4.5 star rating: Recommended 643 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 643 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing and our tour guide was fantastic! He made the tour a complete success!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and not too tiring of a hike. We were picked up at a location close to our B and B in Ocean Park, San Juan and had a very informative, nice ride to the El Yungue Rainforest. If you don't mind having a relaxing stroll (do have comfortable, non-slipping shoes), then do take this tour. It's just enough of a hike to see a waterfall and climb a tower, and enjoy the rainforest. . This is just perfect for those who don't want a wild, extensive rainforest experience. It sure was perfect for my daughter and I.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my first time in a tropical rainforest and was I ever impressed! The variety of vegetation was amazing and at virtually every stop along the way you could hear the sound of water gushing from the many streams and waterfalls. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us about many of the plants in the forest. We had many great photo opportunities of waterfalls and the forest along the way. At the end of the tour we stopped at a roadside cafe for lunch, which included several menu items unique to the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Tony was friendly, fun and informative. The rainforest was beautiful. We didn't see any birds, which I was hoping for, but that was not Tony's fault. He showed us some interesting snails and told us about the tiny Coqui frogs, which we could hear. They sounded like birds. We definitely would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and very nice. Our luggage was lost and we had to go buy clothes the night before and did not get in touch with them to say we were there and find out where to meet for the trip. Finally the next morning we did get in touch with them and they waited on us until we walked to the hotel next door to meet them. Very enjoyable and beautiful tour. Really enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very good experience for me. Exploring the rainforest was an excellent way to spend my birthday! The driver was pleasant and took us on a mini hike! We had a lot of fun! We even stopped within the local area to have lunch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, our guide was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was very informative and helpful. I would recommend the trip to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Informative, great tour. Wonderful guide. More walking than I was led to expect, and an uneven path, but he slowed down accommodatingly. Very pleasant, would definitely r commend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a fantastic tour! We hiked a little, we toured via van, and our tour guide (Hi, Tony!) was fantastic. Also, true to any good rainforest, it rained. A LOT. We loved every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great trip! Tony was a wonderful guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was wonderful. The only complaint was the lack of information once we got to Puerto Rico. I had to call to confirm and get a pick up time. After much confusion and two phone calls I finally got the information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time at The El Yunque Rainforest. Our guide Tony was very informative. We were very well
educated by him.
Sara and Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This rain forest trip was more driving in a van than hiking. But our tour guide Roberto was awesome, very informative and easy going. Just wish there was a little more hiking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent Guide.He covered most of the important views in Rain Forest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply fascinating! Still thinking about which tour company to go with? Don't think anymore! Book with Viator and request a tour from Ricardo (or Ricky Ricardo). He is a native of Puerto Rico and one of the friendliest people we met on our honeymoon. You want a quality tour for the best price? Book now!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

ALL is GOOD...
Service is the BEST...On TIME..Tony is the BEST...Knows the Forest well...
We had a GOOD TIME...

TAKE THE TRIP...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect experience! Did the trip in August. Weather was great! Perfect if you don't want to spend the entire day at the forest! A little hiking, sight-seeing, and the falls. Recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Josh, our tour guide, was fun and knowledgeable about the island. The rainforest was beautiful, and we got to see many different types of trees and plants. We went to four different sites in the rainforest, the visitors center, a waterfall, a tower for viewing the rainforest, and another waterfall. There were plenty of opportunities for taking beautiful pictures, but the hiking portion was only 15 minutes or so (though this was great for me and my wife--I have a bad back and so can't do strenuous hiking, and she loves outdoors stuff, but this was a good balance between the two). If you're looking for a more hiking-based excursion, you might want to try another tour, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. On the way out of the rainforest, we stopped at a little cafe that served local food for a quick lunch, and then headed back. I'd recommend this tour to anyone who wants a quick tour of the rainforest and a chance to grab some pictures in this beautiful area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver was very professional and knowledgable. He knew his Puerto Rican history and shared it all with us. He stopped at a local restaurant on the way back and we had a traditional Puerto Rican meal, what a treat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver/ tour guide Tony Caliz was very well informed about El Yunque (and actually lives in that area). He was charming, patient, and he seemed to have an inside track on the conditions involving the large numbers of tourists heading for El Yunque. We managed to stay ahead of the crowd, and we were able to leave the park just before a massive traffic halt caused by a serious injury to a tourist heading for waterfalls that Tony warned us were on a very steep path. I felt that he kept us safe and showed us fascinating things. We saw tiny things like snails and distant things like a tall tower far away that we had to stand up on a specific step to view. We were informed about the recent mud slides and could see the way roads had been damaged. We even saw claw marks from the legendary Chupa Cabara "monster."
El Yunque was what I had hoped for. I actually thought we would get wet in a waterfall, but after hearing about the injured tourist (and seeing the ambulance rushing to assist her) I did not mind at all that we only viewed a waterfall at a distance. I loved our hike through some of the woods. I took at least 100 photos. We climbed the Yokahu Tower to observe things at a good vantage point. We had time to purchase souvenirs.
On the way home (again, opposite the massive traffic jam), we even had time to stop for some truly delicious local foods!!! Everyone in our tour group seemed very happy with the tour, and those of us who ate the yummy food really appreciated the opportunity to sample inexpensive and truly delicious food where local residents lined up to join us in the deliciousness.
I had wished to take the full-day tour, but if I had done so, I would have been trapped there for much longer than anticipated (because of the medical emergency). I would like to visit El Yunque again, ideally when fewer tourists are there! Given the high volume of tourists, I think we had the best tour possible! I loved Tony Caliz!

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170YUNQ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message