Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Terri J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Enjoyed the trip- the funniest part was kayaking through the mangrove trees at night - running into them, running into other kayaks, etc. We laughed and laughed and laughed. I think I may have had a different expectation as to what I was going to see when I got to the lagoon. I thought the whole lagoon was going to light up - not just when you put your paddle in. All in all, a good time.

Thomas G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was an interesting experience. The driver was not at all engaging. Maybe that wasn't his job, but as the person we spent the most 1 on 1 time with, he would have done your company a lot of good if he had some personality or had at least introduced himself.

Lynette C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This tour was unique. I did however think we would see more of the water life than we did. I would recommend this to someone that has some kayak experience.

shura USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Very dangerous kayaking in the dark river without any lights. I was surprised that there were no accidents that night. The people including me and my wife were hitting low tree branches and other kayaks in the complete dark. The company made a pictures while we were kyaking and told us that the pictures will be available on their website, but there is no pictures that I can see.

Sarah C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Worth seeing!! I never saw anything like it before!

AL

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was a great tour to the bioluminescent lagoon. We were picked up at our hotel and the driver was great! The kayak lessons worked because we had a nice trip into the lagoon. The rating would be higher if I based it just on the experience of what the tour provides, but a huge drawback was the drunk groom to be and his drunk bachelor party friends that were on this tour. I wish the managment would not have let them go on this tour because they kept crashing into our kayak and were loud and obnoxious. It would have been a lot more enjoyable without them, I feel cheated from how peaceful it could/should have been.

Mark C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Even though we choose a very dark night, less than 1/4 moon, the bioluminesencts was less than spectacular. Our guides rushed us through, last in and first out. Do NOT exspect to see anything like the on line pictures, they are inhanced / time lapsed photography.

Dean C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

It is worth doing because it is good exercise and a new experience, the water DOES NOT glow. The guide was busy picking up on young girls instead of guiding. You can hit your face on branches because it is dark and no one warns you. Our blinker light was broken so people kept crashing into us. so so

ANDREA Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Ok guides and drivers not very welcoming or communicative

Travis Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The trip itself was great. We had trouble getting a ride to the place. We thought we had a ride because through the booking it said we did, but we had to jump through hoops and ladders to get it. Several emails and phone calls later we got our ride and made it. The kayaking is fantastic. A truly once in a lifetime experience.

Scherry M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The adventure was awesome the arrangements through Viatour not so good

Barbara A

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

We would give this a much higher review, except for the initial information we received about this trip. It is a fairly strenuous journey, including a half hour of kayaking down a canal to the bay, paddling around the bay, and then a half hour back. If you are a senior, or not used to exercise, and never kayaked before, this trip might not be for you. We are pretty fit and in good health. When we asked about the trip, we were told it would be no problem--"people of all ages do it every day". If Miguel, our wonderful and helpful guide, had not attached our kayak to his and helped us along, we would probably still be out there. Also, there are a good number of tours going on at the same time, and a large group came around the corner of the canal too quickly and we had a rather large pileup . However, having said all that, if you are up to the physical challenge, it is a great trip. It was very dark the night we went, and the bioluminescence is a really phenomenal sight. The guides were all helpful and informative. The water is calm, and pretty warm. It is quite beautiful. Snacks and water were provided upon return.

Marianne W Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Not very good. Very long bus ride to get there from San Juan. Not very impressive once we got there Could only see a slight bit of illumination from the algae. Big let down from the anticipation before we went

Donna T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I did not see any bioluminescent at all!!!! I ask around and seems like no one saw it either. The crew was very helpful when we keep crashing into the branches. Very physical workout kayaking. Did not enjoy it. I should have took the electric boat ride instead.

Robert A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Ellen L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This was kind of a let down. It was a very long van ride to the bay, which on this particular night had NO bioluminescence. It was 100% underwhelming. The guides were boring and could not successfully teach all the participants to kayak.

Benjamin P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Just ok, Kayak out to the bay was fun a bit tricky in the dark. Very disappointed in the actual time spent in the bay seeing the Bioluminescent. It was literally splash your paddle around for a minute and then we have to head back. Probably would not recommend this to anyone

John M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Didn't see much bioluminescence, the trip back across the bay seemed a bit treacherous given the wind and the need to navigate around the many boats docked there. The kayaks were not the greatest - I found it difficult to stay in a good rowing position given the back support provided. The crew were, for the most part polite, but seemed a bit bored. I had hoped for a bit more interesting visual stuff to make the considerable work required to kayak worth it.

Katelyn S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This activity was really interesting. We were so excited to see glowing fish, sea life and kayak. The trip to the lagoon whas hard because there were lots of tree roots and it was pitch black. The lagoon itself was disappointing because there were no glowing sea life and to see anything glow you had to move your hand to stimulate the algae. It was okay just disappointing.

Heidi S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Merry go round of tour operators. So I booked through Viator. They sent me contact information for a tour company. I called the tour company and confirmed the date and time of the tour and time of pickup from my hotel. The day of the tour, I was called by the same company two hours before my pickup time and was asked why I wasn't outside my hotel waiting for transportation to pick me up because they were waiting on me. The actual company that picked me up and ran the tour was a comepletely SEPARATE company from who I'd been talking to on the phone. The drive to the bay took approxiamtely 1 1/2 -2 hours. Once at the "bay" it was a cluster of at least 200 people on kayaks among four or five different tour companys. The paddle out to the bio bay, through a small canal, took 45 minutes. Once at the bay we only had MAX 20 minutes to wait for the sun to go down enough to actually see the biolumeniscenc and play in it. Then it was time for the cluster to head back to the canal (in the complete darkness!). people were running into other people left and right. It was a waste of my time and money.

Anne N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

First of all the driver that pick us up was rude and drove too fast and aggressively . I was disappointed to find we could not swim. I heard the other tours offered a better experience. They used a tarp to provide better viewing. They spent more time in the lagoon.

Nao V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Because they run two tours a night, we got to spend very little time out in the bio bay - perhaps a total of ten minutes of so. would have liked to spend more time out there.

Dixie W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Over rated - it was fun and all, but thought there would be more luminescent features.

Lawrence S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

I guess I did not exactly know what to expect on this tour. Certainly I expected to get a little wet, but I did not expect the entire floor of our kayak to be covered in water. I guess I did not expect to be paddling through a mangrove forest in the pitch dark, smashing into trees and roots without warning. But I really thought that the destination would make it all worth the trip. So, when I expectantly placed my hand in the water, I thought MAGIC would happen. Instead, I saw a little glow around it. Perhaps I should have found this amazing, but instead I was very disappointed. And then once again, plunging into the trees before landing back at an absolutely filthy bathroom, with no facilities for changing clothes - we ended up stripping down and changing in the open, rather than to venture inside. Our guides were competent and helpful, but I would have hoped for more for the cost of this adventure.

Carwen M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Bus driver was non communicative. I have never been on a tour where the driver had zero interaction with the participants. There were too many kayaks for 3 tour guides to handle. The cement entry to the lagoon was covered with junk that was washed up at high tid.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 105.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message