• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was well organized and we loved our tour guide! A few words of advice to future visitors....... ask your driver to go straight to the big waterfall first - this is what our guide did, and helped to avoid the mass o people who come but who stop at other sights on the way, at least reducing the number of people in the falls at a time and on the trails. Bring water shoes to wear - it is a rocky entry and slippery. It is a beautiful hike, but we were just a bit disappointed to find that the "trail" is mostly paved and not natural. Our guide took us outside the rainforest for lunch, and did not recommend the two restaurants inside the rainforest. It was a pleasant way to spend the day!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Our guide was on time, friendly, knowledgeable, fun. The tour was interesting and well-planned. Recommended highly.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Guide seemed very knowledgeable about forest, but he did not accompany us on our hike. I would have liked to learn more about life in the forest. Also, we were too rushed. I wanted to spend more time absorbing the beauty of the place, but everyone else was way ahead of me in order to meet guide's timeline.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The rainforest was so pretty and Tony was very knowledgeable. Had a great time. :D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The el yunque rainforest was beautiful

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Tony was a wonderful guide and was very flexible when we chose to stay longer in one spot and less time in another.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Definitely request to be on the tour with Robert G (unfortunately we cannot remember his last name). He is extremely knowledgeable about PR political and geographical history. The hike is very easy until the very last 5 minutes or so and the falls are beautiful! We enjoyed it so much.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour was fun and well guided. It was definitely a hike especially on the way out. The downside was the recommendation that every stopped to eat on the way back together. This puts the people who don't wish to in a difficult position.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a great experience; Tony the guide was extremely knowledgeable, accomodating, courteous, and made the trip a lot of fun. It would be nice if the trip had more hiking in it, but overall, it was a great way to see and experience El Yunque.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The rainforest hike was nice but the waterfall was great. I'd recommend water shoes since walking on the rocks hurt your feet.
It's about on hour trip in the van from the Ritz, but Tony tried to fill the void with area facts.

The big thing I didn't like, we paid for a full day trip but was back at the hotel by 1pm? We had 30 minutes at the falls, which could of been longer, since what's the rush?

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Overall the trip was good. Our guide Cruze was very knowledgeable about the area and plant life. The only negative is that we stopped at a restaurant outside the park and the food was good but the prices were really high for rice beans and chicken. We also had to wait on our guide to stop socializing so we could leave the restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

So, so good! Our only wish would have been to explore more of the forest and trails! The trip is a great introductory to the rain forest weather.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip with great guide. Would have liked a bit more time to explore as we barely made it to the falls and back within the time frame.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Hotel pickup and drop off were great and convenient since I didn't want to rent a car while in Puerto Rico. Our guide was awesome! I just wish it could have lasted longer!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Terrific views from the tower, and a wonderfully aerobic walk from the Minas Falls. Definitely wear sneakers or hiking shoes. Our guide gave us lots of time to swim and explore. I thought the welcome center at El Portal would have been better with a quick guide so that one could thoroughly appreciate the scope of rain forest conservation.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170HIKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message