Insider's Guide to Shanghai

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 292 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Arindam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour. Excellent arrangements. Own private vehicle and excellent tour guide. Suzhou and its museum was wonderful and Zhouzhuang was like heaven. Excellent lunch. Highly recommended.

Janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I thought this was a beautiful setting outside of Shanghai. It takes awhile to get there, due to the traffic. But, the tour and the lunch were terrific. We enjoyed every aspect of it.

keith e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

fantastic tour, highly recommended.

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Day Trip from Shanghai provided an excellent opportunity to economically and efficiently explore some different parts of China. We chose this trip because we wanted to visit a silk factory, but the tour provided so much more of interest. The silk factory tour was most comprehensive. We also appreciated the fact that this trip transversed many different areas: cities, urban developments, rural countryside, canals, historic gardens and traditional houses. The guide was most informative and helpful. We were pleased with the flexibility that was available so that special interests could be accommodated. In summary, a most worth-while experience.

Nelson R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

guide was knowledgeable, the city of Zhouzhuang was definitely the highlight of this tour-- highly recommended- the food provided for lunch was OK but not particularly great.... it was nice to get out of the big city, though

Philip Czaplowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I could not have been happier. It was a small group, bordering on a private tour. The guide was not only knowledgable, but also caring in respect of the tour participants. I've used Viator a few times now, and never been dissapointed.

mjb81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Amazing experience in the Zhouzhaung water village. Venice of the orient!

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great guide. This day-trip is amazing. You see the silk factory and a nice museum and the Zhouzhuang Water village is AMAZING. This is a really great espace from busy Shanghai.

Robert M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The trip to the Water Village was a highlight of our trip to China. Something everyone should due. Transportation by van was smooth considering traffic. The tour guide was well informed.
Our visit to the silk factory and lunch was interesting even as we had seen another silk factory tour during our travels. A full day tour that wenr by quickly.

Louise L Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My tour guide had exceptional knowledge of both areas. I was very fortunate to have received a private tour - I felt like a queen for the day! The driver was polite and courteous. The food was fine, pretty much what I expected from these types of tours. Without a doubt it would be great, if time allowed, to spend a full day per place as there appeared to be a lot to explore. Both areas are beautiful and well worth a visit!

Lien K L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

If you are in Shanghai and want something to do outside the city, l strongly recommend this tour. The boat ride at the water village was definitely my favourite part of the tour. It is quite an amazing town. Not quite the same experience as a gondola ride in Venice but can definitely see why it's called the Venice of the East and definitely a must visit. The tour could be improved by allowing even just 1hr free time to wonder around the water village on our own so we could have explored some of the shops or to just sit down for a nice drink in one of the cafes along the canals and enjoyed the experience. The highlight of my Shanghai experience.

indiana g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Awesome little villages, very local, cultural. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind at the same time.

Julie Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. Seeing Suzhou and Zhouzhuang is like being in a different world - completely different than China's big cities. The gardens in Suzhou are a must-see! I highly recommend this day trip to anyone wanting to catch a glimpse into the untouched China.

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great tour, interesting spot!

Jared

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

great day trip. Frank the tour guide was very good and we saw a lot of sights.

sally t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Had a great time and Ms Fenny was fabulous this tour is certainly worthwhile. Fenny was also very helpful in booking a trip to Beijing and seeing the sights of Beijing ie the Great Wall.

Vadim D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Good experience. Highly recommended.

Elisabeth L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Joe the guide made this tour a very pleasant day. He gave the clients a lot of information and was happy to answer questions. Friendly driver. Suzhou -enjoyed the Master of Net Garden. Highlight was the boat trip in Zhouzhuang Water Village.

JoAnn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Enter your review here.My tour was fantastic. The silk factory was the most interesting factory I have ever toured and the tour guide was well spoken and very interesting and informative.

Nick Ng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

For a day-trip, this is about the correct pace. It takes over an hour to get from Shanghai to Suzhou. You get to see the lavish home of a typical Chinese merchant (from the past). The silk factory, which is privately-run, is better than state-run ones. Zhouzhuang water village is the highlight of the day. Joe, our guide for the day, is very professional and good at this job. This is worthwhile tour !

Connie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Worth the trip. Zhouzhuang Water Village is absolutely charming. Tour guide was excellent as well but the lunch was a really bad western buffet.

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Our tour was an absolute delight. It gave us an opportunity to see a rural setting as well as a different urban setting to what we saw in Shanghai. Our tour guide was "Joe" who was very friendly and his command of English was very good as was his knowledge of the different places he took us. The driver, whose name I have forgotten, was also a very good and safe driver and after being in many cabs prior to this tour I was a bit worried as to what to expect but he did a great job. We particularly enjoyed the ride in the boat on the canal especially when the lady sang to us and even though we could not understand any of it the experience was worth it. Joe took us to a lot of good spots including the silk factory and the place where pearls were processed and both places were incredibly interesting.
Kind Regards
Ian and Rosanna Barton

Pat Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Scenery was great. Guide, Frank was very informative and helpful.

Marianne v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The trip was very worthwhile! Good and experienced organisation by our guide Joe. No pressure to buy products (but nice silk products in factory outlet). As so many visiting points were on the schedule time was a bit short and trip could have taken a bit longer as being back in Shanghai at 18h! Recommendable for a day out of Shanghai city!

Audrey M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great trip, Good sized newer van with good airconditioning. Recommend this to all for a good day out. Lunch decent.

Viewing 3 of 12

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 134.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message