4 star rating: Recommended 256 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 256 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

There were five on the tour so it was very personal and friendly. The minibus was comfortable. We spent a far amount of time in the bus as the two towns are a distance from shanghai central. Fortunately I find this interesting as you get a feel for the surroundings. Our guide was informative without overloading us with too many facts and figures. The garden we saw in Suzhou was interesting, the lunch provided was good. The water village is an interesting place. It was my second visit and still enchanted. Of course we were taken to a silk factory but there was no pressure to buy.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and our guide, Fran, was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable and made sure we had enough time at each of the stops to explore. Definitely recommended!

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Positive: Loved the tour! it covers different attractions in both destinations! We had a great walk in the village and a little bit of time to discover some of the local shops there.

Negative: even though we were a small group, myself and my friend, and another lady in the tour, the tour guide wasn't cooperative much, and asking us to rush here and there.

Been in 2 tours with the same tour company, 2 different tour guides. We noticed that they are not really good in communication. Their English is understandable, but their explanation lacks the touch that a tour guide should have! They should improve their communication skills and understand how to deal with different cultures, how to say things, how not to be rude ... etc .. We noticed a gap between our tour guides and some other tour guides that were in the same attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved Zhouzhuang, wished we could have seen more of Suzhou, even just a driving tour. The meal was only fair. We enjoyed our tour guide and the driver did a good job navigating the streets and highways.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent way to see an old water village. Guide way very knowledgeable and helpful. Recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Really great place. However, I recommend like previous recommendations above to spend less time in the garden and more time in the Water Village.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Chris was a great tour guide and loved to share insights and information. His English was excellent and he was particularly helpful to a physically challenged girl in our group. I particularly enjoyed Zhouzhuang and the boat ride. Everyone on the boats and watching along the way seemed to have a smile on their face. It was an uplifting experience. My only regret is that I didn't try some of the special roasted pork that was at every other vendor. Now I'm so curious! Thanks for a wonderful day!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a great trip. Frank was very helpful. Not too many people. Silk factory tour was excellent. Loved ZhouZhuang.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Nice...but a little too rush for every stop...

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Beautiful place especially the water town and the lady who rowed our boat has a good voice and sang us a couple of songs.Our guide Chris is knowledgeable and efficient. Very well versed in the history of Suzhou and Chris took very good care of us. He gave us enough time to take photos, sufficient time to do some souvenir shopping and to take in the scenery. Good job.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Our guide was very informative and knowledgable and spoke good english. Could have spent more time at the Water Village to explore the intriging little shops everywhere. I found the visit to the silk factory interesting and rather expensive, time there could have been shorter.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Frank, the tour guide was like an old friend taking us around. Patient and easy going.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was a nice escape from Shanghai City and small group tour definitely made it personal and a nice experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Zhou zhuang water village is absolutely gorgeous. Looks amazing in pictures. However, was a bit disappointed that we weren't able to spend longer here and reduce the time spent at the silk factory. Guide is very informative and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We chose this tour as we wanted to see more of China than just Shanghai. It provided a contrast to the city and enabled us to see some of the region. It is a long day in the heat, but worthwhile. The Water Village is lovely, but is sadly let down by some rather tacky shops that have filled the old buildings and the fact that the lady on our gondola insisted on singing for us at a price she wanted to determine. The silk factory was very interesting and all in all, we enjoyed the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a tranquil spot and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was nice to see countryside and Fiona our guide was excellent. We were taken to a silk factory but there was no pressure to buy. Seeing the actual silkworms was also interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Great tour, the guide was very knowledgable and entertaining at the same time. Only suggestion I give is that maybe less time at Net Master Garden and more time at Zhouzhuang water village.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Zhouzhuang is a 'must' but Suzhou was disappointing.Zhouzhuang is one of the most beautiful places i've been in China.Suzhou gardens were nothing special, the Yu garden in Shanghai is similar. The lunch was fabulous, and our guide and driver were really nice too.If you want to do something special outside of Shanghai choose a half-day tour to Zhouzhuang only...

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I expected Suzhou, about an hour's motorway drive outside Shanghai, to be a sleepy village, but instead, it is now a major manufacturing area. We visited a traditional Chinese house and garden that was less traveled and more quaint than the Old City in Shanghai. The Zhouzhuang Water Village is newly renovated, but the attempt to recreate the old-world charm is mostly successful.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Frank was very helpful. Great trip. Zhouzhaung was VERY crowded

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my day trip with our knowledgable tour guide Sherry. It would have been difficult to see these sights all on my own and I enjoyed sharing the experience within a small group of 5 women, especially since I was touring solo. Wandering around Zhouzhuang was my favorite part of the day and I wished we had more time there. The meal could have better and I did feel rushed through parts of the day but overall the experience was very nice. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Shanghai who wants to get out of the city for a while.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Since there are much to see, would be better if the tour can be broken down into full day trip each.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

A very enjoyable and informative conducted by a very good tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The tour is well organised. Frank, our guide was fantastic, giving us time to linger in shops and take photos. His commentary abt shanghai and its surrounding pretty good. I, personally, didnt like the water village much, very crowded. But I wud recommend this tour company for ur visit to shanghai.

From USD $ 134.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message