4.5 star rating: Recommended 506 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 506 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver/ tour guide Tony Caliz was very well informed about El Yunque (and actually lives in that area). He was charming, patient, and he seemed to have an inside track on the conditions involving the large numbers of tourists heading for El Yunque. We managed to stay ahead of the crowd, and we were able to leave the park just before a massive traffic halt caused by a serious injury to a tourist heading for waterfalls that Tony warned us were on a very steep path. I felt that he kept us safe and showed us fascinating things. We saw tiny things like snails and distant things like a tall tower far away that we had to stand up on a specific step to view. We were informed about the recent mud slides and could see the way roads had been damaged. We even saw claw marks from the legendary Chupa Cabara "monster."
El Yunque was what I had hoped for. I actually thought we would get wet in a waterfall, but after hearing about the injured tourist (and seeing the ambulance rushing to assist her) I did not mind at all that we only viewed a waterfall at a distance. I loved our hike through some of the woods. I took at least 100 photos. We climbed the Yokahu Tower to observe things at a good vantage point. We had time to purchase souvenirs.
On the way home (again, opposite the massive traffic jam), we even had time to stop for some truly delicious local foods!!! Everyone in our tour group seemed very happy with the tour, and those of us who ate the yummy food really appreciated the opportunity to sample inexpensive and truly delicious food where local residents lined up to join us in the deliciousness.
I had wished to take the full-day tour, but if I had done so, I would have been trapped there for much longer than anticipated (because of the medical emergency). I would like to visit El Yunque again, ideally when fewer tourists are there! Given the high volume of tourists, I think we had the best tour possible! I loved Tony Caliz!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very nice and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Tony was absolutely AMAZING!!!! Extremely knowledgeable, personable, and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour was amazing. We got to spend time at a private waterfall. Our tour guide was amazing and really knew the island. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tony, our guide, was great. He grew up in or near the rain forest, so he was very knowledgeable about the area. There were a lot of beautiful views and sites to see. We made several stops at scenic overlooks and took a short hike of easy difficulty on one stop. I would have liked to have gone to the big water falls, but the trail to get there is treacherous according to Tony and my wife has bad knees. So, this tour was a great compromise for those with limited mobility.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was willing to explain all the ancient history and gave us extra time to explore. Sammy had a great sense of humor and made my experience wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! We took the half day tour to El Yunque. It was so beautiful. And the best part was our tour guide Richard! This guy was so very knowledgeable and personable. He was so funny and made the trip so wonderful!! Good job Richard!! He gave us a lot of information about the island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent - in particular our tourguide (Javier) was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing El Yunque.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour! The bus was spacious and comfortable. Our guide, Sammy, was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of Puerto Rico, and especially about El Yuque, the rain forest. Who knew that such a beautiful place existed?? It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Sammy pointed out so many beautiful plants and flowers. He also gave us plenty of time for making photos of the vistas and waterfalls and for exploring the trails, while keeping us on schedule to complete the tour on time. There is such a variety of geography, climate, plant and animal life. I would love to go back and spend the entire day. They have shelters where local people were cooking out, swimming, and just spending the day enjoying the beauty. After the tour, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant that served an array of delicious Puerto Rican food., and then each guest was taken back to his/her point of pickup. Great service and a great outing--don't miss it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was well done and Ricardo our guide was excellent. He was very informative and also gave us many recommendations I would definitely use viator again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great place to visit, the guide was very helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely amazing!!

From USD $ 58.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170YUNQ

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message