4 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Steve F
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour o fill in your morning, The temple was awesome not so fussed on the Jade factory but a good tour thanks

Werner S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

good tour

Michael P
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Half day - too short - should have booked a full day

Patricia C
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good tour guide and the tour was as described, bit disappointed that we were taken to a Silk Factory which was obviously a ploy to get us to buy something, but on the whole good.

Rob
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Apart from the Bund and Yu Garden we were taken to 3 different sales outlets when what we really wanted was a short overview of Shanghai itself. The guide could have been a bit more informative about the history of the city and the nuances of living in a city like Shanghai considering it is in a communist country but has a capitalistic outlook.

Julie S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

We went on the afternoon tour. It was fairly bland and the tour guide kept leaving us to go to the toilet.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

This tour did not live up to our expectations. We would have liked a better explanations of the key sights we visited. The trip was timely and we did go to all places indicated on the tour. The guide was very pleasant.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Pick-up time was earlier than scheduled - I was the only person on this tour so joined 2 people who were on day tour with their lunch included. I had option of going for a walk while they ate, or joining them at my own expense. The food was very poor. Free time for a stroll along the Bund waterfront, then to Yuyuan which is attractive but rather crowded. None of us were interested in the silk factory, so on to the "Former French Concession District" which is a joke. Buildings are not very old and there was nothing "French" about the district. A few expensive designer shops and a pedestrian area with outdoor cafes - typical of today's European cities. A novelty if you're Asian, but nothing of interest to Europeans. Not much point in stopping here unless you want to just sit in one of the cafes.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Gnot guide, Richard-was not informative at all
Had to ASK what was that, what was this
Rushed through sights
Minimum history of what we were seeing
I told him he needed a script
AND not full 4-hours
AND he was 30 minutes late for 12:30PM TOUR (Left AT 1PM)

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about guide's customer service with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Felt this tour could have shown more of Shanghai - did morning tour but French quarter - the real history of Shanghai was included in the afternoon tour. Would love these tours to leave out the factories which are only shopping exercises and concentrate on the important sites.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

I didn't end up going on it. There is a hop on hop off bus and we just did that instead.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

Was very disappointed in the tour. They did not pick us up until 1:30 (it said 12:30 on our print out) and then ended the tour at 4:30. We went to the Pearl market, which was not on the itenerary. We told the guide we did not wish to visit the Pearl Market. but he said he was required to take us there, although he kept saying "You are in charge." The van was old and smelled of cigarette smoke. We had requested a non-smoking tour. We were rushed through the Yiyuan Gardens and the Bazaar as well as the French Concession.
I would NOT use this company to tour Shanghai again.

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message