4 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was excellent. It was educational, relaxing, enjoyable, and fun. It was one of the best I have been on in my travel and value received.. And, will definitely recommend to others and repeat. Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a MUST do activity during our stay in San Juan. Such a cool experience and the guides and travel service both were very organized and informative. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was a once in a lifetime experience! The tour guides we had through Kayak Puerto Rico were great and made you feel at ease about kayaking. Again, worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A blast,, they made it lots of fun Manny our guide was a great guy..It was my first time kayaking and had no trouble at all keeping up..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

great fun for my family and I. had a great guide named Anthony . Advised to go on early trip (4:00). Because could see beauty of nature as kayaking to bay. good advice and great trip. Well organized. Good to and from hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This was a great trip and unique experience. Guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Some first time kayakers had problems but the guides towed them. I'd do it again, just wish I could have stayed on the lagoon longer!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great experience. Highly recommended

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a very unique experience and I do recommend. I also highly recommend applying a lot of bug spray!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This trip was a great way to add some activity into sight seeing. The bio-luminescence was beautiful and it was pretty cool to see a fish jump out of the water a couple times. The bay itself wasn't even the highlight, it was more the canal leading there (as it's darker). The reason it doesn't get a 5 is that there are multiple tours and it can be a little crowded and hectic, especially when groups aren't controlling the kayak well, however the guides do try to help out. There were plenty of food options including pinchos, soup, and sandwiches, as well as local souvenirs being sold in the park before you begin so don't stress about food too much like I did. It's cheap and good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Instructors were very knowledgeable and it's very cool to see the dinoflagellates. If you've never kayaked before like me, it was definitely a workout. We went through a mangrove lagoon and there were tons of bugs so make sure to wear lots and lots of bug spray. The instructions told me it wasn't allowed but they let us spray ourselves once we got there. We didn't bring our camera because the instructors take pictures which they post on their Facebook page and website. Also, we went on a busy night where there were a lot of other kayaking groups so there were a lot of collisions in the dark in the lagoon which got hectic. Overall, it was very unique experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We loved it! The kayak experience was amazing and the guides were informative and fun. One suggestion for improvement would be that your drivers to and from the kayak site speak English and give some info about Puerto Rico along the long drive. Our driver couldn't even answer a question about our kayak site. We were all lost in translation, so to speak.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My son and husband took this tour- found it to be fascinating and unique. The guide was very good and the pick up at the hotel (la Concha) was timely.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great experience. Wish they could give more specific instructions regarding what to expect, what to wear, and what should we bring.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time. It was quite an exciting trip! There was a little wait as we gathered to sign in. The kayaking instruction was good. Going through the mangrove-covered passageway was a little scarey. It was pitch black with some branches hanging out over the water. The guides had glow sticks on their kayaks as we all did. From time to tme one of the guides would shine a spotlight to help us see. We passed several kayaking groups returning from the lake. They passed close to us traveling at a fast pace. It was easy kayaking- just stay to the right! On our way back some local kayakers came barreling through in the dark and yelling. We didn't know what was going on until they were beside us! We all made it back safely, but that was the most scarey part. The guides gave us no warning! That's the reason that I'm giving this a 4 star rating. The bioluminescent organisms were silvery and pretty. Other places may have more colorful bioluminescence, but this was a nice place to visit. We had fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fascinating tour. There was just too many people kayaking in the dark and that makes for a crazy adventure .

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message