4.5 star rating: Recommended 69 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Santiago, Chile
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 69 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Viator made it very easy to book our tour. Marcelo was a very engaging tour guide. The trip south to Vina Del Mar and then to Valparaiso was long (about 1 1/2 hours each way), but the sites were very nice, Marcelo spoke a lot to us about the history of the country as well as local history, and we made some very nice stops along the way at various places, to walk around and see sites, shop, have lunch, etc. Overall we would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The day tour was very good. Maribelle the guide was great an enhanced the tour. It was nice to get out of Santiago and see the coast. Valparaiso was seemed more authentic than Vina Del Mar but only in the way that it was less upmarket and did not seem 'stuck up'. The only negative I can point out on this tour was the restaurant we went to. Nearly all the tour buses stop here. It is called Castillo Del Mar. If you look in Trip Advisor, it is ranked near the bottom for restaurants in the area. I would request to eat somewhere else if given the opportunity. If you have to eat here, I would only get a main. I made the mistake of ordering the scallops as a starter then getting lobster for my main dish. Both were woeful. he service at the start was fine however gets progressively worse, especially when it starts to fill up as they seemed short staffed.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The trip to Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso was fantastic. My husband and I both enjoyed the relaxing day trip. Our host and driver were great company and were very helpful. The day went superbly and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves enough to comfortably fall asleep in our transport on the way back to the hotel. The service pick-up and drop off were very timely too.

Rudy K
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good day trip to the coast of Chile! The guide was quite informative and knowledgeable about Chile and Valparaiso in general. It was a private tour, we did get to do our own thing when there was an opportunity. I was hoping for more freedom to dictate timings. This in no way reflects negatively on the tour or guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Slightly overpriced tour. Basically paid for the ride there. Places were beautiful and worth visiting. Did not like the lunch place we were brought to and forced to eat at. Other than that, it was a good way to spend the day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was wonderful. He was knowledgeable, friendly and overall fun. The only thing we would change would be where we had lunch. The recommended restaurant was not very appealing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Thoroughly enjoyable introduction to Chile. Would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

If you only have a day the trip is worth doing. Disappointments were misled by NOT being able to enter the Nedura Museum admission listed as included in the price and no choice in lunch restaurant resulting in an overpriced lunch. However, the guide was very nice and knowledgeable of the tour sites.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

We enjoyed this tour and the drive from Santiago to Valparaiso. Our guide was very knowledgeable, articulate and courteous. He and the driver were on time to pick us up from our hotel. The tour was very comprehensive and we enjoyed all the stops. The drive up and down Valparaiso's hills was very impressive. The scenery along the coastline from Valparaiso to Vina del Mar and the northern coast was spectacular. Definitely worth doing!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

We enjoyed both places and also stopped a winery along the way. The restaurant was not up to par, cold food. The printout for the trip said tips included and the guide did not agree - we did not like buying a package with tips included to be told differently during the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Driver was excellent and the tour very informative and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Same great drive and guide, both very accommodating. All in all, a lovely tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Vina Del Mar was nice, didn't like that they dropped us at a pricey, snobbish place for lunch instead of downtown and everyone to pick his/her own place and meet later. In Valparaiso didn't visit Neruda's house. Can book it in the hotel for 60$ instead of 90-100$ online. Was OK, better book in Chle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

We did both this trip and the vineyard trip and definitely did not enjoy this one as much. This is no bearing on the tour company or the guide, who were both wonderful. We did find that Valparaiso was very uninteresting and very dirty. The history of the town is more interesting than the town itself. Vina del Mar is more pleasant and catered towards tourism. I loved Chile, but I was really expecting a fascinating, sea side town but unfortunately, Valparaiso wasn't one.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Was nice to see these places and glad I went but were not amazing. The restaurant we stopped at in Vina del Mar was not so great; we sat downstairs as there was another tour sitting in the upstairs section but service was poor. Tour guide also explained everything in English but his time-keeping was not great. Tour was a little expensive for what it was.

From USD $ 139.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3452SCL301E

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message