Viewing All 141 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Carole W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved the tour. We saw a lot in a short amount of time. Our guide was excellent and our driver did a spectacular job of driving, even when the roads to the falls were not in the best condition. Breakfast and lunch were both great. My friend had some mobility problems and our guide suggested a golf cart to take her back to the bus. This to me was up and above what was required. The only suggestion I would make is to warn people that the steps back from the falls are many and steep.

Brian F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The service was wonderful and the tour was great to do, especially if you want to see most of Costa Rica in one day.

Michael K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We were in a small bus which was good for the roads. Excellent guide, had good knowledge and a good attitude. The three main destinations are all good and the travel time between them not too long. It would be good if bottled water was included on the bus.

HINA K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I only had 1 day in San Jose and wanted to make the best of it. I think I chose the right company and the right tour! Our tour guides were very professional. One of the nice features was the guide had a microphone in the tour van and kept us entertained with interesting tidbits about the region. Coffee plantation was nice, the botanical gardens were the best and the highlight of the tour! Breakfast was good, lunch was OK. All in all, I would definitely recommend!

Richard K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great tour.

Orlinda C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Our guide was terrific! The trip was timed perfectly so we got to see the volcano. I have recommended this tour to family members. Incredible sights, knowledgeable staff and good food.

Angela W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Long but worth it! It was nice to see a variety of different parts to the Costa Rican culture. Translation was great.

Daniel A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

The best way to see a lot of Costa Rica. The waterfalls, butterflies, and coffee plantation were great. A nice introduction to Costa Rica!

Lynn G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

An exceptional experience and the best tour to take to get an overall view of what Costa Rica has to offer. However, tour was fast paced and somewhat strenuous from a physical standpoint lots and lots of steps to climb at the waterfalls and a good amount of uphill walking at the crater. It would have been helpful if this had been mentioned in the description. A good value with 2 meals included.

Tsipora C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Excellent tour! We especially enjoyed the La Paz waterfall and area around it, very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide, highly recommended!

Tania K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I only had one day to see Costa Rica before a conference. This tour was a fantastic way to see the best of Costa Rica in a day. Coffee plantations and volcanoes, birds and butterflies, waterfalls and wildlife.

Elizabeth M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very good way to see a bit of everything in Costa Rica. You get the coffee, volcano and wildlife all in a day!

Isabel D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very informative, and an excellent alternative to driving yourself to the tourist attractions we were able to visit all in one day.

Elisabeth L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Really enjoyed this.

Ann V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour very much - we were fortunate to have perfectly clear skies and beautiful weather! Terrific views of the volcano. Be prepared for many stairs at the waterfall gardens - wear comfortable shoes! A lovely setting. My only wish is that we had time to meander a bit more. I only had one day on a work related trip, so this tour provided the opportunity to squeeze in some exploration. Tour guide was attentive and friendly.

Neil F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The only thing keeping it from five stars was that the volcano was clouded in by the time we got there. From what I heard from locals, if we had stopped at the volcano before the coffee plantation, we had better chances of seeing it. That said, the tours were great, the food was good, and our tour guide Oliver was amazing.

Catherine Eng C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Three great attractions in one day trip: Doka coffee plantation tour with breakfast, Poas volcano, and La Paz Garden and waterfalls, lunch included Great value for the price. Tour descriptions says this is 8 hour tour, but should plan on 10-11 hrs from hotel pick up to hotel drop off.

Jay83

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Misty volcano, but beside all...excellent tour

Rob F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really good tour. The guide was amazing at speaking both English and Spanish, and had incredible coffee knowledge!

The volcano was spectacular, as was the Waterfall gardens. The coffee estate had amazing coffee ... as you would expect!

latra2020

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Comb tour is a great value for the money. Lots of amazing things to see. Very cloudy so don't expect this clear shot shown in the picture. Instead it was very cloudy. The waterfall was disappointing, it's brown water and not water or clear water. Though it was nice

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Max is an excellent guide, we were lucky to see the volcano in some breaks in the clouds. The animal displays at the Waterfall Park are very interesting.

Carrie N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. I really enjoyed covering 3 things in one day. The pace is good though and I never felt rushed. Our guide Max was fantastic and was very positive, knows a lot about Costa Rica, and was very organized and kept us on schedule. There were about 15-20 people on this tour plus a guide and a driver. The driver always stays with the car so you can feel secure about leaving extra items. Breakfast at the coffee plantation was delicious. The temp at the volcano was cold so bring a sweater. Our guide Max explained everything including history during the drive and then also gave us the tour at each facility including showing us how coffee was made at Doka. Lunch was delicious at the animal sanctuary too. This was a very serene day. Every path we walked was paved and it was not strenuous at all. There are a lot of steps at the waterfalls at the end but anyone with health concerns can just walk slow. There was also plenty of bathroom breaks at each location. I would definitely use this tour operator again.

Stephanie R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great trip. The guides were knowledgeable. The coffee plantation and the place with the waterfalls and animals were both very well maintained. The only downside was that I went during the rainy season and the craters were covered in clouds.

Plan to dress warmly. I had on shorts and a fleece jacket and was fine. Most people in my group had on pants, but I suspect they may have been a little warm when hiking to see the waterfalls. It's cool at the top of the mountain where you see the craters. I went in June.

Lane L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, well-paced tour of the Poas region. A must for anyone with just a single day in San Jose.

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Max, our guide, was funny and very knowledgeable. The tour was bilingual Spanish English and Max was good at maintaining a commentary in both languages, but it did make it harder for us take in the information. The coffee plantation gave us a good breakfast and the tour was very informative - well definitely avoid de-caf from now on. The visit to the volcano was disappointing because the clouds were down and we saw nothing of it, although the cloud forest was fascinating. The souvenir stop was not really necessary. The La Paz Waterfall Gardens was well organised, basically a mini zoo and some good waterfalls. The aviary was good and you can get your picture taken with a toucan. The hummingbirds were fantastic, especially because they were not in a cage, but just lured by the food. The buffet meal was excellent. The big cats section was a little uncomfortable, especially as one or two of the cats were exhibiting repetitive behaviour. The waterfall walk was accurately described and you can get close enough to get soaked if you so desire. It was a packed tour, but generally worth the effort.

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 125.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100FIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message