• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We had a fantastic time visiting El Yunque. The driver was punctual when he picked us up at the hotel. He was very courteous, friendly, fun and full of knowledge. We only felt that the trip was a bit rushed. We would have liked to stay longer and be able to explore the rainforest a bit more at depth. We only had 20 minutes to enjoy the waterfall and swim which discouraged some of the tourists that were on the tour that wanted to go swimming. Overall, I would recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This tour stops for a 15-minute viewing at a waterfall you can climb up on the rocks to get closer but it's slippery and another 15-minute viewing at a tower that offers island views there are facilities at this stop. Next you head to a welcome center also with facilities where you can buy water and change into your swimsuit. Next up is a 35-minute hike we had some slow movers, mostly downhill, to a waterfall with a swimming hole. There, you stop for 30 minutes and then leave on your own to complete the hike back though. It is on a different path than the one you walk down on the guide returns on the path that you took to obtain the bus and meet you all at the end of the hike. The second path is more difficult than the first but not as difficult as returning up the first path would have been. All of the hiking trails are paved, though not entirely smooth, and are 18" or wider. Most inclines are paved as stairs, but some inclines on the return hike are steep. If you have any mobility issues or aren't completely steady on your feet, don't attempt this hike. If you twist an ankle in the middle of the rainforest, you'll still have to walk out. The stop for lunch wasn't until 1:30pm so eat a big a breakfast and bring snacks. The rainforest has lovely plants but minimal animal life. We saw a few snails and that was it. Our tour confirmation told us to call 48 hours in advance to confirm. I called and called during business hours but received no answer. Our guide showed up late, but we were late getting outside and therefore didn't mind.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

It was great but too expensive. We paid 70 bucks per person for a knowledgeable chauffeur who drove us there and back.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Well planned tour. The guide was very informative and the tour was exactly as promised. Reliable company that we would recommend to other travellers.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The rainforest was stunning--we could have spent more time there and probably will next time visit. But our tour guide wasn't that good. He just talked and talked the entire time--it was like he was free-associating at the psychiatrist's office. That aside, it was a full day: pick up at hotels, drive to park, stop at a tower with an awesome view, another stop for swimming, drop off at a trail head (to be picked up at the end of the trail), then a stop for some greasy fried PR food. Do bring options for footwear. The trail was great and paved part of the way, so sneakers are fine for that. But when we went to go swimming you have to cross a small creek which is rocky, and if your foot falls in then you are stuck in a wet sneaker for the rest of the time. All in all it was a good day trip but if you are stuck with an annoying tour guide you will be out of luck and it will be a long day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour guide was very friendly and informative while driving us to the site, but did not do the hike with us due to a recent injury, which we understood, but it would have been nicer to have a guided hiking tour for the money we paid.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Our guide was Tony, and he was wonderful! The hike was easy on the down-hill, a little more rough on the up-hill. Definitely bring snacks. Water area is really crowded and no beach, just rocks, so you have to be very careful. Good trip, but wanted to see more.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Not as good as expected. There wasn't much to do in the rain forest. If you want some excitement, I would highly recommend a tour that takes you all the way to the top, the so called level 4 cloud stratosphere.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The tour guy was great and the transportation as well. It was really easy to book and get confirmation from Viator.

As for the tour itself.. It's not really a hike. It's rather walking through the woods on the narrow paved path, and passing bunch of people in both directions. The nature is pretty, and the smell of the woods. However, I haven't seen any animals (except for a butterfly, a spider and two little lizards). I also didn't see any flowers, only trees and leafs, it was all green. I guess I was expecting more colors and some more peace. There were only few spots along the way where you could sit and try to enjoy the nature, but even there you would constantly be passed by other people.

Once you get to the waterfall, it's not very large space, and there were at least hundred people (if not more) dipping and hanging out. I was there on Sunday of the holiday weekend, so maybe that's why it was so crowded. This definitely made the hike nothing special for me.

I also used to spend a lot of time when I was kid in the family house surrounded by woods and fields, where you walk on empty roads and pick and eat wild strawberries and raspberries on your way, pluck some herbs for tea and spices, etc. I was kind of hoping for similar experience here. However, El Yunque is pretty commercial, or at least the parts that are accessible.

I would suggest you to visit on your own if you have the car and you're near by. It's lovely, but I wouldn't go out of my way or spend a big buck to see it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

An O.K. trip. We did not go to the waterfall as the guide said it was a very strenuos return (and so 2 of the group didn't want to go and, judging from physique of our guide I don't think he wanted too either.) So walked on a concrete path with hundreds of others for a short distance through the rain forest - without the guide !!. Guide appeared knowledgeable about the forest and island. If this is indeed strenuous then feel it should say so.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

The guide for El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Trip was very charming, and very informative about Puerto Rico itself. Unfortunately, the guide was not very knowledgeable about the rainforest. He knew some generic information about the Yunque but did not offer very much detail about the forest, the vegetation, the animals, or the ecosystem. I was hoping for a guide who would offer more. It was kind of like having your Uncle Lenny show you around.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The trip was pretty good, but of the three tours that we took this my least favorite. I could have flipped a coin as to whether I would do this again. However, our tour guide, Ricardo, was very good.

However, at the end of this trip we were stuck in traffic because JJ Barea came to Old san Juan and we were stopped in traffic for hours trying to get back to our hotel.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

My tour guide was knowledgeable. Unfortunately, El Junque has become a tourist trap. I could not enjoy the sounds of the rain forest or go swimming because there were too many people there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Spent WAAAAYYYY too much time at the rainforest visitor center. What should have been a maybe a 15 minute stop turned into over an hour. Wasted time that could have been used at a stop at the other roadside waterfall or the observation tower inside the park instead of just whizzing by them. Don't tell people to pack their own snacks and water before the tour, and then offer to let folks buy these things at the visitor center as well as sit down and eat them there??? This is supposed to be a hiking outing, not a "buy snacks and browse the gift shop" outing. The hike down to the falls and back was great even though our "guide" was very loud in her descriptions of trees, plants, etc. Most folks come into the woods to have a quiet, reflective experience. We finally just had to leave the group to enjoy the hike. The tour bus was comfortable but the driver needs to wear a microphone to be heard completely in the back of the bus...maybe that's why she was yelling on the trail??? Don't miss El Yunque, but be picky about who takes you there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Disappointed. I was the 1st one being picked up at 830AM, then we spent 1h picking up everyone else until we could leave. We hiked in total maybe 1,5 hour, because we stopped at their food point and back in Old SJ around 2.30PM. Suited for families or tour's kind of people. Def not for backpakers.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170HIKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message