3.5 star rating: Worth doing 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It's true that the trip by bus is very long, 2.5 hours, but it worth it. The places are amazing, really beautiful. The pagoda is incredible. I would like to spend more time there to go to the top of the building, later you go to the Tea Village. I loved learning everything about the different kinds of green tea and its properties, here I only bought one bottle of the very good tea for 300 RMB. Now I realize that I had to buy more because in Shanghai it is more expensive, the good one. And finally we went to the West Lake, now I understand the name 'Heaven on Earth', everybody should go there. Our guide was great, really friendly and helpful!!! He made the trip very interesting because he explained to us a lot of stories and legends about the places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Hangzhou and West Lake are marvelous places to escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. I experienced paradise.

MOHAMED ALI M
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Very good tour, did not fancy driving in China or anywhere near Shanghai, so this was an excellent way to see some of the beautiful scenery around Hangzhou.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fantastic day trip - a must for people visiting Shanghai.

Susan S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

A really incredible experience. A great tour with a very good tour guide. I would recommend this tour very highly.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour, a little long

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The national park is breathtaking, the scenery is beautiful
Our guide Jackie was pleasant and well informed.
We had lunch in a hotel, the food was bland and boring. I suggested to Jackie that he should find another restaurant with more authentic cuisine.
On the way back the road was extremely uneven and bumpy. These were minor details compared to the overall wonderful experience

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide Frank was very articulate and knowledgeable. The sights were worth the cost.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A trip well worth doing, a very good day out beautiful scenery right up into the mountains stunning views of the lake and tea plantation, Chris our guide was very informative of local knowledge and history he made the trip even better, the lunch stop was good in a local hotel, your take loads of photos.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Really enjoyed this beautiful area. It truly was "heaven on earth" Enjoyed guide, Chris. Such a beautiful area. Great lunch also.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

A wonderful excursion. Very small group, great guide, The most beautiful place we saw while in China.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Tour was good but the excellent tour guide (Frank) really made it. The drive was a bit long but the conversation was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Lovely day! Transport and driver excellent. The guide (Frank) was helpful, knowledgeable and very organised; he spoke good English and made the day very enjoyable. The tea factory and learning about green tea was really interesting. Particularly liked the gardens and lake area.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very nice and relaxing tour, nice views

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Hangzhou is a beautiful city,the lake is fabulous.It turned out to be a private tour, the car was luxurious, the guide and driver ok (nothing special). It is a long journey from Shanghai. I would prefer if the Felai Peak could be part of the tour,since it takes so much time to go in Hangzhou. The lunch was poor with no variety (the worst meal we had in China).The tea plantation is interesting, but too expensive (40 euros for a few gramars) and the employers a little 'pushy'.

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_04

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message