4 star rating: Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Instructors were very knowledgeable and it's very cool to see the dinoflagellates. If you've never kayaked before like me, it was definitely a workout. We went through a mangrove lagoon and there were tons of bugs so make sure to wear lots and lots of bug spray. The instructions told me it wasn't allowed but they let us spray ourselves once we got there. We didn't bring our camera because the instructors take pictures which they post on their Facebook page and website. Also, we went on a busy night where there were a lot of other kayaking groups so there were a lot of collisions in the dark in the lagoon which got hectic. Overall, it was very unique experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We loved it! The kayak experience was amazing and the guides were informative and fun. One suggestion for improvement would be that your drivers to and from the kayak site speak English and give some info about Puerto Rico along the long drive. Our driver couldn't even answer a question about our kayak site. We were all lost in translation, so to speak.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My son and husband took this tour- found it to be fascinating and unique. The guide was very good and the pick up at the hotel (la Concha) was timely.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great experience. Wish they could give more specific instructions regarding what to expect, what to wear, and what should we bring.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time. It was quite an exciting trip! There was a little wait as we gathered to sign in. The kayaking instruction was good. Going through the mangrove-covered passageway was a little scarey. It was pitch black with some branches hanging out over the water. The guides had glow sticks on their kayaks as we all did. From time to tme one of the guides would shine a spotlight to help us see. We passed several kayaking groups returning from the lake. They passed close to us traveling at a fast pace. It was easy kayaking- just stay to the right! On our way back some local kayakers came barreling through in the dark and yelling. We didn't know what was going on until they were beside us! We all made it back safely, but that was the most scarey part. The guides gave us no warning! That's the reason that I'm giving this a 4 star rating. The bioluminescent organisms were silvery and pretty. Other places may have more colorful bioluminescence, but this was a nice place to visit. We had fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fascinating tour. There was just too many people kayaking in the dark and that makes for a crazy adventure .

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

The tour started off well, but Mother Nature decided that she wanted to send down torrential rain. Disappointed that I have no pictures to show because this was my first kayak adventure.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great experience and loads of fun. Kayaking into the mangrove swamp at night is very eerie and a one off adventure.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour staff. Made sure everyone was taken care and not left behind.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great excursion!! Leaders were great. We had a blast paddling in the dark!! The only disappointment was that the website said you got to swim in the bay to only find out it's not permmitable and hasn't been for several years.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Unfortunately is was quite bright during the trip due to the half moon and less clouds. This made it easier to paddle through the mangroves but the illumination was not as good as it could be although the crew had a trap to see the illumination beter. I recommend going there by new moon.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was pretty tough to row all the way to the biobay. Be very careful on your way back since it's pitch dark it's hard to steer in the correct direction. We crashed more than a few times.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good but be prepared to kayak a fair bit!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Interesting if you have never been kayaking before. It is kind of scary being out there in the complete dark. You have to navigate some very narrow DARK waters. I wish the kayaking could be longer. The "Bioluminescent" that they are referring to (I'll let you take the tour so I wont ruin it) is sort of interesting. Wish the kayaking was longer, you are only in the water for maybe an hour and a half.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Had a great time -- theguies were very knowledgable as we kayaked through the dark of night! Quite an adventure! The bathrooms to get changed in before/after leave a bit to be desired, but the ttour itself was awesome!

From USD $ 97.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5229BKA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message