4 star rating: Recommended 233 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 233 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Joe the guide made this tour a very pleasant day. He gave the clients a lot of information and was happy to answer questions. Friendly driver. Suzhou -enjoyed the Master of Net Garden. Highlight was the boat trip in Zhouzhuang Water Village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Enter your review here.My tour was fantastic. The silk factory was the most interesting factory I have ever toured and the tour guide was well spoken and very interesting and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

For a day-trip, this is about the correct pace. It takes over an hour to get from Shanghai to Suzhou. You get to see the lavish home of a typical Chinese merchant (from the past). The silk factory, which is privately-run, is better than state-run ones. Zhouzhuang water village is the highlight of the day. Joe, our guide for the day, is very professional and good at this job. This is worthwhile tour !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Worth the trip. Zhouzhuang Water Village is absolutely charming. Tour guide was excellent as well but the lunch was a really bad western buffet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Our tour was an absolute delight. It gave us an opportunity to see a rural setting as well as a different urban setting to what we saw in Shanghai. Our tour guide was "Joe" who was very friendly and his command of English was very good as was his knowledge of the different places he took us. The driver, whose name I have forgotten, was also a very good and safe driver and after being in many cabs prior to this tour I was a bit worried as to what to expect but he did a great job. We particularly enjoyed the ride in the boat on the canal especially when the lady sang to us and even though we could not understand any of it the experience was worth it. Joe took us to a lot of good spots including the silk factory and the place where pearls were processed and both places were incredibly interesting.
Kind Regards
Ian and Rosanna Barton

Pat
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Scenery was great. Guide, Frank was very informative and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The trip was very worthwhile! Good and experienced organisation by our guide Joe. No pressure to buy products (but nice silk products in factory outlet). As so many visiting points were on the schedule time was a bit short and trip could have taken a bit longer as being back in Shanghai at 18h! Recommendable for a day out of Shanghai city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great trip, Good sized newer van with good airconditioning. Recommend this to all for a good day out. Lunch decent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

A very nice tour. Enjoyed the Water Village Day Trip. The tour guide spoke excellent English. The Mercedes Van that was used was hard for my wife to climb in to--there were no handles to grab on to to help her pull herself into the van. A box to step on placed on the pavement beside the van may well have helped a lot.
The driver/guide were right on time and were most knowledgeable

Ed Bowen

Ming
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I chose this tour because of the hotel pick-up and drop-off service. Frank the guide was very polite and responsible. I booked last minute and was late back at my hotel the night before but he made sure he reached me about the pick-up time. The tour was packed with highlights of Suzhou (small garden and silk factory) including a bonus visit to an Embroidery Center where we had an enjoyable lunch (not the buffet from older reviews). Frank also did a very thorough tour of Zhouzhuang after lunch. We visited 2 old residences and did a gondola ride. April was a great time to visit with beautiful blossoms with crowds, though not yet out of control. We did hit a bit of traffic in Shanghai but that's expected. Overall the tour was excellent and I felt safe and taken care of. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Jolene was very professional, dedicated, and very informative. Makes you want to go back for more. Will recommend her to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

=Very very please with your tour.Excellent Tour guide - Good job Miss Rita

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Best Trip Ever Excellent and Helpful Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

had a great time. helen our tour guide was ecxellent. she knew everything not only about the tour but about everything else. thank you Helen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Beautiful trip, especially the water village was exciting. Thanks to Helen, our tour guide who provided a lot of interesting information.

From USD $ 134.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message