4 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

We would give this a much higher review, except for the initial information we received about this trip. It is a fairly strenuous journey, including a half hour of kayaking down a canal to the bay, paddling around the bay, and then a half hour back. If you are a senior, or not used to exercise, and never kayaked before, this trip might not be for you. We are pretty fit and in good health. When we asked about the trip, we were told it would be no problem--"people of all ages do it every day". If Miguel, our wonderful and helpful guide, had not attached our kayak to his and helped us along, we would probably still be out there. Also, there are a good number of tours going on at the same time, and a large group came around the corner of the canal too quickly and we had a rather large pileup . However, having said all that, if you are up to the physical challenge, it is a great trip. It was very dark the night we went, and the bioluminescence is a really phenomenal sight. The guides were all helpful and informative. The water is calm, and pretty warm. It is quite beautiful. Snacks and water were provided upon return.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Not very good. Very long bus ride to get there from San Juan. Not very impressive once we got there Could only see a slight bit of illumination from the algae. Big let down from the anticipation before we went

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I did not see any bioluminescent at all!!!! I ask around and seems like no one saw it either. The crew was very helpful when we keep crashing into the branches. Very physical workout kayaking. Did not enjoy it. I should have took the electric boat ride instead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This was kind of a let down. It was a very long van ride to the bay, which on this particular night had NO bioluminescence. It was 100% underwhelming. The guides were boring and could not successfully teach all the participants to kayak.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Just ok, Kayak out to the bay was fun a bit tricky in the dark. Very disappointed in the actual time spent in the bay seeing the Bioluminescent. It was literally splash your paddle around for a minute and then we have to head back. Probably would not recommend this to anyone

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Didn't see much bioluminescence, the trip back across the bay seemed a bit treacherous given the wind and the need to navigate around the many boats docked there. The kayaks were not the greatest - I found it difficult to stay in a good rowing position given the back support provided. The crew were, for the most part polite, but seemed a bit bored. I had hoped for a bit more interesting visual stuff to make the considerable work required to kayak worth it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This activity was really interesting. We were so excited to see glowing fish, sea life and kayak. The trip to the lagoon whas hard because there were lots of tree roots and it was pitch black. The lagoon itself was disappointing because there were no glowing sea life and to see anything glow you had to move your hand to stimulate the algae. It was okay just disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Merry go round of tour operators. So I booked through Viator. They sent me contact information for a tour company. I called the tour company and confirmed the date and time of the tour and time of pickup from my hotel. The day of the tour, I was called by the same company two hours before my pickup time and was asked why I wasn't outside my hotel waiting for transportation to pick me up because they were waiting on me. The actual company that picked me up and ran the tour was a comepletely SEPARATE company from who I'd been talking to on the phone. The drive to the bay took approxiamtely 1 1/2 -2 hours. Once at the "bay" it was a cluster of at least 200 people on kayaks among four or five different tour companys. The paddle out to the bio bay, through a small canal, took 45 minutes. Once at the bay we only had MAX 20 minutes to wait for the sun to go down enough to actually see the biolumeniscenc and play in it. Then it was time for the cluster to head back to the canal (in the complete darkness!). people were running into other people left and right. It was a waste of my time and money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

First of all the driver that pick us up was rude and drove too fast and aggressively . I was disappointed to find we could not swim. I heard the other tours offered a better experience. They used a tarp to provide better viewing. They spent more time in the lagoon.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Because they run two tours a night, we got to spend very little time out in the bio bay - perhaps a total of ten minutes of so. would have liked to spend more time out there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Over rated - it was fun and all, but thought there would be more luminescent features.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

I guess I did not exactly know what to expect on this tour. Certainly I expected to get a little wet, but I did not expect the entire floor of our kayak to be covered in water. I guess I did not expect to be paddling through a mangrove forest in the pitch dark, smashing into trees and roots without warning. But I really thought that the destination would make it all worth the trip. So, when I expectantly placed my hand in the water, I thought MAGIC would happen. Instead, I saw a little glow around it. Perhaps I should have found this amazing, but instead I was very disappointed. And then once again, plunging into the trees before landing back at an absolutely filthy bathroom, with no facilities for changing clothes - we ended up stripping down and changing in the open, rather than to venture inside. Our guides were competent and helpful, but I would have hoped for more for the cost of this adventure.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Bus driver was non communicative. I have never been on a tour where the driver had zero interaction with the participants. There were too many kayaks for 3 tour guides to handle. The cement entry to the lagoon was covered with junk that was washed up at high tid.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

This was not what I expected. Kayaking in the dark was not a pleasant experience. The Bioluminescent area was not so luminesent. I was sadly disappointed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Biluminus Bay excursion was extremely over booked to many people in each group and too many people combined. I assume each set of tour guides are trying to run numerous groups per night. The reason for my assumption and extrem displeasure is they went out too early let us stay till it had just gotten dark and then headed out. We were in the Bay Area/area that glowers, only once it is dark, about 10 minutes. I feel it would have been worth the money if we would have been able to stay at least 30 minutes in the Bay Area AFTER it was dark. We had been on a cruise the week prior and this was the one excursion I was looking forward to the most. I am sorry to tell you this excursion was the biggest disappointment of my trip. Wast of money. Please consider rectifying the over booking this is a once in a lifetime opportunity for some people and could be a wonderful experience if it was not rushed and over crowded. There were others that were making the same comments. If you need to make more money increase your rates and lessen the number of people each night. When people are unsatisfied they are unwilling to tip as well.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The horrific odor in the mangrove area and then the drive out was nauseating. OK if you want a good workout paddling a kayak but otherwise an underwhelming experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

A group of 14 kayaks had 2 leaders which we had to follow in pitch darkness apart from a purple neon ring on both ends of the kayak.no torches no lights.the narrow dark canal we had to go through to arrive to the actual lake was full of mangroves and branches coming out..this was very dangerous as the kayaks keep going straight in them as we had no coordination as there was no light.Not to mention other groups of kayaks(about 50 kayaks) getting there too and coming back! We were really lucky that we were not seriously injured..this would have been much more organised if we were provided with a head lamp at least!I don't recommend it,not even to my worst enemy!And it is nothing even close to what you see on the posters or in the Internet!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

We never received confirmation of time of tour. I called Viator, no response and was forced to call the tour company itself. Viator fills "phantom spots", and overbooked I was told, they were sold out, yet I was still charged the $97. We never went. Had to File a fraudulent claim with my bank.

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message