• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sarapiqui Canopy and Rainforest Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

A little lower-rent than I expected, but very charming. The river is beautiful, with lots of great views of wildlife. The ziplines were fun, but I was hoping for something a little more "extreme". Horseback riding got rained out, but that didn't bother me, as the ride to the ziplines showed me the horses are trained to walk along and ignore all attempts to actually, you know, ride them - not much fun for anyone who's ever been on a horse more than once. Staff was great - knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. Wear clothes you don't care about, and bring raingear.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guides, activities, and food were superb. We were quite nervous about getting picked up at arranged hotel, especially when our info stated 8 hour tour started at 9am and when we called to confirm we were told we would be picked up at 11am. It worked out fine, but we were quite worried about it. We were glad we had a Spanish speaking person in our party to make the phone confirmation.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The zip line was a lot of fun. The boat ride was very interesting. We saw lots of wildlife.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

It was a great day with a wonderful guide. I felt completely safe and it wasn't nearly as scary as I thought. Everyone was really friendly. Bring bug spray.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The Sarapiqui trip was very good for ecological enjoyment. But the zip line ride got grease stains on my shirt and pants that I cannot get out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide (Victor) was very informative and helpful in ensuring that guests expectations were met. We saw much of the wildlife advertised and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. One word of caution is that the actual canopy tour is very physically challenging, requiring that high ladders be scaled to most of the zip line platforms.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour was good. The zip lining was good. The tour operator however cut corner without informing us. The horseback riding was replaced with the pickup truck ride to the platform. The hotel pick up was the worst as the driver zigzagged all over SJ hotels for no good reason.

miguel
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

we didnt see much animals when we were on the boat, the canopy zip lining was something

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The trip was not quite as described. The Cruise was 1 hr not 2. The canopy was 1 hr not 2. There were no horses to deliver one up to the first station which was only about a 3 meter climb which zipped you to a base from which you walked to a ladder which I was told was 17 metres high - I quit!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

We drove from Quepos to San Jose which made it a long day, 7am start and 11pm finish. While we enjoyed the trip we would not recommend this if you are not staying in or around San Jose. We found other great trips that were similar in and around Quepos that would have meant less travel and were just as good. Viator had no trips in that area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Overall, good tour, but felt rushed when eating meals. Just felt rushed altogether.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

A good tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

First of all, we weren't picked up until 10:30am and arrived back at our hotel after 8pm. We arrived at the rainforest around 1:30. We stepped off the bus right into a pile of fire ants.
They load us on the boat (what about lunch?) The boat ride was ok...we didn't really see a lot of wildlife...some monkeys, a few crocs, a bird and some bats.
Once we got to the canopy area, they hurried us off to canopy with no lunch. It's now probably 3:00 and I'm super starved. By the way, there isn't a hike or Canopy was a ton of fun and a nice distraction from being so hungry. The guides operated very safely and had fun with it. I felt like it offered the right amount of platforms at varying heights. A couple notes: it's very humid, so dress cool. Also, if you go first, you get back to the food faster!
After canopy, we finally got our lunch (it's now probably 4 or 4:30). It wasn't much food, so I was still left hungry. At least there was cold beer for purchase!
A quick boat ride back to a 2.5 hour bus ride to our hotel. One big disappointment is that the guide didn't talk much about the country on the long bus rides. Would have been nice, esp. the ride back since it was after dark and we couldn't do anything else (no lights to read by).

From USD $ 94.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 8+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3171SJO_SCR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message