4.5 star rating: Recommended 125 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 125 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Pick up times were a little off. Driver was late. But well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

It was raining in the rainforest so bring an umbrella. Luquillo beach is nice. At the beach rent beach chairs for 5 each. It cost 1 for a locker, shower and restroom area.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The trip to El Yunque was long, but our driver was a great tour guide and provided many interesting facts about the rain forest and Puerto Rico. We spent about 1 hour walking around the forest at several locations. This was plenty for us, if you want longer you need another tour. We ate at Luquillo Beach and most of the food was dried out. It was a beautiful day on the beach and we enjoyed the whole day. The trip was well worth the price and our tour guide was very helpful, especially guiding us up the rocks to the waterfall to take pictures.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

if you want to relax but still feel like doing something, this is an easy tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was alright. The rain forest tour could have been better. We would have liked to have seen more but, only had a few minutes at each spot right off the road. Would have liked to have seen waterfalls. It was a long tour and it would have been nice if they offered bottled water because if the heat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Our travel guide Robert was amazing. The only complaint I had was the food at the beach. It was all fried, there were not healthy options. There was a huge line of beach-hut restaurants before the beach. I'm not sure why we couldn't have eaten there.

Vicki L
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Transportation was not well-coordinated and I ended up waiting 40 minutes for the ride which did not see me and left without me whilst I was waiting outside for them. I had to take a cab to the last hotel stop to catch them. Because of this, it partially spoiled the trip though I would say that the sights at the rainforest and beach were fantastic. To think that I ALMOST did not get to see them had I completely missed the ride. It was close to my last day in town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

It was a ok tour. Not bad but not great. We would have loved to spend a little more time at the beach and a better place to eat. The rainforest tour was ok, but felt rushed. We didn't see much of the rainforest. The tour guide was nice, but the entire tour was not so great, just ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Wasn't all that impressed by either rain forest or beach. Guide/driver was friendly and talkative, but not knowledgable about local flora/fauna/animals. Couldn't tell us anything about the rain forest.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The rainforest is beautiful and a must see, however due to time constraints I felt rushed through. Our driver was knowledgable but had a bit of a nasty attitude. Luquillo beach was nice but be ready to pay cash to use the bathroom facilities. Also, the snack area wasn't good so bring your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice trip to see more of the island. One tip, lunch at one of the restaurants at the strip before the beach. The only one available at the beach is no good (unless you like deep fried everything).

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

hot and muggy tour was fine but nothing grat. use insect repelant before you go.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The rainforest is worth seeing for the view of the island. The tour is not physically challenging. the ride to the site was much longer than the tour. The beach was a nice change, but was more of a park site. Still it was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Rainforest walk and info from the guide during the bus trip was great! But the beach was awful...dirty, homeless dogs everywhere, no stops for food except beach take away window. Not worth the money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour to El Yunque and Luquillo was an enjoyable day out for us. There were a couple things that could've made it better. First, the bus wasn't in the greatest working condition. Our tour guide, Ricardo, had bus difficulties. This was nothing new, as I had read reviews before reserving our trip, about similar difficulties. Also, the vibrations of the bus on some of the roads made it very difficult for those passengers beyond the front seats to hear what Ricardo was saying. He needs to be equipped with a microphone. The second thing that made the trip a bit less enjoyable than it could have been was wherre we ate for lunch. The food wasn't so bad, however the appearance of the roadside restaurant and its kitchen were not so "palatable". I heard one couple on our bus gasp and say, "NO", when they saw where we were stopping for lunch.

Ricardo was very pleasant, funny, and had a wealth of information to share....if only everyone could've heard him.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Trip was not very interesting. Guide kept pointing out mudslides and OTHER tours we could take. We were only out of the van for about a half hour total. Barely saw anything. Lunch was a joke and took over 2 hours when we could have been swimming or shopping at cute kiosks nearby. Wouldn't take again

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The tour was not as great as it could have been the tour guide rushed us through the rainforest. Also, as for Luquillo Beach, the sand was not white and when I asked the tour guide about it he suggested we find out on our own. We never found the part of the beach with white sand.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Starting with a flat tire, trip was mediocre primarily because it was rushed through the rainforest and the beach time was limited by the push back on the van flat. Allso got picked up first at 8.20 which meant it was an hour in the van before the last of the people where picked up at the Ritz carleton -- the same going back - the trip really was a 1/2 day if i eliminated the pick ups and the flat tire.

Was not impressed with your tour guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

The rainforest was great. Our driver waited at a local hotel for 30-40 minutes for guests that never showed up for the tour. Our beach time was rained out and the tour ended early. Rainforest sights were worth seeing, but the delays and early end made the tour not worth the price.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The yungue Rainforest was beautiful but I could have done without the Luquillo Beach. Did you know locals dump their unwanted dogs at this beach what cruelity! I saw over 10 abandoned dogs at this beach. The grounds keepers told me they feed them until the ASPCA comes to pick them up. The last thing I want to see on my vacation are abandoned animals!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

I'd thought that a tour of the rain forest would include actually walking through the rain forest; instead we were just driven to a few spots for people to take pictures and then back into the van. I didn't need all the time at the beach at the end; I'd rather have used some of it hiking. Maybe I misunderstood the tour, but it was disappointing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

the tour 'advertised' was NOT the tour i was taken on. the tour guide did NOT take us on a hike, we spent a total of about 15 minuets outside of the car in the actual Yunque rainforrest. I was expecting a physically challenging hike, instead the driver would drive the van to different points along the way and tell us we had some time to take pics and just meet back at the van. Very very very dissapointed that there was no actual hike on the tour. Once we arrived at the beach we were forced to eat from one crummy restaurant right on the beach. Instead of driving us to the strip of restaurants next to the beach (which is where all the locals told me to go) the tour guide took us directly to Luquillo beach where the only restaurant was a snack shack type place with a very limited menu. I was very dissapointed in the tour overall, the tour guide himself seemed to be in a hurry to just get us through the tour and on the drive up to el Yunque he talked non-stop on a loud speaker speaker which was projected through the vans sound system. I feel the tour was a waste of money. I could have easily rented a car myself and driven to the rainforrest and beach and it would have been much more enjoyable. I do want to add though that Viator (which is only the booking company not the actual tour company) was wonderful to deal with. They were extremly helpful on the phone and made the booking process quick and easy.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

tour guide picked us up on time but 15 mins out on the trip, he received a call to go back and pick up 2 more people, that put us behind schedule. He then came onto an accident on the highway, he knew it had been there for sometime but was still being cleaned up. I understand that the accident was beyond the guides control but knowing it was ongoing, an alternate route should have been taken. We sat and crawled in traffic. If he didn't know it was cleaned up yet, he should have had a way to check. I heard that other tour companies were aware and took other routes around the accident. Once we got to the rainforest, we could not venture on our own. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the environment, but it was like a school trip. He spent too much time explaining about the trees, birds, leaves, etc. There was no time left to visit the water falls. I feel that we went there to see the forest but only got a classroom lesson. He then stopped for lunch at a roadside restaurant of his choice where we spent approx an hour buying our own lunch (was I still paying for his time, yes!). All of this cut our beach time short. The beach was beautiful but only had about 1 1/2 hrs there. Many fun food and souvenir shops there but no time to shop. I would definitely not recommend this company for the tour. Tour cost, lunch, tips, way too much!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

It will be better if it was packaged with hiking to waterfall (you can exclude the details about trees, who is interested in that btw). The beach was awesome but will be good if you give some more time to stay there as soon you start enjoying the time is up!.
So, make it better as time is money when you traveled so far. But above all the guide Fransisco was very very nice!!

From USD $ 79.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170LUQ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message