4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hiking in El Yunque Rainforest was fun! The group that I was with was rather small, so it made the experience more intimate and enjoyable. The hike itself was nice. I did, however, expect our driver/tour guide, Rob, to go on the hike with the group, but he stayed back. Despite this, we found our way to the waterfall, which was extremely crowded, but we were all able to get in the water. After hiking back and meeting up with Rob, he showed us some more locations in the forest, and took us to lunch (the lunch was amazing)! I would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks for a great time, Rob!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I would definitely reccomend this trip to anybody visiting Puerto Rico. It was super convenient being picked up at our hotel, and our guide Sammy was fun and funny and told us many interesting facts about Puerto Rico on our drive there, including good places to eat. We got many spectacular photos of the ranforest and and the hike itself was not that strenuous. With that being said, it is a rainforest so it rains a lot, so bring a rain poncho and make sure to wear good shoes, the trail is very slippery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hike is a fantastic trip to take and well worth it. Only takes a few hours to complete so shouldn't be hard to fit into anyone's time table. The guide Tony, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about most anything you could ask during your rainforest hike.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was easy, and the best was the swimming in the pool of the 3d waterfall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a GREAT tour, would recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fun well organized

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide Tony was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about El Yunque (he is from the area) and full ofinformation about Puerto Rico in general. His English is excellent and he has a great personality. We had time on our own to hike back up from the main waterfall. I would certainly recommend this

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing and our guide Enrique was fantastic. He was informative, personable but knew when to drop into the background and let us enjoy the forest. He also gave us some good recommendations for other things to see. The hike was fairly easy and the weather cooperated and turned out to be a perfect day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tony was a great guide and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Evwething was wxelent. Tony the driver was very good at explaining the area. best. I had trouble fisinknf rthe trip and tony and jackson heled baack up the trail..I wouls SC\VISE ANYbody to tAKE THE TRIP. rALPH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was staying in the Virgin Islands and traveled to Puerto Rico specifically for this trip and was not disappointed. Tony was our guide for the day and he was both hilarious and knowledgeable. They have complimentary pick up from certain hotels so that was a big plus. As soon as I got in the car the tour began. He points out areas along the way and talks about them and also filled us in on current events in Puerto Rico etc. The rainforest was great and again he has what seems to be infinite knowledge of the forest. Just be sure to wear appropriate shoes as two people in our group did not and slowed us down the first half. Whether you come for a day to take the trip or are staying here be sure to book this tour and ask for Tony!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tony was a great guide. It was a walk in the park type feel but very fun. Great views. Tony was very knowledgeable. Recommend to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We were lucky to have the great tour guide (Robert) that we had. Extremely knowledgeable about Puerto Rico and the rainforest. He made the drive to El Yunque very entertaining and informative. The hike was a little more rigorous than I expected (lots of steep ups and downs on slippery rocks) but still very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great trip. Our guide Ricky started off on the drive by giving us some history on the island and where we were going. The rain forrest is can't miss and we hit all the stops. The hike was wonderful and not very challenging. Great tour and great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This trip was amazing. Our tour guide, Robert, was very informative on not only just the rainforest, but the entire island history as well. The ride up the mountain was a comfortable one, and just the 30 minute ride up shows you how awesome the entire island is!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I took this trip the day after my arrival in Puerto Rico, and this was a wonderful introduction to my stay. The rain forest is beautiful and impressive, I really enjoyed the walking.

Our guide Robert explained so much about Puerto Rico itself: its economy, its government, its politics. He was so interesting and enthusiastic that his talking alone would have made the trip worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The forest was wonderful. The plants, the rocks, the insects - everything. Robert - our tour guide - went out of his way to give us the kind of day we wanted. We hiked and hiked some more. We swam and then we swam some more. He was good with both the young kids and the older crowd.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very professional. Definitely a 1/2 day trip as most of the time is spent in the car going and coming. Wish there was more time in the rainforest and it can get crowded if on a holiday. But, the tour guide and company was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour. Jorge was very knowledgeable and personal, making the tour very enjoyable. Taking us to a local food stand was a great and delicious ending.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our guide Francisco picked us up on time at our hotel in a comfortable, air-conditioned van. He was personable and knowledgeable and made the 45-minute drive fun with his dry wit and commentary on Puerto Rico.

We stopped first at the Visitor Center, where there are some exhibits, a gift shop, and restrooms. Then we went to the trail head for La Mina falls. It’s about a 30-minute hike one way, up and down some elevation, and that day there was intermittent rain. It’s not a really strenuous hike, but it’s not a little stroll either. Wear good walking shoes, bring water, and expect to get a little damp.

The waterfall is lovely and you can splash around in the pool around it, or under it, if you’re brave enough! The rocks underneath are sharp and slippery, so my #1 advice is: bring SHOES! Water shoes, jelly shoes, whatever might make it easier on the rocks. I would’ve gone a little further in if I hadn’t been barefoot. If you go in, of course wear your bathing suit and bring a towel. There were a lot of people when we got there, and even more when we were leaving and it can get quite crowded, with all the people leaving their shoes and clothing on the rocks and clambering around.

Next stop is a tower with a vantage point and restrooms. Then we stopped at a little food stand with a souvenir shop. They sold tacos and rice and beans and other Puerto Rican food and beverages. That was at about 1:30.

I totally recommend this tour, a nice overview of El Yunque, a little exercise, some beautiful rainforest, an amiable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our El Yunque tour. Our tour guide, Tony, was not only highly knowledgeable about the rain forest (he lives there), but he was also a treasure trove of knowledge about Puerto Rican history and culture. We got a great experience without feeling like we were on just another show for the tourists, and that’s hard to pull off anywhere. We’ll definitely recommend this tour to our friends who visit Puerto Rico!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

One of our favorite tours we've been on. Very personable and knowledgeable; didn't treat us like "just an average tourist". Loved learning the history and background on San Juan. Beautiful rainforest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The hike was very easy, not long, and full of beautiful scenery, the waterfall was very packed but regardless I could not pass up the chance to swim in it. Great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We had a great time. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly! Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Beautiful hike...much fun...had a very nice tour guide...food at end a little rough.. Had a great time.

From USD $ 85.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170HIKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message