• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 91 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 91 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

If you visit Shanghai, you must visit Hangzhou. Although it is a long trip, it is worth it but I could see how some might think otherwise due to the fact that you're spending almost half of the time driving. The main reason I decided on this trip is the visit to the Meijiawu tea village where they specialize in dragonwell green tea. The tea from this region is not only difficult to find but extremely expensive outside of China it is still relatively expensive from the village as well. If you rented a car to visit, it would have cost more and you're probably going to get lost or into a car accident with the crazy driving going on in Shanghai.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

In my opinion, we spent too much time on the lake and not enough to visit the pagoda. The guide was very good.

Apple K
Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Everything was good.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very good!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

The trip was very pleasant. The guide and the driver were excellent. Hangzhou is lovely place to spend a leisurely Sunday afternoon. But West Lake reminded me of other places I had seen. When time is limited it is a difficult question, what to see and what not to see. Four hours have to be spent in transit to see a lovely but not entirely unique lake.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Personnel did a great job. However, the weather was cool and cloudy. That diminished the otherwise excellent quality of the trip.

Garry E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Worth doing but I was the only person on the tour and the tour guide, although personable enough, was a bit quiet and didn't seem to be enthusiastic. Maybe unavoidable for a single person tour.

Paul H
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

This trip was good. I was lucky enough to be the only one on the tour, so my experience may differ from others. West Lake was very nice, but I would be hard pressed to call it 'Heaven on Earth'. It is definitely nicer than Shanghai, but it is still quite smoggy and crowded. The tea visit was nice, as was the garden. The lunch was pretty good as well. Still I enjoyed the trip it is a long time travelling about 3 hours each way.

Elaine K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Unfortunately the weather was not good, as it rained all day and was very misty, which meant that it was not easy to see the scenery while we were cruising on the lake. It is a trip that I would like to do again in better weather.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

I had a very short amount of time to see the sights while in Shanghai but at the same time didn't want to only see one city in China. As such, the Hangzhou Heaven on Earth tour was perfect. It is a great day where you see so much and come away with a really good experience of the China that lives outside of Shanghai. The boat ride, visit to the Pagoda and the Dragon Well Tea plantation were real highlights. Highly recommended!

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The Tour was over all good.
However, the west lake visit could have been shortened a bit. It was a long walk around the lake, and then a ride by the boat around the lake. walking and boat riding was almost the same, repeating the same scenes and wasting time that could have been used to see another attraction in Hangzhou.

Lunch was acceptable. Soft drinks were served room temperature (not from the fridge). Who drinks soft drinks room temperature? when asked for ice, i was given the answer, this is cold enough, you don't need an ice in a rude way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This was a very nice tour including the boat ride on West Lake. The guide was knowledgeable. The driver however was very very reckless and aggressive in his driving ( I am able to compare him to 5 other drivers we had for tours in China) and it made my overall rating of this really very good tour lower.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great place!But the tour guide was rude and horrible! He should Be accomodating when we are asking questions.He's always in a hurry, he should understand that we are there to take some time to enjoy the scenery and take pictures. He should also volunteer on taking SOME of our pictures.worst tourguide

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

I enjoyed my day. I wish my tour guide was a little more informative at the sights on the history. He spoke a lot to the driver in Chinese all day. I had to ask a lot of questions rather than the guide offering information.

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about tour guide's service with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

It's ok, it gives you an idea of the city.

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message