4 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I would not only recommend this tour, I would DEFINITELY DO THIS TOUR AGAIN! It was absolutely breathtaking. The guides were very informative and you could tell they all loved their jobs and sharing their love and knowledge for the bioluminescent bay and it's eco-system. Thank you so much for this life long memory!!! Tony and Sue (Buffalo, NY)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We enjoyed this very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This tour was so much fun. it was a lot of work kayaking to the lagoon but it was worth it. The water lit up each time something made contact with it. Truly remarkable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Amazing! I will recommend this to everyone. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

the bioluminescent kayak is really fun! I think it was the highlight of my trip. It was so fun that even the moon was kind of bright that we need to see the glow in shadows, i still had so much fun kayaking. Although someone should have warned me that I would get wet so be sure to bring change of clothes!! (you can leave them on the bus, the driver will be with his/her bus the whole time)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The bio- kayak tour was...DA BOMB!!! No lie. Stating that the whole experience was magical would be a gross understatement. The weather was perfect. Clear night sky so every star shone brightly...was even privy to seeing some constellations! Half-moon was out...perfection! I was paired up with another solo tourist, and we had some challenges working in sync but fun nonetheless. Stick your hand in the water and the plankton glow as if on command. I could have spent the rest of my evening there just chillin...a must do! (Oh, and the staff were EXCELLENT!!!!) They all deserved a much larger tip than I gave them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

It was real nice and very cool everyone should should go do this adventure 5 out of 5 stars but bring a change of clothes and a towel for the ones that don't read the brouchure LoL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Fun tour, staff and guides were great, bio-bay is a must see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Awesome tour, I highly recommend, tour guides were outstanding and full of information and a lot of fun. Was a little concerned before the tour that we might be in over our head since we are not in great shape but that was not an issue at all, we made it without a problem and didn't feel the pain later either. The shuttle driver was also very nice and gave us a tour of Puerto Rico on the way to our tour. We stayed in Old San Juan and the shuttle ride was just about an hour in each direction but had a great driver. I highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Although it was a long drive with all the pickup stops it was something to see if your visiting Puerto Rico. It's extremely dark when you head out which lets you see the water glowing when you touch it nice and bright. Anthony and Angel were great guides while out in the water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was excellent. It was educational, relaxing, enjoyable, and fun. It was one of the best I have been on in my travel and value received.. And, will definitely recommend to others and repeat. Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a MUST do activity during our stay in San Juan. Such a cool experience and the guides and travel service both were very organized and informative. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was a once in a lifetime experience! The tour guides we had through Kayak Puerto Rico were great and made you feel at ease about kayaking. Again, worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A blast,, they made it lots of fun Manny our guide was a great guy..It was my first time kayaking and had no trouble at all keeping up..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

great fun for my family and I. had a great guide named Anthony . Advised to go on early trip (4:00). Because could see beauty of nature as kayaking to bay. good advice and great trip. Well organized. Good to and from hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This was a great trip and unique experience. Guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Some first time kayakers had problems but the guides towed them. I'd do it again, just wish I could have stayed on the lagoon longer!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great experience. Highly recommended

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The people who work here, i think love their jobs and it showed. They really made sure people could navigate back in the dark and were very helpful

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A great experience.
Best to go when there is no full moon.
The darker it is, the better.
We went the day after a full moon and they used a tarp over us to make it darker so we could see the bio-luminescence.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a very unique experience and I do recommend. I also highly recommend applying a lot of bug spray!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This trip was a great way to add some activity into sight seeing. The bio-luminescence was beautiful and it was pretty cool to see a fish jump out of the water a couple times. The bay itself wasn't even the highlight, it was more the canal leading there (as it's darker). The reason it doesn't get a 5 is that there are multiple tours and it can be a little crowded and hectic, especially when groups aren't controlling the kayak well, however the guides do try to help out. There were plenty of food options including pinchos, soup, and sandwiches, as well as local souvenirs being sold in the park before you begin so don't stress about food too much like I did. It's cheap and good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Instructors were very knowledgeable and it's very cool to see the dinoflagellates. If you've never kayaked before like me, it was definitely a workout. We went through a mangrove lagoon and there were tons of bugs so make sure to wear lots and lots of bug spray. The instructions told me it wasn't allowed but they let us spray ourselves once we got there. We didn't bring our camera because the instructors take pictures which they post on their Facebook page and website. Also, we went on a busy night where there were a lot of other kayaking groups so there were a lot of collisions in the dark in the lagoon which got hectic. Overall, it was very unique experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We loved it! The kayak experience was amazing and the guides were informative and fun. One suggestion for improvement would be that your drivers to and from the kayak site speak English and give some info about Puerto Rico along the long drive. Our driver couldn't even answer a question about our kayak site. We were all lost in translation, so to speak.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My son and husband took this tour- found it to be fascinating and unique. The guide was very good and the pick up at the hotel (la Concha) was timely.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great experience. Wish they could give more specific instructions regarding what to expect, what to wear, and what should we bring.

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message