4.5 star rating: Recommended 640 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 640 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour was amazing. We got to spend time at a private waterfall. Our tour guide was amazing and really knew the island. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tony, our guide, was great. He grew up in or near the rain forest, so he was very knowledgeable about the area. There were a lot of beautiful views and sites to see. We made several stops at scenic overlooks and took a short hike of easy difficulty on one stop. I would have liked to have gone to the big water falls, but the trail to get there is treacherous according to Tony and my wife has bad knees. So, this tour was a great compromise for those with limited mobility.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was willing to explain all the ancient history and gave us extra time to explore. Sammy had a great sense of humor and made my experience wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! We took the half day tour to El Yunque. It was so beautiful. And the best part was our tour guide Richard! This guy was so very knowledgeable and personable. He was so funny and made the trip so wonderful!! Good job Richard!! He gave us a lot of information about the island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent - in particular our tourguide (Javier) was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing El Yunque.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour! The bus was spacious and comfortable. Our guide, Sammy, was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of Puerto Rico, and especially about El Yuque, the rain forest. Who knew that such a beautiful place existed?? It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Sammy pointed out so many beautiful plants and flowers. He also gave us plenty of time for making photos of the vistas and waterfalls and for exploring the trails, while keeping us on schedule to complete the tour on time. There is such a variety of geography, climate, plant and animal life. I would love to go back and spend the entire day. They have shelters where local people were cooking out, swimming, and just spending the day enjoying the beauty. After the tour, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant that served an array of delicious Puerto Rican food., and then each guest was taken back to his/her point of pickup. Great service and a great outing--don't miss it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was well done and Ricardo our guide was excellent. He was very informative and also gave us many recommendations I would definitely use viator again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great place to visit, the guide was very helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely amazing!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing scenery and an awesome guide, well worth the money. Would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The best part of our tour was our guide, Antonio (Tony). Throughout the tour, he discussed PR history, culture, details about the park and its flora and fauna. In fact, because he grew up and lives nearby, he also told us personal anecdotes about his childhood and family. He's a very knowledgeable guide, and a safe driver to boot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour - worth the cost, mainly because of the tour guide. A good tour guide can make or break the experience. Our guide was flexible, full of facts and knowledge of all things PR and El Yunque, personable and tried to make sure that we got the most out of it for our time and money. We got to visit one of the falls, hiked down the Angelito trail to the river, and got to shop a little in the rainforest visitor's center. Great tour all in all!

Note - if you want to do the main falls in the forest, you'll have to book the full day trip. The half day trip only takes you to Coca Falls, which was enough for me, but there is a difference between the two tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On of my bucket list items was to visit a tropical rainforest and this trip accomplished this goal. We went on an alternative trail as damage from the rain the week prior prevented us for during the original trail. The tour was fantastic! Tony was an awesome tour guide :-), his knowledge of the rainforest as well as surrounding area was wonderful. The beautiful views, the waterfall, walking the trail, relaxing by the river bed, was just amazing! There is nothing I would change about this tour. By the end of the tour, you end up forming a bond with the tour guide as well as fellow participants in the tour. If you have the opportunity to visit El Yunque Rainforest, do so, an unforgettable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Knowledgeable tour guide, clean bus...great views at rainforest, though not much color AT ALL! Yet, it was a great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip with a very knowledgeable and nice tour guide Robert. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was quick half day tour of the Puerto Rican rain forest, but even so our guide was thorough, and showed us some very beautiful terrain. The tour was too short, of course, to engage in extensive hikes, including the largest waterfall, but given the time available, it was very worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour guide was amazing. So knowledgeable about the history of Puerto Rico. Maintained the entire group engaged with his personality.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Robert was great. Informative and funny. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely worth the trip. Beautiful. Our guide was very informative. And a stop at a Puerto Rican cafe at the end. A doable half day trip to leave time for the beach afterward. I miss San Juan already. Hope to come back someday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour of El Yunque Forest was great. Definitely worth it! Our tour guide was wonderful...shared lots of info with us. He was funny, entertaining and extreme professional and courteous! He made the entire trip from the commute on the van to the tour at the rainforest so memorable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Ricky is THE MAN - he knows the area and the park inside and out, and was able to adapt to "the other tourist crowds" en mass and adjust our stops accordingly. He shared a history and geography lesson with on in the van on the way which helped the understanding of what we were to be seeing. I appreciated the smaller 112-14 passenger van, rathern than a 20-25 seater monster tour group. We were able to ask questions easily and get personal attention. Walking distances were apprpropriate for all levels of hiking ability. I do want to note that if you see any books or shirt sin a gift shop where you stop, get them THEN because you won't be going back whilst on the tour. Good job, RICKY!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was great. He was very informative and took his time to answer questions.

From USD $ 59.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170YUNQ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message