• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Really enjoyed this.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed this tour. The pick up was prompt. We started the tour having breakfast at the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation for a light breakfast. The breakfast was a little under expectation but it sufficed. The tour of the plantation was nice. I liked the walk through of the coffee process, from seed to the shelf. Then we drove through the country side to our next destination. After our arrival, We then proceeded on a short hike to the Paos Volcano. Now the view of this natural spectacle left me speechless for a moment. I also enjoyed the volcanic lake located at a higher elevation. Be prepared, it is a real trek upward, but it is a beautiful walk through the cloud forest. Then we were off to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we enjoyed the breath taking waterfalls and the indigenous animals, butterflies, and birds of Costa Rica. The lunch/dinner was delicious and beyond expectation. Overall this tour was wonderful and a well spent day experiencing some of the best of CR.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My favorite tour! Of course we didn't see the volcano, but I didn't expect to. It's tough with all the clouds.

Be advised that ALL of the animals you will see are in a zoo/refuge center but it was very cool all the same. I just wish I would have known and that's why I gave it four stars instead of five. You get to take photos of you with the toucans, and I got a photo of a leopard yawning that was incredible.

Max was one of the best guides I've had--instead of speaking for 15 min in English and then 15 min in Spanish, he would go back and forth, paragraph by paragraph. I like that style of interpretation so you don't feel like you are missing something that was told in the other language.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was very well organised and did a lot in a day. Coffee Plantation trip far more enjoyable than I had expected. We actually got to see the volcano crater, which was fabulous. The trip to Le Paz was excellent, with lots to see and animals that appeared very well looked after. And we got to try strawberry wine and queso palmita on the way. All on all, a great day! Not cheap, but an easy way to see a lot easily.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great trip, knowledgeable guide, and wonderful sights. The food was excellent! However, as I was staying at the hotel that was the last stop for the morning pickup, the only remaining seat was in the cramped back seat of a microbus, and it was not a very comfortable ride. Otherwise it was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip. Our guides were excellent, the trip was timed well, and everything was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was well run, the guide was great, pretty good value. We went to the Doka coffee plantation first and had a good breakfast (typical local food). We went to the Poas volcano second, and it was all clouded in (we knew this was a possibility) so we couldn't see the crater at all, it was worth a try. Then we went to the La Paz waterfall gardens (included a good buffet lunch there). The butterfly and hummingbird gardens were great, the waterfalls were cool, the animal enclosures for the cats were a bit small and very zoo-like (it is obviously a successful business, so I would like to see them expand the habitats for the bigger animals).

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour. Good value for money. Would recommend it to anyone with limited time wanting variety.

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

one of the best tours..have to bring some snacks though because breakfast is not much, but it all make up with the lunch buffet. Ricardo is a wonderful guide

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

It was a very nice tour. But we were not lucky with the weather, couldn't see the volcano at all...Beautiful waterfalls garden with great lunch and very interesting visit to the coffee plantation. Nice day, but not the great one. Thanks anyway!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour. It was raining all day, so couldn't see the volcano. La Paz was wonderful. Oliver was a great tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour and our tour guide was wonderful and very knowlegable.

NAZIR B
Trinidad and Tobago

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour was great and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excelente tour por la ciudad .Se la recomiendo a todos .

From USD $ 104.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message