4.5 star rating: Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide Francis was very knowledgeable of the areas we visited. The caves were an incredible experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Please read carefully, because you're really just paying for the transportation from place to place. We had no guide, driver said very little to us on way to caves and nothing on way home. The caves experience was amazing and so unique. I highly recommend it. The observatory should have been free because it was so lame and not worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Enjoyed the park and observatory. Thought the fee was a bit expensive considering we still had to pay entry fees for both places.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Caves were amazing. Arecibo observatory not as well maintained but interesting. Lunch was great. Recommend trip for great trip through interior of island.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great trip. Worth seeing

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide Roberto was great, he made the long trip interesting. Local lunch was fun. Cave Park was wonderful, Observatory mediocre.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very friendly and informative while driving us to the site, but having to separately have to pay park entry fees was disappointing given the money paid for the tour. Since guides at the sight gave the actual tours except for the potential to get lost, I could have rented a car a driven myself.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was great but the lunch wasn't so,.. awful food and the bathroom was filthy and no running water.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The trip was great. I would like to have had more information on Arecibo, but the visit was interesting.

I had Robert as my driver and guide for this tour and he was by far the most knowledgeable and pleasant guide I had the whole time I was in Puerto Rico. I had 3 other tours with other companies, but Robert was easy going and very accommodating. A++ for Robert.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This was an enjoyable trip. The cave was really amazing. I just wish the walking path had a little more lighting. It was very dark and difficult to see where you were going. The Observatory was an experience! We really enjoyed the visit.
Our driver Robert was WONDERFUL! Ask for him!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The cave is big in "volume" and beautiful but there is not much to the tour as you can pretty much see from on end to the other. It is a self-guided audio tour with a guide that keeps you corralled in a group.
The Observatory on the other hand was spectacular! Made the whole trip worthwhile!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

very good tour. driver was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip was to the park and observatory were wonderful

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Our tour guide Tony was very knowledgeable on the history of Puerto Rico, and had such a positive energy it made the trip a lot of fun. The staff at the Camuy Caves also made the experience entertaining. There was lots to be learned at the Arecibo Observatory. I recommend watching the film presentation and following the guide for the Q and A session.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The Cave Park and Areceibo Observatory are both interesting and worth visiting - not top attractions for people with a short time in PR, but good sites nonetheless. Unfortunately, the day we visited the caverns, there was no electricity, so we went to Areceibo and lunch in reverse order. Our guide Roberto kept contact with the Camuy folks and learned that the power was back on by 3:30, so we got to go then. Roberto was an excellent and informative guide. We learned so much about the culture, history, politics, and economy of PR in additions to visiting the sights. He assisted us in many small ways and made the day very enjoyable. Kudos to Roberto.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Good I recommende ,

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

good trip and guide was able to provide a great suggestion for some local cuisine on the way back

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The visit to the Camuy Caves was definitely one of my highlights during the one week I spent in Puerto Rico. The location in the middle of the forest is mystical and the tour was really great, and there was plenty of time to take photos. The visit to the Arecibo Observatory was also interesting and there was sufficient time to attend a tour.
Unfortunately there was no real stop for lunch - we went from the Camuy Caves straight to Arecibo and then from there back to San Juan. It would have been better to have a 1 or 1.5 hour break somewhere in a nice restaurant, but instead we all went for a hot dog at the Observatory...

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Had a good guide and a small group of six people. No cruise ship in town so no lines at the caves or observatory. Caves were nice, the observatory a bit dull if you had prior knowledge of the subjects and no interest in looking at the displays, joining a tour or watching the movie. Overall ok.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

My daughter and I really enjoyed our time at both sites. The Cave system was really interesting and beautiful, the observatory was a bit lacking, i was hoping to be able to talk to folks about their current work and findings, but it was pretty much a see and go type thing...but still fun to go,

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This tour was very nice and pleasantly delightful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Loved the Rio Camuy Cave Park and the Arecibo Observatory; however, too much time was spent at the observatory.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The cave is a 5 star, but I found the Observatory a bit unnecessary. All in all the tour guide we had was awesome.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We had a great time on this tour! The driver picked up our family up at our hotel and along with four other people and we were off to the caves. We paid for admission to the caves and the driver made sure that we were on an English speaking tour. We boarded a tram and descended downward to the cave entrance with beautiful vegetation and scenery on the way down. The park guide toured us through the cave. We had plenty of time to look around and stop off at the gift shop. When we were finished we met at the van. Then off to lunch at a spot that was a local favorite of the driver. I would have never known to pick this spot! We had a relaxing lunch with our party all sitting together and learned a lot about Puerto Rico from the driver. On to the Arecibo Observatory we purchased our own tickets and entered the museum area. We had plenty of time to look at the exhibits, saw a movie, and then got a closer view of the telescope. When we were finished we met back at the van and made our way home. I am glad we took the tour, I would not have wanted to drive the twisting, winding, narrow, unfamiliar roads! A nice experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I enjoyed this tour very much. We had an excellent guide. I was a little put off at everything that we had to pay for, including the admission to both the caves and the observatory. I think the money I paid just to be transported to the sites was excessive.

From USD $ 118.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 4170RIO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message