Insider's Guide to Shanghai

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 210 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Mary Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour far exceeded our expectations. We had a very small group and Fran was our guide. We went to the Shanghai museum and spent a long time with the collection of bronzes that go back 13 centuries BC. We toured the Yu gardens where Fran gave a lot of extra information about the meaning of the Gardens and special features. We visited the Jade Buddah Temple and Fran made it come alive with information. We also had a very informative and pleasant tea tasting and a productive pearl shopping visit. Because we took so much time with pictures and reading at the museum and gardens, we ran out of time for the French Concession, but we had booked the custom tour the next day so we combined that with the Shanghai Art Museum and a great lunch, for a wonderful day. The only thing that needs to change, for us foodies, is where Viator schedules the lunch for this all day tour, which apparently is based on where parking is available not the food. Fran could not change that so I suggest you make a special request in advance to have a different lunch spot.

Galina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with Fran. She took us to the beautiful Yuyuan garden and knew the most beautiful spots there.
Delicious lunch, enough time to see the important sites although I would have liked to spend more time in the museum
Highly recommended
Highly recommended

Timothy B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour! I truly enjoyed this trip. The only thing I would suggest is dump the peral factory tour. The tea tasting was fun and the museum was also enjoyable. Lunch was provided on this tour and the lunch was very good!

Grayden H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Gregory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This day trip of the city was great our guide Frank was very professional and had great local knowledge.
This trip was well worth doing.

cliff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We only had one day in Shanghai and we are very happy we spent that day with you tour.

Sherry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I was picked up promptly at my hotel, the van was clean and in good condition. The tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke very good english. Enjoyed all the sites that we visited and did not feel rushed. It was a great day!

kritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent introduction to Shanghai

SOPHIE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way of seeing all there is to see in Shanghai in one day. Frank was a great guide with lots of knowledge to share, which made the visit even more interesting. I would have liked to have more time to spend in the museum however, the artefacts it contains are all very interesting, and so beautiful, one hour to see it all is sadly not enough... well, I suppose I'll have to go back then! :o)

Cody.Stone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great tour allowing you to see all of the must see sights of the city. My tour guide, Frank was fabulous, and he spoke English perfectly. I'd highly recommend not only this tour, but also requesting Frank as your tour guide. He is extremely knowledgable, and friendly making for the perfect day exploring beautiful Shanghai! A+

Dennis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Expert Guide Jackie made this tour special in everyway - Highly recommend this tour for those whom have a day and wish to take in all the special sights that Shanghai has to offer

waferworld USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

nice tour, good guide and driver, loved Shanghai

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was excellent.

Sharron F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was very interesting and informative and Frank was an excellent tour guide. You got to see many interesting places.

denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Lorraine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour - managed to see so much of Shanghai I would have missed if I hadn't done the tour. Chris the tour guide was excellent giving a real insight into life in Shanghai. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Delwen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour again Frank told us so much about China's history.When we return in the spring we will be looking for Frank to do our tours.

Maya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! My mom and I enjoyed our tour very much\ and Chris was a good tour guide.

Bruno P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice experience. Maybe due to the season, we were only 4 visitors, traveling in a voyager type SUV, so very convenient and convivial. Even if there are always the tourist traps to go to some shops (pearls and silk) , it is done in a very soft way and we didn't feel obliged to buy anything. The day was well busy and and ready worths the price. No surprises, no additional costs, everything included. The lunch was very good and large enough. The guide very gentle. Everything run smoothly and I can only recommend to book such a day trip. Maybe one improvement : to take the lift up to this highest skyscrapper dominating the Pudong financial quarter...

Greg L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend this tour especially if you have limited time to see the city. Our tour guide Chris was excellent. A must do if in Shanghai

Mauricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour sites are excellent; the tour guide needed more energy; we had to continue to ask "where are we now questions" as guide was not so active. The two stops at local companies for pearls and silk were too long, and they make you feel stressed if we did not purchase anything. But, the sites and length of tour was perfect! Beautiful Shanghai!

Louai A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The trip was excellent, the tourist guide was very knowlegable and organized. we were able to see all the attractions within the time assigned for the trip.
the most enjoyable attraction was Yu Garden.

Cinnamen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I thought Chris Ding is a fantastic tour guide. His passion and knowledge really made my visit a wonderful experience. It made me fall in love with China and I will certainly be back to visit and do some of the day tours to the country side. Thank you for a great time! Cinnamen

vivi United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

we liked the tour but not the restaurant

Neda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! A must! We saw 4 more sites on this tour than sticking with the offer from our larger tour group...lunch by the bund was tasty!

Viewing 2 of 9

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 78.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message