4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We had Tony as our driver. He was very knowledgeable and gave us some great history and stories on Puerto Rico. The cave and Arecibo were both something to see. I would highly recommend you ask for Tony.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I was so into taking photos at the cave that I didn't listen to the audio tour. This place is beautiful! Caution - slippery trail - listen to the tour guide. I did and still fell on my bottom. The road trip to the Arecibo Observatory was a tour within itself. You see more of the neighborhoods in PR. Again, I was more into taking pictures outside than reading facts at the various exhibits inside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

You know all of those cave movies you have seen and you think "some day I will get to see something like that" ? This is that cave. You have to see it. It is amazing. The Arecibo Observatory is a hike up-hill. Be prepared. If you get car sick sit in the front seat of the tour van. Our guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Many thanks for another great tour. The guide was very informative without being boring. His driving skills were great and the van transport very comfortable. We really enjoyed all aspects of the tour and will continue to use Viator for any future tours while abroad.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This is a fun and unique adventure. Be prepared for some uphill walking to the observatory.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Very interesting and Robert was great. I learned so much about Puerto Rico. He made the tours wonderful. Linda MacLeod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Excellent tour would recommend it to anyone, should not be missed Our guide was informative, helpful and knew a great place too eat. Great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We enjoyed this awesome place !!!,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The tour guide was very nice and informative. He took us to a nice, affordable, delicious restaurant. He was very knowledgeable and told us the history of Puerto Rico.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our tour guide was absolutely fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a wonderful day. Our driver was a gem.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely worth the time and money. The tour guide picked us up on time and was very friendly and happy to share details of the island and history of Puerto Rico. When we got to the caves, we were the last group at 9:30am due to the heavy rain scheduled to move in. Caves were beautiful, but not as large as I expected. There is very little that is open to the public. What is there though is spectacular. On to the obervatory. I really don't see why the tour guide can't drive to the top of the hill. You are let off at the bottom then walk up a hill to take 100 or so steps then climb a pretty steep paved hill to get to the entrance. Seems like they could easily take you to the top. Overall, very pleasant experience and professional guide. Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We had one of the best guides that we have ever had! He was very knowledgeable about the caves and the Observatory. What added to the trip was him answering our other questions about Puerto Rico and the fun things like where to get good seafood, and other must see attractions in Puerto Rico. We went on three other trips in Puerto Rico and he was the best!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had the best tour guide! After our trip to the caves he took us to a really great lunch place, this restaurant has the best mafongos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Saved us from a long drive on unfamiliar roads. The caves were astounding. I didn't know the Caribbean had caves so large.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour. Day was very hot and guide explaining aspects of Observatory stood in sun so hot many
of group had to step away from her so could not hear what she was explaining. This was guide at
Observatory not your guide. Thoroughly enjoyed day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Tony, was terrific; informative, courteous, enthusiastic. I was surprised that for the cost that admission to the locations wasn't included, but the caves were fascinating and the laboratory was a lot of fun to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good tour but we wish it was a little more professional. Not too much info was given but then it was raining hard, so we did not really get to see the dish and telescope as much. It is impressive though! I would still take the trip. The caves were wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Driver was excellent and the tour was great. Just a little disappointed in the Caves.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed our trip. Ricardo was amazing, picking us up on time and giving us many bits of history and insider info. The caves were awesome and I would highly recommend. The Observatory was interesting, but the approx 8 minute trek up the hill from the parking lot to the observatory was hot and tiresome, but in the end worth it. The hour and 20 minute trip from San Juan to these sites was worth every penny to see the landscape and wonder of Puerto Rico. It was nice to have an experienced driver who knew the way as both places seemed difficult to find and included twisting and turning roadways edging rather steep cliffs. Gave it a 4 star rating due to the hike up to the observatory which makes this tour challenging to physically impaired individuals.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

LOVED the caves. Robert our guide was AWESOME AND TOLD US SO MUCH about the island. Observatory was also interesting but we mainly went for the caves.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

very interesting places

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. As ever, not enough time for me.

From USD $ 118.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170RIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message