4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great Tour guide who was chock full of information that truly enhanced the tour. Would and will do another tour using this site!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

amaing places ! rainforest that takes your breath away, landscapes and perfect views. The beach was ok , i bet u can find better ones in Puerto Rico, though.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

We enjoyed the beauty of El Yunque but wish the tour allowed time to see the 15 minute film at the visitor center. It alternates in Spanish and English, so a 30 minute stop would be better to allow time for exhibits, restrooms and film. Guide should explain this option. The local lunch stop was interesting and we very much enjoyed the two hours at Luquillo Beach. Nice swimming and sunning. The guide could have explained the location of changing/restrooms and fees so we knew how to proceed more efficiently.
Overall it was a fun day. Ricky had a sense of humor but we had trouble understanding his English and thus he was less informative than other guides we have encountered.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Ricky Ricardo was a great tour guide! The El Yunque rainforest was nice. Luquillo Beach was very quiet (Friday) but the dismaying part is it's all littered with trash. Why do locals trash their own beautiful paradise?

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The beach is really nice but personally, I'd like to have more time for the rain forest. Maybe, it would be good to add one hour to the tour for a better acquaintance with the forest.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable of history, flora and fauna. The Rainforest portion of the trip was our favorite. Remember to pack ponchos, snack and gatorade.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Our guide was great. I would've liked a longer hike in the rainforest but everything we did was awesome.

Webermaker
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

It was a nice day

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

I had a lot of fun and enjoyed the rain forest. It was so pretty to look out at everything from the observation tower and go to la coco falls. Luquillo beach was also very beautiful. I think the company tried very hard to make it an enjoyable experience for everyone because even though our bus had technical difficulties they were able to keep the show on the road. Next time I would actually want to try walking La Mina Falls trail and if that could be an added option I think that would be cool!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We ended up on the half day rainforest tour, but I would say it's a great introduction to a beautiful place! Would have loved to spend more time there, but I suppose that's always the case with places I go. If you're looking for a nice tour that will show you around, but isn't too strenuous, then this is for you. Don't expect a lot of hiking!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Would have given it a higher rating except for two things. First, this particular trip was canceled, thus I opted for the half-day rainforest tour alone. Second, I waited for the driver ten minutes prior to pick-up and we missed one another as I was at the other end of the block, despite of my repeated calls to the telephone number given. This number finally did answer some thirty minutes later and there seemed to be some confusion as to whether the driver would or would not return to pick me up at a specified location. The drive did return to retrieve me an hour after said time. Nonetheless, he was an excellent guide and I am very glad to have been on his excursion. There just seems to be a problem with specific instructions as to the meeting point, as well as communications on a Sunday morning.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was a fun tour! El Yunque Rainforest was awesome and the waterfalls and tower were a pleasant surprise to see. It was so beautiful to look across at the other islands from the tower. The tour bus driver was helpful and informative. He went with us on our trail and wanted us to learn all types of things about the trees and bushes. He pointed out several unique things about the rainforest. Luquillo Beach was also pretty. Several people were there just enjoying the water and beautiful weather. There was even an attendant present that would rent lounge chairs and umbrellas. The gift shop was cute and quaint. The concession stands had a variety of food to choose from. Some of the items were pricey. I thought seeing people selling concessions from rolling carts was neat. The locker area, dressing rooms, showers, and restroom areas could be cleaner for tourists. The only drawback was that our tour bus broke down. Then we were at the mercy of other drivers to get us to our destinations. I wish that the company had a standby person to work in emergency situations. However, it did not stop us from having a great time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

We had a great time. Our guide/driver arrived on time and had a nice cheerful attitude. His knowledge about the area's flora and fauna was exceptional. His lively and patient manner made our trip all the more enjoyable. Did not like the beach so much - tangle of seaweed as we entered the water. El Yunque was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Our guide was great. Very pleasant, knowledgeable and a good, safe driver as well. I'm certainly glad I went with him rather than try to do it on my own. El Yunque was great. I was a bit disappointed with Luquillo, though. There was only one food concession open, and all they had was a limited selection of fried foods. Then again, I"m not a big beach person. Nevertheless, a good excursion and well worth doing. Thank you.

Earl M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Due to the rain we were unable to get to Luquillo Beach but we really enjoyed the rain forest...and boy did it rain.

From USD $ 79.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170LUQ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message