• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Hangzhou and West Lake are marvelous places to escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. I experienced paradise.

MOHAMED ALI M
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Very good tour, did not fancy driving in China or anywhere near Shanghai, so this was an excellent way to see some of the beautiful scenery around Hangzhou.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fantastic day trip - a must for people visiting Shanghai.

Susan S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

A really incredible experience. A great tour with a very good tour guide. I would recommend this tour very highly.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Really enjoyed this beautiful area. It truly was "heaven on earth" Enjoyed guide, Chris. Such a beautiful area. Great lunch also.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

A wonderful excursion. Very small group, great guide, The most beautiful place we saw while in China.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Tour was good but the excellent tour guide (Frank) really made it. The drive was a bit long but the conversation was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Lovely day! Transport and driver excellent. The guide (Frank) was helpful, knowledgeable and very organised; he spoke good English and made the day very enjoyable. The tea factory and learning about green tea was really interesting. Particularly liked the gardens and lake area.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very nice and relaxing tour, nice views

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Hangzhou is a beautiful city,the lake is fabulous.It turned out to be a private tour, the car was luxurious, the guide and driver ok (nothing special). It is a long journey from Shanghai. I would prefer if the Felai Peak could be part of the tour,since it takes so much time to go in Hangzhou. The lunch was poor with no variety (the worst meal we had in China).The tea plantation is interesting, but too expensive (40 euros for a few gramars) and the employers a little 'pushy'.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A lovely place, worthy to be visited, my only caveat is the crazy traffick to and from Hangzhou. However it was my first day in China, so even that was an adventure!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We had a pleasant and hustle-free day trip tour to Hangzhou. If you can climb to the top of the Liuhe Pogoda (beware of its steep steps), you'll be rewarded with a good view of the West Lake and Hangzhou city. Lucky to have a pleasurable and patience tour guide like Tracy, who's from Guilin.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great day out

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

While is tour is great, it is not as breathtaking as the Suzhou/Zhouzhuang tour.
Not much to see during the boat ride, but the rest of the tour was quite enjoyable. You get to see a pond with 5000 gold fishes!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

It takes 2.5hrs to get to Hangzhou by car from Shanghai so there is a lot of time spent on the road on this tour. If you only have time for 1 day tour in Shanghai, l would recommend the Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village day trip. However, if you have extra time and enjoy gardens, tea and nature, this is still worth the time. My friend and l both enjoyed our time here. To make this tour more attractive, l would suggest that lunch should be arranged at one of the local home/teahouses around the tea plantations so you get more of a local culinary experience. Also, though West Lake is the main attraction in Hangzhou, l would recommend that some more time be allocated to have a free wonder at Nine Creeks as it was quite a beautiful park, and cooler! Note that the tour does not cover a walk inside the Pagoda.

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message