4.5 star rating: Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

one of the best tours..have to bring some snacks though because breakfast is not much, but it all make up with the lunch buffet. Ricardo is a wonderful guide

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

It was a very nice tour. But we were not lucky with the weather, couldn't see the volcano at all...Beautiful waterfalls garden with great lunch and very interesting visit to the coffee plantation. Nice day, but not the great one. Thanks anyway!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour. It was raining all day, so couldn't see the volcano. La Paz was wonderful. Oliver was a great tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour and our tour guide was wonderful and very knowlegable.

NAZIR B
Trinidad and Tobago

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour was great and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excelente tour por la ciudad .Se la recomiendo a todos .

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very informative tour. If you could throw a zipline in there somewhere you would have the perfect tour. Anna Lucia, the tour guide, was great. Breakfast and Lunch were good.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Most interesting history of the City, probably because guide, Jason was so extremely knowledgeable. The big turn off was at end of tour when they brought us to a jewelry store to shop.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

perfect day trip for a little bit of everything. coffee plantation was interesting, poas volcano really neat and la paz waterfall / nature center was beautiful. with breakfast and lunch included it is a great value. the driver and guide were terriffic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

I got to see a lot around the Alajuela region. I don't know if this is "the best of Costa Rica." The meals were good as well. We were lucky to see most of the crater of the Poas volcano, but pay attention to the forecast before you book. We were lucky to finish La Paz before it started pouring down.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Very good tour - three sights you don't want to miss! Be prepared to meet lots of crowds at Volcan Poas, especially if you go on a weekend. I've been on both the Doka and Cafe Britt coffee tours, and I have to admit that the Cafe Britt one is much more entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The tour was very punctual, the sites visited were interesting and the tour guide was very informative. The coffee plantation and the volcano were my favorites. The waterfall site was a bit boring but not a big problem. The food there was very good, however.

E Y
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The best of all our Viator tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Very good, but we had a lot of rain at waterfalls just before lunch and the guide could have suggested to do lunch earlier and to visit the falls just after that. We would have avoided to get completed wet.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Some items seemed really rushed, but it was well worth the money and the time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

You couldn't see any of the volcano because of clouds but we still enjoyed the rest of the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

We really enjoyed everything, we just wished we had more time at each location. It felt a little rushed at times, especially at breakfast.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The volcano and waterfall hike was very nice, especially as we lucked out with the weather and was able to see a clear view of the craters. The coffee tour was way too long in my opinion - it took 3 hours of the tour, and it really could have been done in 20 minutes...so that was a bit frustrating as we were only given an hour at the volcano and 90 minutes at the waterfalls. I would have much rather have had more time at those places than the coffee plantation. Don't expect anything spectacular food wise - typical rice/bean fair and below average additions.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Tour was good but everyone should be advised to (or given) water to carry especially in the high altitude on the volcano!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

You need to let travelers know that tours in Costa Rica are not actually managed and conducted by Viator. Also, you need to provide a local phone number for Vator. Because the road near the La Paz waterfall had been damaged by last year's earthquake, we were not able to view it because it required climbing both down and up 350 steps plus back up a hill to the hotel where we were dropped off. As a result, we were not able to view one of the three primary features of the combo tour. I have been recommending Viator to others based on our experience with your tours in Portugal, but I was not pleased with this one in Costa Rica.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

In my opinon, this tour was way to expensive. In the morning, we went to the coffee tour, which was ok but the El Trapiche Tour in Monteverde was much better. Then, we went to the Poaz volcano. Unfortunately, it became cloudy when we arrived there, so we were not able to see the crater. The view of the second lagoon was nice. In my opinion, it would have been better to go first to the volcano and then to the coffee tour because the weather is much better in the morning. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfall garden. As soon as we arrived there, it started to rain. Torrential rain. Our guide decided to have our lunch first. This was delicous. In the afternooon, we walked through the zoo altough its was still raining. We rushed through all the different animal areas and had hardly no time to take picture from the animals. Anyhow, the cages were extremely small and I was just disappointed. The waterfalls were nice, but I could not really enjoy them because it was still raining very hard. I was really disappointed from this trip and it is really not weath the 100USD.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

We went on this day tour during our honeymoon. Our tour guide was not very friendly. We were told that we would stop at this little shop on the way to the waterfall from the volcano but because we had someone joining our tour late we did not have time to go anymore. I think that was very rude of them. It was not our fault that they allow people to join the tour late and that the person was waiting to get picked up. We all paid a lot of money and want to see and do everything we are told we will get to. We loved seeing the coffee estate, volcano and waterfall but tour guides can make or break a tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was mostly a waste of time and money. We went to the coffee plantation first for breakfast (didn't eat it) and a tour (not that fascinating). Then to the volcano. By the time we got to the volcano, it was fogged in. Since they know this happens, why not go to the volcano first. Actually just skip the coffee plantation. After, they take you to what is essentially a small zoo (call it what you want, animals in cages are in a zoo). The butterflies and hummingbirds are interesting, but some sort of identification and more info on each species would have really made a difference. Lunch was good - nothing to write home about - then the walk down to the waterfalls with absolutely no explanation of what we were seeing. There was a person on our tour who wanted to practice his Spanish. He really monopolized the entire day. People in the back of the bus could not hear a thing and what we did hear was really a mixture of Spanish and English. The tour guide really needed to try to exert some control. All in all I would not recommend this. I got a better view of the volcano from the air when we flew out of Costa Rica.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

We did not go on the tour as no one came to pick us up.

From USD $ 121.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message