• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 91 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 91 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

It was a good trip, however I wld have liked to spent more time in the Lake area-and the boat trip was pretty short. However the guide was helpful and I very much appreciated the effort she went to to have my jacket that I had left in the Restaurant returned to me. The driver for both our trips was exceptional-he managed to drive through peak traffic at a reasonable speed and somehow direct us through without any problems or feeling unsafe. He was great.

Bruce W
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Guide and driver were friendly and helpful. It is a long day trip, two hours each way, and it would be good to add something else to the Hangzhou end to make the journey more worthwhile. The West Lake itself was lovely. The pagoda visit after lunch was a bit of a non-event. Lunch itself was inedible.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Hangzhou is a scenic location. We had a good time there. Unfortunately, the journey is a bit long from Shanghai (about 3 hrs). Our guide, Frankie, is a friendly person but he is still new in the job, I think. He didn't provide much commentaries about the location, the building, etc.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Beautiful place to visit. Recommend trip for the destiation. But; van smaller than on previous trips, older and somewhat dirty with mushy odour. A pity for a 2.5 travel time each way. Felt rushed when walking around, especially short time at the pictureqse fish lake area.

Amy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Beautiful gardens and the green tea village demo / tasting was interesting

Trevor H
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

It was a very long drive (heavy traffic) from Shanghai. I would have preferred to travel by train to Hangzhou and be collected from the station by bus and shown around. Hangzhou, the lake, the pagoda and tea fields are all interesting. If you can avoid the drive and catch a train, then visit this area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

A huge day with so much jammed in. We went unfortunately on a public holiday and got caught in traffic for hours. To see the traditional site of tea and to be educated in the fine arts of tea making was well worth the trip in the end though.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Hangzhou was beautiful but unfortunately for us it was raining on the day which spolit it. I would check the weather forecast before going because it can make a big difference to your experience. It is worth going but we spent a lot of the time driving there and back rather than spending time enjoying the scenery. The guide also cut short our tour because there was only two of us which I felt was unfair. We were also asked to pay extra to go up the Pagoda which is terrible because it should already be included.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The description of this tour suggested a countryside experience and I was not expecting the over 6 hour round car trip. The lake was beautiful but by the time we got there it was absolutely crawling with people and impossible to take photos without lots of strangers in them. The tea plantation visit was interesting but I would have liked to actually get closer to the fields and people and I felt that the focus was more on selling the product. Hotel pick up was prompt, the car was comfortable and the guide Frank was great- personable, interesting and knowledgeable.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was a nice gentlemen. Although, I was disappointed with the long roundtrip drive from Shanghai, short amount of time at the lake, and lack-luster 'Western-style' Chinese lunch.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

the drive was much longer than planned and the sights weren't exceptional. there is a fast train that goes there- that might be a better option to explore the area.
the tea plantation was pretty

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

It was super hot the day we did this tour and the air conditioning on the very long bus ride to Hangzhou was not very effective. We sat outside on the boat cruise because of the heat, so didn't really get the full effect. The tour guide was interesting and was happy to answer questions. The tea plantation was interesting as long as you are happy to get the hard sell on expensive green tea products. The biggest disappointment was the lunch which seemed to be made especially for westerners, i.e. not very authentic, very sweet and not nearly as good as the other real Chinese meals we had during our stay in Shanghai.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

I again would give this a 5 for the scenery and spots. However, me and my friend were unlucky enough to be stuck with Frank for this tour as well (read my Suzhou review). This time 2 other tourists joined us. Frank performed better on this day. Or more specifically, he treated the two other tourists better than us (preferential treatment based on age or race?!). He gave better descriptions and spoke more about history. I jokingly brought up how he did not talk that much about history on the previous day's tour. This ignited the fire. He started to ignore me and gave me a hard time for the next few hours. During the second half of the tour, he started to cool down to make sure I would rate him better on the survey. On the way back to the hotels, he handed me the survey. I already knew he was going to crack it open once I finished filling it out so I decided to not rate him so poorly (I wanted to voice my opinion on Viator instead). And of course, he did open it in front of everyone and read it before stuffing it in his bag! If I am ever to go back here, I would not join this tour again.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about guide's customer service with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Insufficient time spent walking around lake, too much time spent at tea presentation. A long journey for what is on offer, but interesting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

I was hoping for a rural contrast to Shanghai (where I go for business frequently). However, Hangzhou is almost 10MM people and is just as urban as any other major metro in China.

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message