Insider's Guide to San Jose

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:4 hours (approx.)

San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Read what other travelers think about the San Jose City Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Very good.

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour was good on overall. We drove around the city and made several stops to see some things closer. I wish we'd have more stops to see more things. For those, who wants to see more I'd recommend walking tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The guide was wonderful but we had forgotten it would be done in several languages.....just two in our case. Everything else was fine.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

It was a good tour - glad we took it. Just disappointed that although we signed up for an English tour, the guide spoke half of it in Spanish. I don't blame him, he was trying to satisfy his spanish clients as well. Just wish it had been an English only tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

City tour was nice, pick up and drop off went on a little too long. We waited at one hotel for close to 30 minutes for a group of five to get to the bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

It's a good trip if you have 4 hours to spend and want to know some basic things about the City of San Jose, Costa Rica.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

The National Theater and Museum Tour were interesting. The tour seemed to criss-cross back and forth across the city (seeing the same surroundings 3 times). The last stop was at a jewelry shop which was not shown on the schedule, and we felt captive with the doors locked and a guard at the door. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The bus driver did not acknowledge anyone, or even look up when he was introduced.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2010

Was just OK. Rain did not make it any better. Leave off trip to jewelry store.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2010

A short but very effective way to get to know the capital of Costa Rica "San Jose". See the most known places with great tour guides. Great experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Good tour for overall San Jose with a friendly guide. In some areas we stopped too long and in others, not long enough.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Bus was late and we were waiting around for a long time to then be taken to a very big bus. Tour guide could not do anything as we had about 40-50 people to deal with instead of the normal small group. Not very informative. Did not like to be taken to a house at the end where they were trying to sell us jewelry.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was like Gilligan's Island: A five hour tour that should have been about three hours long. Between
San Jose traffic jams and picking up people at hotels most of the time was spent just driving around. Two stops were good (The Gold Museum and the Opera House) the others were not (the statue and the
tourist trap). Overall, I would suggest that people take a cab to the downtown area and do a walking tour
for a better experience of San Jose.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide was BAD and off the "cuff" with very little information or in-depth preparation. The emphasis was taking us to these out-of-the-way, no good places that had obviously paid to have tourists brought in. It wasn't a tour but a money making tourist trap at our expense. We lost three parties after the first stops and when they stopped and ushered us off at an empty hole-in-the-wall, the disgusted looks on the other tour patrons faces said it ALL!!! More left including me. I hailed a taxi and went back to my hotel.
I will never take a tour from Viator again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

Viator uses multiple local companies. I failed to reconfirm several days before with their the other company and missed the tour. The tour company claimed they contacted my hotel, which I had never received. They refused to refund. If you don't reconfirm every single different company several days before while you are traveling, you lose money(no refund by company policy)!

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 50.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4100CT


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message