4.5 star rating: Recommended 73 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 73 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Tony was a wonderful guide and was very flexible when we chose to stay longer in one spot and less time in another.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Definitely request to be on the tour with Robert G (unfortunately we cannot remember his last name). He is extremely knowledgeable about PR political and geographical history. The hike is very easy until the very last 5 minutes or so and the falls are beautiful! We enjoyed it so much.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour was fun and well guided. It was definitely a hike especially on the way out. The downside was the recommendation that every stopped to eat on the way back together. This puts the people who don't wish to in a difficult position.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a great experience; Tony the guide was extremely knowledgeable, accomodating, courteous, and made the trip a lot of fun. It would be nice if the trip had more hiking in it, but overall, it was a great way to see and experience El Yunque.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The rainforest hike was nice but the waterfall was great. I'd recommend water shoes since walking on the rocks hurt your feet.
It's about on hour trip in the van from the Ritz, but Tony tried to fill the void with area facts.

The big thing I didn't like, we paid for a full day trip but was back at the hotel by 1pm? We had 30 minutes at the falls, which could of been longer, since what's the rush?

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Overall the trip was good. Our guide Cruze was very knowledgeable about the area and plant life. The only negative is that we stopped at a restaurant outside the park and the food was good but the prices were really high for rice beans and chicken. We also had to wait on our guide to stop socializing so we could leave the restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

So, so good! Our only wish would have been to explore more of the forest and trails! The trip is a great introductory to the rain forest weather.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip with great guide. Would have liked a bit more time to explore as we barely made it to the falls and back within the time frame.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Hotel pickup and drop off were great and convenient since I didn't want to rent a car while in Puerto Rico. Our guide was awesome! I just wish it could have lasted longer!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Terrific views from the tower, and a wonderfully aerobic walk from the Minas Falls. Definitely wear sneakers or hiking shoes. Our guide gave us lots of time to swim and explore. I thought the welcome center at El Portal would have been better with a quick guide so that one could thoroughly appreciate the scope of rain forest conservation.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We had a fantastic time visiting El Yunque. The driver was punctual when he picked us up at the hotel. He was very courteous, friendly, fun and full of knowledge. We only felt that the trip was a bit rushed. We would have liked to stay longer and be able to explore the rainforest a bit more at depth. We only had 20 minutes to enjoy the waterfall and swim which discouraged some of the tourists that were on the tour that wanted to go swimming. Overall, I would recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This tour stops for a 15-minute viewing at a waterfall you can climb up on the rocks to get closer but it's slippery and another 15-minute viewing at a tower that offers island views there are facilities at this stop. Next you head to a welcome center also with facilities where you can buy water and change into your swimsuit. Next up is a 35-minute hike we had some slow movers, mostly downhill, to a waterfall with a swimming hole. There, you stop for 30 minutes and then leave on your own to complete the hike back though. It is on a different path than the one you walk down on the guide returns on the path that you took to obtain the bus and meet you all at the end of the hike. The second path is more difficult than the first but not as difficult as returning up the first path would have been. All of the hiking trails are paved, though not entirely smooth, and are 18" or wider. Most inclines are paved as stairs, but some inclines on the return hike are steep. If you have any mobility issues or aren't completely steady on your feet, don't attempt this hike. If you twist an ankle in the middle of the rainforest, you'll still have to walk out. The stop for lunch wasn't until 1:30pm so eat a big a breakfast and bring snacks. The rainforest has lovely plants but minimal animal life. We saw a few snails and that was it. Our tour confirmation told us to call 48 hours in advance to confirm. I called and called during business hours but received no answer. Our guide showed up late, but we were late getting outside and therefore didn't mind.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

It was great but too expensive. We paid 70 bucks per person for a knowledgeable chauffeur who drove us there and back.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Well planned tour. The guide was very informative and the tour was exactly as promised. Reliable company that we would recommend to other travellers.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The rainforest was stunning--we could have spent more time there and probably will next time visit. But our tour guide wasn't that good. He just talked and talked the entire time--it was like he was free-associating at the psychiatrist's office. That aside, it was a full day: pick up at hotels, drive to park, stop at a tower with an awesome view, another stop for swimming, drop off at a trail head (to be picked up at the end of the trail), then a stop for some greasy fried PR food. Do bring options for footwear. The trail was great and paved part of the way, so sneakers are fine for that. But when we went to go swimming you have to cross a small creek which is rocky, and if your foot falls in then you are stuck in a wet sneaker for the rest of the time. All in all it was a good day trip but if you are stuck with an annoying tour guide you will be out of luck and it will be a long day.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170HIKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message