4 star rating: Recommended 222 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 222 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

If you are in Shanghai and want something to do outside the city, l strongly recommend this tour. The boat ride at the water village was definitely my favourite part of the tour. It is quite an amazing town. Not quite the same experience as a gondola ride in Venice but can definitely see why it's called the Venice of the East and definitely a must visit. The tour could be improved by allowing even just 1hr free time to wonder around the water village on our own so we could have explored some of the shops or to just sit down for a nice drink in one of the cafes along the canals and enjoyed the experience. The highlight of my Shanghai experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Awesome little villages, very local, cultural. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind at the same time.

Julie
Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. Seeing Suzhou and Zhouzhuang is like being in a different world - completely different than China's big cities. The gardens in Suzhou are a must-see! I highly recommend this day trip to anyone wanting to catch a glimpse into the untouched China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great tour, interesting spot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

great day trip. Frank the tour guide was very good and we saw a lot of sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Had a great time and Ms Fenny was fabulous this tour is certainly worthwhile. Fenny was also very helpful in booking a trip to Beijing and seeing the sights of Beijing ie the Great Wall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Good experience. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Joe the guide made this tour a very pleasant day. He gave the clients a lot of information and was happy to answer questions. Friendly driver. Suzhou -enjoyed the Master of Net Garden. Highlight was the boat trip in Zhouzhuang Water Village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Enter your review here.My tour was fantastic. The silk factory was the most interesting factory I have ever toured and the tour guide was well spoken and very interesting and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

For a day-trip, this is about the correct pace. It takes over an hour to get from Shanghai to Suzhou. You get to see the lavish home of a typical Chinese merchant (from the past). The silk factory, which is privately-run, is better than state-run ones. Zhouzhuang water village is the highlight of the day. Joe, our guide for the day, is very professional and good at this job. This is worthwhile tour !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Worth the trip. Zhouzhuang Water Village is absolutely charming. Tour guide was excellent as well but the lunch was a really bad western buffet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Our tour was an absolute delight. It gave us an opportunity to see a rural setting as well as a different urban setting to what we saw in Shanghai. Our tour guide was "Joe" who was very friendly and his command of English was very good as was his knowledge of the different places he took us. The driver, whose name I have forgotten, was also a very good and safe driver and after being in many cabs prior to this tour I was a bit worried as to what to expect but he did a great job. We particularly enjoyed the ride in the boat on the canal especially when the lady sang to us and even though we could not understand any of it the experience was worth it. Joe took us to a lot of good spots including the silk factory and the place where pearls were processed and both places were incredibly interesting.
Kind Regards
Ian and Rosanna Barton

Pat
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Scenery was great. Guide, Frank was very informative and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The trip was very worthwhile! Good and experienced organisation by our guide Joe. No pressure to buy products (but nice silk products in factory outlet). As so many visiting points were on the schedule time was a bit short and trip could have taken a bit longer as being back in Shanghai at 18h! Recommendable for a day out of Shanghai city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great trip, Good sized newer van with good airconditioning. Recommend this to all for a good day out. Lunch decent.

From USD $ 134.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message