4 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

The tour started off well, but Mother Nature decided that she wanted to send down torrential rain. Disappointed that I have no pictures to show because this was my first kayak adventure.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great experience and loads of fun. Kayaking into the mangrove swamp at night is very eerie and a one off adventure.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour staff. Made sure everyone was taken care and not left behind.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great excursion!! Leaders were great. We had a blast paddling in the dark!! The only disappointment was that the website said you got to swim in the bay to only find out it's not permmitable and hasn't been for several years.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Unfortunately is was quite bright during the trip due to the half moon and less clouds. This made it easier to paddle through the mangroves but the illumination was not as good as it could be although the crew had a trap to see the illumination beter. I recommend going there by new moon.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was pretty tough to row all the way to the biobay. Be very careful on your way back since it's pitch dark it's hard to steer in the correct direction. We crashed more than a few times.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good but be prepared to kayak a fair bit!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Interesting if you have never been kayaking before. It is kind of scary being out there in the complete dark. You have to navigate some very narrow DARK waters. I wish the kayaking could be longer. The "Bioluminescent" that they are referring to (I'll let you take the tour so I wont ruin it) is sort of interesting. Wish the kayaking was longer, you are only in the water for maybe an hour and a half.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Had a great time -- theguies were very knowledgable as we kayaked through the dark of night! Quite an adventure! The bathrooms to get changed in before/after leave a bit to be desired, but the ttour itself was awesome!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip! Well worth the time, money and energy! The guides were knowledgeable and truly excited to share their wealth of experience with all of us.
My only suggestion would be to split up the large group into 4 smaller groups of 4 or 5 kayaks once the bay is reached, so all can gain the input and knowledge, from stars to history, of the guides.

EXCELLENT and FUN!!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was an interesting experience. The driver was not at all engaging. Maybe that wasn't his job, but as the person we spent the most 1 on 1 time with, he would have done your company a lot of good if he had some personality or had at least introduced himself.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This tour was unique. I did however think we would see more of the water life than we did. I would recommend this to someone that has some kayak experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Very dangerous kayaking in the dark river without any lights. I was surprised that there were no accidents that night. The people including me and my wife were hitting low tree branches and other kayaks in the complete dark. The company made a pictures while we were kyaking and told us that the pictures will be available on their website, but there is no pictures that I can see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Worth seeing!! I never saw anything like it before!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was a great tour to the bioluminescent lagoon. We were picked up at our hotel and the driver was great! The kayak lessons worked because we had a nice trip into the lagoon. The rating would be higher if I based it just on the experience of what the tour provides, but a huge drawback was the drunk groom to be and his drunk bachelor party friends that were on this tour. I wish the managment would not have let them go on this tour because they kept crashing into our kayak and were loud and obnoxious. It would have been a lot more enjoyable without them, I feel cheated from how peaceful it could/should have been.

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message