4.5 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Santiago, Chile
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Fantastic trip, tour operators were the VERY BEST! I will book with your company again in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Outstanding, extremely informed guide a great experience. Valparaiso is a must-do side trip from Santiago.

Sandra Y
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A great day out with a stop for a nice lunch at an old castle. Chose the private tour option and had an excellent driver and guide who were very punctual. The guide's English was excellent, he was very informative, flexible with the itinerary and tried to keep ahead of the large tour buses schedules, so we never had to queue or wait for anything. Driver took an alternative route back through the mountains which was great. Definitely recommend this tour if you have a spare day in Santiago.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had the greatest tour with our tour guide who spoke excellent English and our driver was great too. They arrived promptly, the van was very clean, the guides explanations were great and very insightful. They went out of their ways to make sure we had great photos and a great experience. Would certainly book with them again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

We will definitely recommend your guides and company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Our guide accompanied us on this tour and was outstanding. We stopped at a winery, where my husband had to be dragged away after about an hour. We continued to Valparaiso where we got to see the historic buildings and Nerudo's home. We rode one of the funiculars up one hill, where our driver met up with us. We then drove to Vina Del Mar, the Nice of Chile, and stopped at a delightful castle on the water for lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A colorful port town - with loads of history and character - well worth visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Jaime was and excellent guide and very knowledgeable.
Valparaiso was interesting from its historic perspective,
but its glory days have passed. Worth the trip if you are
already in Santiago.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

An interesting day trip to Valpairiso. We did not stop at the vineyards as we had a wine tour booked for a later date. Our guide, Christian was knowledgeable and made our visit to Valpairiso enjoyable. He was also delighted when I suggested we stopped for a morning coffee as he had elected to stay in bed a little longer rather than have breakfast before picking us up from our hotel. I was a bit worried that we couldn't confirm our hotel for pickup as requested by Viator.com because we arrived on the weekend. However this did not appear to be necessary as we had already indicated which hotel we were staying at when we made the booking. This is not all that clear on the Viator.com information when you book the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

worth visiting and see something special.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour to Valparaiso and Vina del Mar was very nice. The winery Emiliana that we stopped at on the way was a definite highlight and would recommend everyone tries a sample, even if it's before noon. There was a government strike at the time we took the tour and weren't able to stay in the Sota Mayor square because of a demonstration, and the Pablo Neurida museum was closed. Other than that the tour was good and we only had two other people with us so it was a nice small group.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Without doing this tour we would have a vastly different perspective of Santiago. So good to have seen Valparaiso and its contrasting urban environments.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed the trip but would have liked more time to wander around rather than be driven to look out points which in the cloudy atmosphere were not offering too much of a view.

The restaurant was good but expensive so again would be nice to have some warning of this cost as we had to pay by credit card.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

If you only have one day to see the coast from Santiago, this is a good alternative. Not too crowded and hits all the high spots. Tour guide Freddie was friendly and accommodative, but not too informative.

One huge downside is that Viator requires the purchase of 2 adult tickets, even if only one is travelling. This makes no sense if they wish to capture the travelling on business market.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Wonderful tour with a great tour guide. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is only going to be in Santiago for a day or two.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Vina del mar and Valparaiso are two quite different cities. Valparaiso is very exciting place and is worth visiting. Funicular rides was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The trip met expectations. The tour guide was excellent and overall was good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The trip was as good as I would expect.
My only complaint was in arranging the pick up from our hotel. It happened but not without a great deal of difficulty. If you could enter your hotel details when making the booking it would be allay a certain amount of stress.

Norm

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Nicely organized covering important points in Valparaiso and Del Mar. Lunch stop offered good food. Neruda's home was closed for some reason. Vina Del Mar is a nice beach town ideal for a summer beach vacation though our visit was in Spring.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great guide, excellent driver. It was raining and foggy on the day, but the guide made up for it with his commentary. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This was one of my favorite tours. I learned a lot about the Chilean cultural and the history of the city in the 1800.

Paul C
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good tour but could be coupled with Santiago sightseeing by adding an extra hour
We were told that tour did not include a stop at winery ( which we believe was advertised ) but the driver, after agreement of other ( 2 ) tourists stopped at the winery along the highway to Valparaiso.
The selection of lunch in Vina del Mar was a ripoff....you would be better off to eat on your own ( since lunch was not included )...The restaurant just off the beach ( with hundreds of small flags displayed outside ) was very expensive, menus were in Spanish only and staff did not speak English...Even our driver went to eat elsewhere

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide Maria was not too informative unless asked and then she was great! Definately worth the trip and was only 4 of us - even better value!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

The trip itself covered all that was mentioned in the outline. The process of calling the local tour operator and trying to organize for pickup was somehow cumbersome. I was surprised to see that we were the only participants of the tour. Se we like had a private tour in a nice jeep car. Our tour operator Jackie Aliste gave excellent information about the country and local interesting facts. We stopped at many points of interest. Overall an excllent trip worth taking.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

This was a great trip with a very knowledgeable guide. The lunch was pricey - but good. My only complaint was that we didn't stop at a vineyard as the web site states. When I mentioned it I was told that it does'nt state it on my receipt - however the receipt only showed the title - not the itinerary. Anyway, clicking on the link, does state stopping at a vineyard and sampling product.

From USD $ 130.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3452SCL301E

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message