4.5 star rating: Recommended 27 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 27 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up person was really good and as we suffered several flight delays, she was still there when we arrive 3 hours late. The return trip guide was less friendly but still very helpful

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Although expensive, this was a great service mainly because our guide Michael was just so pleasant, helpful and full of local knowledge and information. We had only 36 hours in Shanghai and his expertise really helped us make the most of it. Thanks Michael.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

guide was lovely. great command of English and had everything planned out. very efficient and a great way to get to the city. note that its an 8 minute ride and then you still have to take a car at the other side (but you save 30mins in total). this is expensive to do as the actual train ticket is cheap so if you're a little adventurous do it yourself and save serious $.

Karen T
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Great! Guide was fab! He was very friendly and accommodating. Such a quick trip. Although advertised as 500 kph - it appears that is only at certain times of the day otherwise it has a maximum of 300 kph - which is still 'Flying".

Debra G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Saved a lot of time and worry with the tour guide arranging everything and being able to speak English was a great help.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We definitely recommend this - easy and efficient.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Maglev train was fast, but could have been better air conditioned. Guide was nice and transfer to hotel was seamless.

gregwhittle
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We were met at the Airport upon arrival and taken to the MagLev train.It was quite exciting when you conside you are travelling at 430Kms per hour. Only for a short time but it was a great way to head towards Shanghai. The Maglev station is on the outskirts of Pudong and you take a van or car to your hotel. Our Van did not arrive for over 45 minutes (a miscommunication aparently) so the value of the train ride, was long gone by the time we made it to our hotel. Our guide was very nice and enbarrased by the delay. The return trip was via a nice car from the city to the Maglev terminal but the trains speed was restricted to 300Klms for some reason. All round, a really great trip just spoilt a little with delay at the terminal on the way into Shanghai. With the substantial cost of the Maglev, we would have to review before automatically rebooking next time.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about the transfer delay with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was an adequate service. We were promptly met at PVG airport and escorted to the MagLev Train. The ride was quick and uneventful. Unfortunately, after arriving, we had to be transferred to another taxi cab for our ride to the hotel. This took approximately 25+ minutes additionally. In all, a taxi ride from the onset would have been faster overall and with less cost. Before booking the MagLev, I recommend checking how far the station is from your hotel. Again, the train was quick and reliable. Some additional concerns need to be addressed if you have a lot of luggage is this was a problem getting on and off the train. We ultimately decided to take a return taxi back to the PVG airport instead of taking the train. It was much faster for us this way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Interesting to use the Maglev train. The transfers were well organized and we were expected both at Airport and at Hotel with clear signs. However the transfers Maglev Station/ Hotel/ Maglev Station were done in a very old vehicle. A bit expensive when you see the train fares and taxi costs in Shanghai, but good for the first time in town.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Service is excellent but overpriced.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

This was really a pain havng to haul our luggage on and off the train. Jennifer, the girl that picked us up was no help at all and she kept runining ahead of us. Almost lost her a couple times.

It was a 20 minute ride from the train station to our hotel at Tomorrow Square. As the car ride to the airport is only an hour, we didn't save any time taking the train. We opted to skip the train on our return, which was far easier. The guy that picked us up for the retrun trip was very nice and helpful.

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052PVGAPTRNDMAG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message