• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 64 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Santiago, Chile
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 64 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The trip was as good as I would expect.
My only complaint was in arranging the pick up from our hotel. It happened but not without a great deal of difficulty. If you could enter your hotel details when making the booking it would be allay a certain amount of stress.

Norm

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Nicely organized covering important points in Valparaiso and Del Mar. Lunch stop offered good food. Neruda's home was closed for some reason. Vina Del Mar is a nice beach town ideal for a summer beach vacation though our visit was in Spring.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great guide, excellent driver. It was raining and foggy on the day, but the guide made up for it with his commentary. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This was one of my favorite tours. I learned a lot about the Chilean cultural and the history of the city in the 1800.

Paul C
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good tour but could be coupled with Santiago sightseeing by adding an extra hour
We were told that tour did not include a stop at winery ( which we believe was advertised ) but the driver, after agreement of other ( 2 ) tourists stopped at the winery along the highway to Valparaiso.
The selection of lunch in Vina del Mar was a ripoff....you would be better off to eat on your own ( since lunch was not included )...The restaurant just off the beach ( with hundreds of small flags displayed outside ) was very expensive, menus were in Spanish only and staff did not speak English...Even our driver went to eat elsewhere

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide Maria was not too informative unless asked and then she was great! Definately worth the trip and was only 4 of us - even better value!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

The trip itself covered all that was mentioned in the outline. The process of calling the local tour operator and trying to organize for pickup was somehow cumbersome. I was surprised to see that we were the only participants of the tour. Se we like had a private tour in a nice jeep car. Our tour operator Jackie Aliste gave excellent information about the country and local interesting facts. We stopped at many points of interest. Overall an excllent trip worth taking.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

This was a great trip with a very knowledgeable guide. The lunch was pricey - but good. My only complaint was that we didn't stop at a vineyard as the web site states. When I mentioned it I was told that it does'nt state it on my receipt - however the receipt only showed the title - not the itinerary. Anyway, clicking on the link, does state stopping at a vineyard and sampling product.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

We had a pleasant day touring Vina del Mar and Valparaiso. A lot of territory was covered. Would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Pablo did an excellent job. He knew the area very well. He was familiar with the sreets. It was interesting to see the low cost housing on the hills in comparison to Vina Del Mar. The restaurant for lunch was very good. We enjoyed the winery stop and seeing the Easter Island statue.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Viator made it very easy to book our tour. Marcelo was a very engaging tour guide. The trip south to Vina Del Mar and then to Valparaiso was long (about 1 1/2 hours each way), but the sites were very nice, Marcelo spoke a lot to us about the history of the country as well as local history, and we made some very nice stops along the way at various places, to walk around and see sites, shop, have lunch, etc. Overall we would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The day tour was very good. Maribelle the guide was great an enhanced the tour. It was nice to get out of Santiago and see the coast. Valparaiso was seemed more authentic than Vina Del Mar but only in the way that it was less upmarket and did not seem 'stuck up'. The only negative I can point out on this tour was the restaurant we went to. Nearly all the tour buses stop here. It is called Castillo Del Mar. If you look in Trip Advisor, it is ranked near the bottom for restaurants in the area. I would request to eat somewhere else if given the opportunity. If you have to eat here, I would only get a main. I made the mistake of ordering the scallops as a starter then getting lobster for my main dish. Both were woeful. he service at the start was fine however gets progressively worse, especially when it starts to fill up as they seemed short staffed.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The trip to Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso was fantastic. My husband and I both enjoyed the relaxing day trip. Our host and driver were great company and were very helpful. The day went superbly and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves enough to comfortably fall asleep in our transport on the way back to the hotel. The service pick-up and drop off were very timely too.

Rudy K
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good day trip to the coast of Chile! The guide was quite informative and knowledgeable about Chile and Valparaiso in general. It was a private tour, we did get to do our own thing when there was an opportunity. I was hoping for more freedom to dictate timings. This in no way reflects negatively on the tour or guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Slightly overpriced tour. Basically paid for the ride there. Places were beautiful and worth visiting. Did not like the lunch place we were brought to and forced to eat at. Other than that, it was a good way to spend the day.

From USD $ 159.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3452SCL301E

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message