just before lunch and the guide could have suggested to do lunch earlier and to visit the falls just after that. We would have avoided to get completed wet.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Some items seemed really rushed, but it was well worth the money and the time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

You couldn't see any of the volcano because of clouds but we still enjoyed the rest of the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

We really enjoyed everything, we just wished we had more time at each location. It felt a little rushed at times, especially at breakfast.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Average trip. Volcano Poas was not visible at all and it not advisable to get this trip duirng raining season as the chance to see the volcano are practically non-existant. The trip to the waterfall was nice. Really interesting and plenty of things to see. Food was also good. The coffee tour was ok. Breakfast was nice but small portion. The guide was knowdgeble but it miss a real human contacts/touch. He seems that we were just numbers so he was giving the minimum info without adding any extra. Even when asking extra questions he was not passionate on his answer, neither on his job

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The volcano and waterfall hike was very nice, especially as we lucked out with the weather and was able to see a clear view of the craters. The coffee tour was way too long in my opinion - it took 3 hours of the tour, and it really could have been done in 20 minutes...so that was a bit frustrating as we were only given an hour at the volcano and 90 minutes at the waterfalls. I would have much rather have had more time at those places than the coffee plantation. Don't expect anything spectacular food wise - typical rice/bean fair and below average additions.

From USD $ 121.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message