Insider's Guide to Shanghai

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 59 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kenneth H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Had a great day and the tour guide Frank was nice and friendly, he made me feel welcome and answered any questions. Frank had a hugh amount of knowledge that he shares along with some wisdome.
Should sign up for this tour it's fun and interesting.

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The Shanghai Museum is really worth the trip - very well arranged and a beautiful collection. Chris was a pleasant and knowledgeable guide. HIs commentary on the Jade Buddha Temple made for a richer experience. The Pearl Gallery is just a store and lunch was so so but overall the tour was definitely a good value and we all enjoyed ourselves.

Marion S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Transport and driver excellent. Enjoyed seeing the selected sites and especially the museum. Our Guide's English was quite good, but she tended to talk to the driver when on the road, and then lecture us when at a location.

Jacqueline G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a nice tour, the guide was great as he spoke English and provided a lot of information. Spent a little time at a pearl demostration which wasn't really worth it. I got a couple of items but I could have done without it. When I booked with Viator for my Italy tours these type of stops weren't a part of the trip which is why I booked via Viator again.

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent guide and driver. Would use again when in Shanghai

Nathaniel T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

I enjoyed my trip. My tour guide - Fenny - was very knowledgeable the place she has taken me to. She had both historical and contemporary knowledge of areas visited! It was worth every cent!.

Ismael J B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Good tour but we could have done without going to the pearl market.

Nantaporn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I'll give 5 stars if the program was not change. One of the reason that I bought this trip is because I am interested in Fresh Water Pearl . But I had to go to Silk Factory. Anyway the Guide is polite and sweet.

Kevin D United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was very good to see different parts of the city, and with a friendly guide!

Chris S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great experience. Tour guide and transportation was great--really enjoyed it.

Keith G Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The half-day tour was the ideal length. We wandered through the French Concession, toured the elaborate garden mentioned, and strolled the Bund. If you're shopping for silk, you'll love the Silk Factory stop, but it was a bit out of the way from the other sites and time-consuming. Our Chinese guide spoke very good English and stayed cheerful, despite the hundred-degree heat. The tour size, seven people, was perfect. Note that the order of sites listed on the Viator description doesn't necessarily correlate to reality if you're making plans following the tour.

David C New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour was relaxed. I was a sole tourist and the tour guide was helpful, informative and friendly. This tour is so worth doing if you are strapped for time and can't do the full day tour!

PATRICIA R United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable and on time - in fact too early in one case. As a lone tourist I felt very comfortable in the group.

randy c

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

did not really need to stop in various shops and be pressured in to buying.....silk shop and the shop at the bund

Hiran T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Organized tour guide, but limited selection of venues on half day tour.

Gelinga

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour was personal and gave us better appreciation of shanghai.
Be prepared for up sell at each location.
Lots of pressure to buy.

Matthew Francis K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour takes you to some great places. The Shanghai museum has some very interesting exhibits. We had 1.5 hours in there, which was fine for me, but if you are a bit more of a musuem buff then this maybe too short. I would recommend you go there yourself outside of this tour. The rest of this places are interesting but watch out for the hard sell. At the Pearl Museum and the Jade Budda Temple charity shop they will follow you around and push hard for sales. The tour guide will probably offer to take you to the silk factory too. Again, very interesting demonstration, but then its straight in to the hard sell.

Eril A. M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

the Guide was quite helpful and knew a lot about the sites. Even though we were a group of two she was not flexible (eg more time where we wanted), we had to go to the shops etc. And we only had 1 hour at the Museum not 1 1/2 as advertised, and we could have had half a day there happily. But it is a good way to get around easily if you are short of time.

Steve F New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour o fill in your morning, The temple was awesome not so fussed on the Jade factory but a good tour thanks

Werner S Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

good tour

Michael P United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Half day - too short - should have booked a full day

Patricia C United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good tour guide and the tour was as described, bit disappointed that we were taken to a Silk Factory which was obviously a ploy to get us to buy something, but on the whole good.

Maya R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The guide tour is nice but kinda rush me..I can't enjoy my trip in The Bund and Yu Garden..

Maranda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We chose the afternoon tour as we had arrived late the night before and did not want an early start. We were told that we would be collected at 1230 from our hotel which seemed very convenient. At 1225 I received a call to the room from the tour guide to say that she was waiting for us in reception. When we joined the tour it was apparent that the bus had been outside for at least 20 minutes and the other guests were, understandably, not very happy about having to wait. It also became clear that we had joined the full day tour for the afternoon session which seemed a little odd rather than having a bespoke half-day tour. The first stop was lunch, for which we were not included. This was a little frustrating as we could easily have been collected after lunch, however, we were able to pass the time taking pictures. The tour had already visited the silk factory which was detailed in our itinerary and so we missed out. The Yuyuan Garden was very beautiful but the Shanghai Old Street was incredibly busy and we did not have any time to explore the area. The tour finished at 1530 at the entertainment district where we had a very short walk and were then herded back to the bus. If it had been clear that that was the final destination of the tour (as it was only 1530 we assumed there was another stop) we would have stayed to enjoy the area a little longer and made our own way home. I don't think this was worth following a tour; it would be easy to visit the individual destinations to enjoy at your own pace.

Rob Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Apart from the Bund and Yu Garden we were taken to 3 different sales outlets when what we really wanted was a short overview of Shanghai itself. The guide could have been a bit more informative about the history of the city and the nuances of living in a city like Shanghai considering it is in a communist country but has a capitalistic outlook.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message