3.5 star rating: Worth doing 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

In my opinion, we spent too much time on the lake and not enough to visit the pagoda. The guide was very good.

Apple K
Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Everything was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very good!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

The trip was very pleasant. The guide and the driver were excellent. Hangzhou is lovely place to spend a leisurely Sunday afternoon. But West Lake reminded me of other places I had seen. When time is limited it is a difficult question, what to see and what not to see. Four hours have to be spent in transit to see a lovely but not entirely unique lake.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Personnel did a great job. However, the weather was cool and cloudy. That diminished the otherwise excellent quality of the trip.

Garry E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Worth doing but I was the only person on the tour and the tour guide, although personable enough, was a bit quiet and didn't seem to be enthusiastic. Maybe unavoidable for a single person tour.

Paul H
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

This trip was good. I was lucky enough to be the only one on the tour, so my experience may differ from others. West Lake was very nice, but I would be hard pressed to call it 'Heaven on Earth'. It is definitely nicer than Shanghai, but it is still quite smoggy and crowded. The tea visit was nice, as was the garden. The lunch was pretty good as well. Still I enjoyed the trip it is a long time travelling about 3 hours each way.

Elaine K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Unfortunately the weather was not good, as it rained all day and was very misty, which meant that it was not easy to see the scenery while we were cruising on the lake. It is a trip that I would like to do again in better weather.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

I had a very short amount of time to see the sights while in Shanghai but at the same time didn't want to only see one city in China. As such, the Hangzhou Heaven on Earth tour was perfect. It is a great day where you see so much and come away with a really good experience of the China that lives outside of Shanghai. The boat ride, visit to the Pagoda and the Dragon Well Tea plantation were real highlights. Highly recommended!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Yes I would recommend this trip. The guide was very good and was happy to explain life in China in general I thought his base knowledge was excellent. Tea tasting very commercial

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The Tour was over all good.
However, the west lake visit could have been shortened a bit. It was a long walk around the lake, and then a ride by the boat around the lake. walking and boat riding was almost the same, repeating the same scenes and wasting time that could have been used to see another attraction in Hangzhou.

Lunch was acceptable. Soft drinks were served room temperature (not from the fridge). Who drinks soft drinks room temperature? when asked for ice, i was given the answer, this is cold enough, you don't need an ice in a rude way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This was a very nice tour including the boat ride on West Lake. The guide was knowledgeable. The driver however was very very reckless and aggressive in his driving ( I am able to compare him to 5 other drivers we had for tours in China) and it made my overall rating of this really very good tour lower.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great place!But the tour guide was rude and horrible! He should Be accomodating when we are asking questions.He's always in a hurry, he should understand that we are there to take some time to enjoy the scenery and take pictures. He should also volunteer on taking SOME of our pictures.worst tourguide

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

I enjoyed my day. I wish my tour guide was a little more informative at the sights on the history. He spoke a lot to the driver in Chinese all day. I had to ask a lot of questions rather than the guide offering information.

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about tour guide's service with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

It's ok, it gives you an idea of the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

It was a good trip, however I wld have liked to spent more time in the Lake area-and the boat trip was pretty short. However the guide was helpful and I very much appreciated the effort she went to to have my jacket that I had left in the Restaurant returned to me. The driver for both our trips was exceptional-he managed to drive through peak traffic at a reasonable speed and somehow direct us through without any problems or feeling unsafe. He was great.

Bruce W
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Guide and driver were friendly and helpful. It is a long day trip, two hours each way, and it would be good to add something else to the Hangzhou end to make the journey more worthwhile. The West Lake itself was lovely. The pagoda visit after lunch was a bit of a non-event. Lunch itself was inedible.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Hangzhou is a scenic location. We had a good time there. Unfortunately, the journey is a bit long from Shanghai (about 3 hrs). Our guide, Frankie, is a friendly person but he is still new in the job, I think. He didn't provide much commentaries about the location, the building, etc.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Beautiful place to visit. Recommend trip for the destiation. But; van smaller than on previous trips, older and somewhat dirty with mushy odour. A pity for a 2.5 travel time each way. Felt rushed when walking around, especially short time at the pictureqse fish lake area.

Amy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Beautiful gardens and the green tea village demo / tasting was interesting

Trevor H
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

It was a very long drive (heavy traffic) from Shanghai. I would have preferred to travel by train to Hangzhou and be collected from the station by bus and shown around. Hangzhou, the lake, the pagoda and tea fields are all interesting. If you can avoid the drive and catch a train, then visit this area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

A huge day with so much jammed in. We went unfortunately on a public holiday and got caught in traffic for hours. To see the traditional site of tea and to be educated in the fine arts of tea making was well worth the trip in the end though.

Mavis Chi Lai H
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Hangzhou was beautiful but unfortunately for us it was raining on the day which spolit it. I would check the weather forecast before going because it can make a big difference to your experience. It is worth going but we spent a lot of the time driving there and back rather than spending time enjoying the scenery. The guide also cut short our tour because there was only two of us which I felt was unfair. We were also asked to pay extra to go up the Pagoda which is terrible because it should already be included.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message