• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 71 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 71 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was pretty tough to row all the way to the biobay. Be very careful on your way back since it's pitch dark it's hard to steer in the correct direction. We crashed more than a few times.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good but be prepared to kayak a fair bit!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Interesting if you have never been kayaking before. It is kind of scary being out there in the complete dark. You have to navigate some very narrow DARK waters. I wish the kayaking could be longer. The "Bioluminescent" that they are referring to (I'll let you take the tour so I wont ruin it) is sort of interesting. Wish the kayaking was longer, you are only in the water for maybe an hour and a half.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Had a great time -- theguies were very knowledgable as we kayaked through the dark of night! Quite an adventure! The bathrooms to get changed in before/after leave a bit to be desired, but the ttour itself was awesome!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip! Well worth the time, money and energy! The guides were knowledgeable and truly excited to share their wealth of experience with all of us.
My only suggestion would be to split up the large group into 4 smaller groups of 4 or 5 kayaks once the bay is reached, so all can gain the input and knowledge, from stars to history, of the guides.

EXCELLENT and FUN!!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This tour was unique. I did however think we would see more of the water life than we did. I would recommend this to someone that has some kayak experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Very dangerous kayaking in the dark river without any lights. I was surprised that there were no accidents that night. The people including me and my wife were hitting low tree branches and other kayaks in the complete dark. The company made a pictures while we were kyaking and told us that the pictures will be available on their website, but there is no pictures that I can see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Worth seeing!! I never saw anything like it before!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was a great tour to the bioluminescent lagoon. We were picked up at our hotel and the driver was great! The kayak lessons worked because we had a nice trip into the lagoon. The rating would be higher if I based it just on the experience of what the tour provides, but a huge drawback was the drunk groom to be and his drunk bachelor party friends that were on this tour. I wish the managment would not have let them go on this tour because they kept crashing into our kayak and were loud and obnoxious. It would have been a lot more enjoyable without them, I feel cheated from how peaceful it could/should have been.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Even though we choose a very dark night, less than 1/4 moon, the bioluminesencts was less than spectacular. Our guides rushed us through, last in and first out. Do NOT exspect to see anything like the on line pictures, they are inhanced / time lapsed photography.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

It is worth doing because it is good exercise and a new experience, the water DOES NOT glow. The guide was busy picking up on young girls instead of guiding. You can hit your face on branches because it is dark and no one warns you. Our blinker light was broken so people kept crashing into us. so so

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Ok guides and drivers not very welcoming or communicative

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The trip itself was great. We had trouble getting a ride to the place. We thought we had a ride because through the booking it said we did, but we had to jump through hoops and ladders to get it. Several emails and phone calls later we got our ride and made it. The kayaking is fantastic. A truly once in a lifetime experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The adventure was awesome the arrangements through Viatour not so good

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

We would give this a much higher review, except for the initial information we received about this trip. It is a fairly strenuous journey, including a half hour of kayaking down a canal to the bay, paddling around the bay, and then a half hour back. If you are a senior, or not used to exercise, and never kayaked before, this trip might not be for you. We are pretty fit and in good health. When we asked about the trip, we were told it would be no problem--"people of all ages do it every day". If Miguel, our wonderful and helpful guide, had not attached our kayak to his and helped us along, we would probably still be out there. Also, there are a good number of tours going on at the same time, and a large group came around the corner of the canal too quickly and we had a rather large pileup . However, having said all that, if you are up to the physical challenge, it is a great trip. It was very dark the night we went, and the bioluminescence is a really phenomenal sight. The guides were all helpful and informative. The water is calm, and pretty warm. It is quite beautiful. Snacks and water were provided upon return.

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message