4 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved it, beautiful at night.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable evening

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was worth trying. I was a solo traveler and it was my first time there. I could spend only a half day for sightseeing so taking this tour was a good idea. The boat was
not a luxurious cruise but it was good enough to understand the city of Shanghai.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good. We received a boat ride on the Hungo River and the lights at night were fantastic. We then went to the Bund. We rode on a train down the Bund and watched the lights. The only issue I had was I thought it was a little unprofessional that the tour guide left the tour before we were dropped off at our hotel. Other than that it was a fun tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Skyline is awesome. Boat was nice. So convienient to have pick up and drop off at our hotel. Didn't really appreciate being hit up for other private tours while we were driving tot the cruise, but it wasn't a big deal. Guide was friendly and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

very friendly tour operator and nice boat

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We had a great trip on the river.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Excellent views - rather brief though.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

I thought the tour was excellent and it was great to take my family around Shanghai. The tour guides were fantastic and really enthusiastic about their city. They had also been on a separate trip to Hangzhou that day but despite the long day they were still geared up to show us Shanghai at night.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great nite-time activity. However, the ferry or boat we were on was very crowded and no services and the tour operator doesn't accompany you-- so a bit of confusion. There was nothing else to this tour but a ride around picking up people and dropping off people at hotels and even though I thought the river and sights themselves were awesome, I was a bit disappointed in the tour group stuff. Think it should have included a free drink or a stop somewhere for something else other than people's hotels. Just my opinion, but I was in Shanghai for a week and found other tours were more inclusive. This also was not very much money-- so you get what you pay for

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

very pretty view withe a pleasant tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

very enjoyable

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The cruise was great. We really enjoyed the views. The Peace Hotel and the Nanjing Rd shopping tram were not very good. Our guide, Tom, rushed us every bit of the way. I did not appreciate his being in such a hurry. He made us feel as if we were a burden and he did not want to be there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour was great. They picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel. We were the only one on the tour. It was pretty short duration for the amount of money. The guide dropped us off at the boat. We would have liked her to travel on the boat with us to talk with us about the sites we were seeing which were amazing at night!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Nice way to spend an evening. Ship was a bit too crowded, otherwise overall a good experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The view was fantastic, however we chose the wrong day .It was a a festival in Shanghai so our schedule was delayed and the trip was late.the guide could not accompany us on the boat and all the ticket booths busy with so many people we had to go to so many entrances before we could board the boat.
I was expecting the tickets to have been purchased in advance, so not a good start.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Local guide was courteous and helpful. A better description on the website would be helpful. Indicate that there are only snacks on board and the length of the cruise. Indicate that being outside is likely. A bit expensive for what it was.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

An evening cruise on a Mississippi style paddle steamer. The views were impressive - the loud music accompanying them not so. Cruise lasted about 75 minutes - the last 20 minutes enduring an interminable announcement on a loop from a lady telling me the tour was about to end.
Our guide remained on the shore for this part and then accompanied us to the Peace Hotel for a quick look at the impressive ground floor interior and then a ride in a trolley bus thing on the main shopping street.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I felt that the river cruise was very short. I thought it was 2 hours. But the cruise itself was less than one hour. The last hour was random things like touring a hotel lobby and riding a trolley on Nangjing Road. I could have lived without the last hour. I did like that the service included hotel pick up and drop off. Our tour guide was very nice and friendly too.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour is ok. It's nothing you couldn't do yourself it just saves you the time of having to organise it. The trip down Nanjing Road (the main shopping street) on the siteseeing train is good fun. Its good to see all of the neon signs lit up at night. A night time Huangpu river cruise is a must for anyone visiting Shanghai. The view on both sides of the river is very different, with the colonial buildings on one side and the flashing lights of the financial center on the other. If you like being shuttled around this is a great tour to do. If you are a bit more of an independant traveller easy to do this yourself.

Ameena T
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was great to be able to get out and see the city lights on the boats, it was raining quite a lot but we did at least see the skyscrapers occasionally until the mist descended, our guide was good, he was informative and spoke very good English, so we had no worries at all. Thank you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

We were on this tour Nov. 05,2010. Nice way to see Shanghai, enjoyed the river cruise, but again the other items included in the tour package were eliminated by the tour guide or simply rushed through them just so that he could finish and get home.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

We enjoyed the evening. The guide seemed to be in a hurry however, this was probably due to the weather, as it was quite cold. Very crowded conditions.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The river crusie was interesting, we did not get to experience the eveining walk along the Bund.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The river cruise was short (45 min), the stop at the Peace hotel to see the lobby was un-necessary. The "Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai" turned out to be 15 minute Nanjin Road trolley trip one way that didn't even make it to The Bund. Then our tour guide took us through a mall to exit to another street to get in the van for the ride back to the hotel. Not really good value for the money.

From USD $ 78.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message