4.5 star rating: Recommended 130 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 130 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Would have given it a higher rating except for two things. First, this particular trip was canceled, thus I opted for the half-day rainforest tour alone. Second, I waited for the driver ten minutes prior to pick-up and we missed one another as I was at the other end of the block, despite of my repeated calls to the telephone number given. This number finally did answer some thirty minutes later and there seemed to be some confusion as to whether the driver would or would not return to pick me up at a specified location. The drive did return to retrieve me an hour after said time. Nonetheless, he was an excellent guide and I am very glad to have been on his excursion. There just seems to be a problem with specific instructions as to the meeting point, as well as communications on a Sunday morning.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was a fun tour! El Yunque Rainforest was awesome and the waterfalls and tower were a pleasant surprise to see. It was so beautiful to look across at the other islands from the tower. The tour bus driver was helpful and informative. He went with us on our trail and wanted us to learn all types of things about the trees and bushes. He pointed out several unique things about the rainforest. Luquillo Beach was also pretty. Several people were there just enjoying the water and beautiful weather. There was even an attendant present that would rent lounge chairs and umbrellas. The gift shop was cute and quaint. The concession stands had a variety of food to choose from. Some of the items were pricey. I thought seeing people selling concessions from rolling carts was neat. The locker area, dressing rooms, showers, and restroom areas could be cleaner for tourists. The only drawback was that our tour bus broke down. Then we were at the mercy of other drivers to get us to our destinations. I wish that the company had a standby person to work in emergency situations. However, it did not stop us from having a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

We had a great time. Our guide/driver arrived on time and had a nice cheerful attitude. His knowledge about the area's flora and fauna was exceptional. His lively and patient manner made our trip all the more enjoyable. Did not like the beach so much - tangle of seaweed as we entered the water. El Yunque was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Our guide was great. Very pleasant, knowledgeable and a good, safe driver as well. I'm certainly glad I went with him rather than try to do it on my own. El Yunque was great. I was a bit disappointed with Luquillo, though. There was only one food concession open, and all they had was a limited selection of fried foods. Then again, I"m not a big beach person. Nevertheless, a good excursion and well worth doing. Thank you.

Earl M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Due to the rain we were unable to get to Luquillo Beach but we really enjoyed the rain forest...and boy did it rain.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Pick up times were a little off. Driver was late. But well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

It was raining in the rainforest so bring an umbrella. Luquillo beach is nice. At the beach rent beach chairs for 5 each. It cost 1 for a locker, shower and restroom area.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The trip to El Yunque was long, but our driver was a great tour guide and provided many interesting facts about the rain forest and Puerto Rico. We spent about 1 hour walking around the forest at several locations. This was plenty for us, if you want longer you need another tour. We ate at Luquillo Beach and most of the food was dried out. It was a beautiful day on the beach and we enjoyed the whole day. The trip was well worth the price and our tour guide was very helpful, especially guiding us up the rocks to the waterfall to take pictures.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

if you want to relax but still feel like doing something, this is an easy tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was alright. The rain forest tour could have been better. We would have liked to have seen more but, only had a few minutes at each spot right off the road. Would have liked to have seen waterfalls. It was a long tour and it would have been nice if they offered bottled water because if the heat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Our travel guide Robert was amazing. The only complaint I had was the food at the beach. It was all fried, there were not healthy options. There was a huge line of beach-hut restaurants before the beach. I'm not sure why we couldn't have eaten there.

Vicki L
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Transportation was not well-coordinated and I ended up waiting 40 minutes for the ride which did not see me and left without me whilst I was waiting outside for them. I had to take a cab to the last hotel stop to catch them. Because of this, it partially spoiled the trip though I would say that the sights at the rainforest and beach were fantastic. To think that I ALMOST did not get to see them had I completely missed the ride. It was close to my last day in town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

It was a ok tour. Not bad but not great. We would have loved to spend a little more time at the beach and a better place to eat. The rainforest tour was ok, but felt rushed. We didn't see much of the rainforest. The tour guide was nice, but the entire tour was not so great, just ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Wasn't all that impressed by either rain forest or beach. Guide/driver was friendly and talkative, but not knowledgable about local flora/fauna/animals. Couldn't tell us anything about the rain forest.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The rainforest is beautiful and a must see, however due to time constraints I felt rushed through. Our driver was knowledgable but had a bit of a nasty attitude. Luquillo beach was nice but be ready to pay cash to use the bathroom facilities. Also, the snack area wasn't good so bring your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice trip to see more of the island. One tip, lunch at one of the restaurants at the strip before the beach. The only one available at the beach is no good (unless you like deep fried everything).

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

hot and muggy tour was fine but nothing grat. use insect repelant before you go.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The rainforest is worth seeing for the view of the island. The tour is not physically challenging. the ride to the site was much longer than the tour. The beach was a nice change, but was more of a park site. Still it was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Rainforest walk and info from the guide during the bus trip was great! But the beach was awful...dirty, homeless dogs everywhere, no stops for food except beach take away window. Not worth the money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour to El Yunque and Luquillo was an enjoyable day out for us. There were a couple things that could've made it better. First, the bus wasn't in the greatest working condition. Our tour guide, Ricardo, had bus difficulties. This was nothing new, as I had read reviews before reserving our trip, about similar difficulties. Also, the vibrations of the bus on some of the roads made it very difficult for those passengers beyond the front seats to hear what Ricardo was saying. He needs to be equipped with a microphone. The second thing that made the trip a bit less enjoyable than it could have been was wherre we ate for lunch. The food wasn't so bad, however the appearance of the roadside restaurant and its kitchen were not so "palatable". I heard one couple on our bus gasp and say, "NO", when they saw where we were stopping for lunch.

Ricardo was very pleasant, funny, and had a wealth of information to share....if only everyone could've heard him.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Trip was not very interesting. Guide kept pointing out mudslides and OTHER tours we could take. We were only out of the van for about a half hour total. Barely saw anything. Lunch was a joke and took over 2 hours when we could have been swimming or shopping at cute kiosks nearby. Wouldn't take again

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The tour was not as great as it could have been the tour guide rushed us through the rainforest. Also, as for Luquillo Beach, the sand was not white and when I asked the tour guide about it he suggested we find out on our own. We never found the part of the beach with white sand.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Starting with a flat tire, trip was mediocre primarily because it was rushed through the rainforest and the beach time was limited by the push back on the van flat. Allso got picked up first at 8.20 which meant it was an hour in the van before the last of the people where picked up at the Ritz carleton -- the same going back - the trip really was a 1/2 day if i eliminated the pick ups and the flat tire.

Was not impressed with your tour guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

The rainforest was great. Our driver waited at a local hotel for 30-40 minutes for guests that never showed up for the tour. Our beach time was rained out and the tour ended early. Rainforest sights were worth seeing, but the delays and early end made the tour not worth the price.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The yungue Rainforest was beautiful but I could have done without the Luquillo Beach. Did you know locals dump their unwanted dogs at this beach what cruelity! I saw over 10 abandoned dogs at this beach. The grounds keepers told me they feed them until the ASPCA comes to pick them up. The last thing I want to see on my vacation are abandoned animals!

From USD $ 91.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170LUQ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message