4.5 star rating: Recommended 67 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I took this trip the day after my arrival in Puerto Rico, and this was a wonderful introduction to my stay. The rain forest is beautiful and impressive, I really enjoyed the walking.

Our guide Robert explained so much about Puerto Rico itself: its economy, its government, its politics. He was so interesting and enthusiastic that his talking alone would have made the trip worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The forest was wonderful. The plants, the rocks, the insects - everything. Robert - our tour guide - went out of his way to give us the kind of day we wanted. We hiked and hiked some more. We swam and then we swam some more. He was good with both the young kids and the older crowd.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very professional. Definitely a 1/2 day trip as most of the time is spent in the car going and coming. Wish there was more time in the rainforest and it can get crowded if on a holiday. But, the tour guide and company was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour. Jorge was very knowledgeable and personal, making the tour very enjoyable. Taking us to a local food stand was a great and delicious ending.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our guide Francisco picked us up on time at our hotel in a comfortable, air-conditioned van. He was personable and knowledgeable and made the 45-minute drive fun with his dry wit and commentary on Puerto Rico.

We stopped first at the Visitor Center, where there are some exhibits, a gift shop, and restrooms. Then we went to the trail head for La Mina falls. It’s about a 30-minute hike one way, up and down some elevation, and that day there was intermittent rain. It’s not a really strenuous hike, but it’s not a little stroll either. Wear good walking shoes, bring water, and expect to get a little damp.

The waterfall is lovely and you can splash around in the pool around it, or under it, if you’re brave enough! The rocks underneath are sharp and slippery, so my #1 advice is: bring SHOES! Water shoes, jelly shoes, whatever might make it easier on the rocks. I would’ve gone a little further in if I hadn’t been barefoot. If you go in, of course wear your bathing suit and bring a towel. There were a lot of people when we got there, and even more when we were leaving and it can get quite crowded, with all the people leaving their shoes and clothing on the rocks and clambering around.

Next stop is a tower with a vantage point and restrooms. Then we stopped at a little food stand with a souvenir shop. They sold tacos and rice and beans and other Puerto Rican food and beverages. That was at about 1:30.

I totally recommend this tour, a nice overview of El Yunque, a little exercise, some beautiful rainforest, an amiable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our El Yunque tour. Our tour guide, Tony, was not only highly knowledgeable about the rain forest (he lives there), but he was also a treasure trove of knowledge about Puerto Rican history and culture. We got a great experience without feeling like we were on just another show for the tourists, and that’s hard to pull off anywhere. We’ll definitely recommend this tour to our friends who visit Puerto Rico!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

One of our favorite tours we've been on. Very personable and knowledgeable; didn't treat us like "just an average tourist". Loved learning the history and background on San Juan. Beautiful rainforest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The hike was very easy, not long, and full of beautiful scenery, the waterfall was very packed but regardless I could not pass up the chance to swim in it. Great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We had a great time. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly! Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Beautiful hike...much fun...had a very nice tour guide...food at end a little rough.. Had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Pick up was on time, and our guide was very knowledgeable and funny! Plenty of time allowed at the water fall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great tour guide, very knowledgeable. Very well coordinated and planned. Comfortable ride, great sights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

A great, friendly and knowledgeable guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This tour was amazing. We loved every single minute of it. The tour guide was extremely generous and very knowledgeable. He helped make this experience an unforgettable one. Thank you!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very enjoyable 6 hour trip. We had an excellent, knowledgable, informed, personable and funny guide. Just about the right amount of hiking in the rainforest, with opportunities for breaks. Well planned itinerary with opportunity for lunch at the end at a local restaurant. If we get to return to Puerto Rico, we all hope to take other tours from Viator.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170HIKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message