4 star rating: Recommended 50 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 50 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I'll give 5 stars if the program was not change. One of the reason that I bought this trip is because I am interested in Fresh Water Pearl . But I had to go to Silk Factory. Anyway the Guide is polite and sweet.

Kevin D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was very good to see different parts of the city, and with a friendly guide!

Chris S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Great experience. Tour guide and transportation was great--really enjoyed it.

Keith G
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The half-day tour was the ideal length. We wandered through the French Concession, toured the elaborate garden mentioned, and strolled the Bund. If you're shopping for silk, you'll love the Silk Factory stop, but it was a bit out of the way from the other sites and time-consuming. Our Chinese guide spoke very good English and stayed cheerful, despite the hundred-degree heat. The tour size, seven people, was perfect. Note that the order of sites listed on the Viator description doesn't necessarily correlate to reality if you're making plans following the tour.

David C
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour was relaxed. I was a sole tourist and the tour guide was helpful, informative and friendly. This tour is so worth doing if you are strapped for time and can't do the full day tour!

PATRICIA R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable and on time - in fact too early in one case. As a lone tourist I felt very comfortable in the group.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Organized tour guide, but limited selection of venues on half day tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour was personal and gave us better appreciation of shanghai.
Be prepared for up sell at each location.
Lots of pressure to buy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour takes you to some great places. The Shanghai museum has some very interesting exhibits. We had 1.5 hours in there, which was fine for me, but if you are a bit more of a musuem buff then this maybe too short. I would recommend you go there yourself outside of this tour. The rest of this places are interesting but watch out for the hard sell. At the Pearl Museum and the Jade Budda Temple charity shop they will follow you around and push hard for sales. The tour guide will probably offer to take you to the silk factory too. Again, very interesting demonstration, but then its straight in to the hard sell.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

the Guide was quite helpful and knew a lot about the sites. Even though we were a group of two she was not flexible (eg more time where we wanted), we had to go to the shops etc. And we only had 1 hour at the Museum not 1 1/2 as advertised, and we could have had half a day there happily. But it is a good way to get around easily if you are short of time.

Steve F
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour o fill in your morning, The temple was awesome not so fussed on the Jade factory but a good tour thanks

Werner S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

good tour

Michael P
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Half day - too short - should have booked a full day

Patricia C
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good tour guide and the tour was as described, bit disappointed that we were taken to a Silk Factory which was obviously a ploy to get us to buy something, but on the whole good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We chose the afternoon tour as we had arrived late the night before and did not want an early start. We were told that we would be collected at 1230 from our hotel which seemed very convenient. At 1225 I received a call to the room from the tour guide to say that she was waiting for us in reception. When we joined the tour it was apparent that the bus had been outside for at least 20 minutes and the other guests were, understandably, not very happy about having to wait. It also became clear that we had joined the full day tour for the afternoon session which seemed a little odd rather than having a bespoke half-day tour. The first stop was lunch, for which we were not included. This was a little frustrating as we could easily have been collected after lunch, however, we were able to pass the time taking pictures. The tour had already visited the silk factory which was detailed in our itinerary and so we missed out. The Yuyuan Garden was very beautiful but the Shanghai Old Street was incredibly busy and we did not have any time to explore the area. The tour finished at 1530 at the entertainment district where we had a very short walk and were then herded back to the bus. If it had been clear that that was the final destination of the tour (as it was only 1530 we assumed there was another stop) we would have stayed to enjoy the area a little longer and made our own way home. I don't think this was worth following a tour; it would be easy to visit the individual destinations to enjoy at your own pace.

Rob
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Apart from the Bund and Yu Garden we were taken to 3 different sales outlets when what we really wanted was a short overview of Shanghai itself. The guide could have been a bit more informative about the history of the city and the nuances of living in a city like Shanghai considering it is in a communist country but has a capitalistic outlook.

Julie S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

We went on the afternoon tour. It was fairly bland and the tour guide kept leaving us to go to the toilet.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

This tour did not live up to our expectations. We would have liked a better explanations of the key sights we visited. The trip was timely and we did go to all places indicated on the tour. The guide was very pleasant.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Pick-up time was earlier than scheduled - I was the only person on this tour so joined 2 people who were on day tour with their lunch included. I had option of going for a walk while they ate, or joining them at my own expense. The food was very poor. Free time for a stroll along the Bund waterfront, then to Yuyuan which is attractive but rather crowded. None of us were interested in the silk factory, so on to the "Former French Concession District" which is a joke. Buildings are not very old and there was nothing "French" about the district. A few expensive designer shops and a pedestrian area with outdoor cafes - typical of today's European cities. A novelty if you're Asian, but nothing of interest to Europeans. Not much point in stopping here unless you want to just sit in one of the cafes.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Gnot guide, Richard-was not informative at all
Had to ASK what was that, what was this
Rushed through sights
Minimum history of what we were seeing
I told him he needed a script
AND not full 4-hours
AND he was 30 minutes late for 12:30PM TOUR (Left AT 1PM)

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about guide's customer service with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Ann B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Felt this tour could have shown more of Shanghai - did morning tour but French quarter - the real history of Shanghai was included in the afternoon tour. Would love these tours to leave out the factories which are only shopping exercises and concentrate on the important sites.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

When made my reservation over the phone they told me that they'll pick me up at my hotel and drop me off. I even gave them the address. Half hour prior the tour they told me that I need to arrive on taxi as the transportation was'nt included. I don't recommend it, they dont have credibility!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

i thought this was a special half day tour, instead it was me attending half of the day of the full day tour since all the exciting places were visited in the afternoon, i had to miss all of them. the tour guide was good though!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

I didn't end up going on it. There is a hop on hop off bus and we just did that instead.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

Was very disappointed in the tour. They did not pick us up until 1:30 (it said 12:30 on our print out) and then ended the tour at 4:30. We went to the Pearl market, which was not on the itenerary. We told the guide we did not wish to visit the Pearl Market. but he said he was required to take us there, although he kept saying "You are in charge." The van was old and smelled of cigarette smoke. We had requested a non-smoking tour. We were rushed through the Yiyuan Gardens and the Bazaar as well as the French Concession.
I would NOT use this company to tour Shanghai again.

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message