4 star rating: Recommended 270 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Shanghai, China
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 270 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour with great local knowledge via Rita, our tour guide. Suggestions for improvement include more commentary on the transit in relation to local towns and also to make dedicated time in the water town for shopping (20 mins). Great driving!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour. Wish we could have spent more time in Zhouzhang, would have liked to be there later in the day into the evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Rita was very knowledgeable about the area. She talked to us about Chinese culture in general as well as provided information about the water villages. I did feel a bit rushed towards the end in Zhouzhuang, as did some of the other tourists on our trip and shop : All in all it was a good, informative experience and nice getaway from the big city.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous day out, Joy the tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgable about the areas on the visit.
We found the driver a bit scary at times a bit like a terror taxi ride at a fair !
Lunch was very mediocre although the potatoes were tasy.
Thanks for a good trip. Nina

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed the tour and would recommend it. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, although I had to listen closely as she spoke "Chinglish". Our lunch was very good and the silk factory was pretty amazing. Overall, I can tell you it was a great tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was certainly an interesting trip, a lot of History and culture

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this trip, our Guide Frank was fantastic very funny and provided us with great local information, would highly recommend this day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, gardens were lovely and silk museum interesting. The water village was the best, would have liked more time there to explore. The lunch was very average.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great guide who met us at our hotel. Both sites interesting, Zhouzhuang especially attractive and we enjoyed the gondola ride. Excellent lunch and tour of silk factory. Driver was good too. Good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

There were five on the tour so it was very personal and friendly. The minibus was comfortable. We spent a far amount of time in the bus as the two towns are a distance from shanghai central. Fortunately I find this interesting as you get a feel for the surroundings. Our guide was informative without overloading us with too many facts and figures. The garden we saw in Suzhou was interesting, the lunch provided was good. The water village is an interesting place. It was my second visit and still enchanted. Of course we were taken to a silk factory but there was no pressure to buy.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and our guide, Fran, was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable and made sure we had enough time at each of the stops to explore. Definitely recommended!

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Positive: Loved the tour! it covers different attractions in both destinations! We had a great walk in the village and a little bit of time to discover some of the local shops there.

Negative: even though we were a small group, myself and my friend, and another lady in the tour, the tour guide wasn't cooperative much, and asking us to rush here and there.

Been in 2 tours with the same tour company, 2 different tour guides. We noticed that they are not really good in communication. Their English is understandable, but their explanation lacks the touch that a tour guide should have! They should improve their communication skills and understand how to deal with different cultures, how to say things, how not to be rude ... etc .. We noticed a gap between our tour guides and some other tour guides that were in the same attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved Zhouzhuang, wished we could have seen more of Suzhou, even just a driving tour. The meal was only fair. We enjoyed our tour guide and the driver did a good job navigating the streets and highways.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent way to see an old water village. Guide way very knowledgeable and helpful. Recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Really great place. However, I recommend like previous recommendations above to spend less time in the garden and more time in the Water Village.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Chris was a great tour guide and loved to share insights and information. His English was excellent and he was particularly helpful to a physically challenged girl in our group. I particularly enjoyed Zhouzhuang and the boat ride. Everyone on the boats and watching along the way seemed to have a smile on their face. It was an uplifting experience. My only regret is that I didn't try some of the special roasted pork that was at every other vendor. Now I'm so curious! Thanks for a wonderful day!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a great trip. Frank was very helpful. Not too many people. Silk factory tour was excellent. Loved ZhouZhuang.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Nice...but a little too rush for every stop...

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Beautiful place especially the water town and the lady who rowed our boat has a good voice and sang us a couple of songs.Our guide Chris is knowledgeable and efficient. Very well versed in the history of Suzhou and Chris took very good care of us. He gave us enough time to take photos, sufficient time to do some souvenir shopping and to take in the scenery. Good job.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Our guide was very informative and knowledgable and spoke good english. Could have spent more time at the Water Village to explore the intriging little shops everywhere. I found the visit to the silk factory interesting and rather expensive, time there could have been shorter.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Frank, the tour guide was like an old friend taking us around. Patient and easy going.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was a nice escape from Shanghai City and small group tour definitely made it personal and a nice experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Zhou zhuang water village is absolutely gorgeous. Looks amazing in pictures. However, was a bit disappointed that we weren't able to spend longer here and reduce the time spent at the silk factory. Guide is very informative and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We chose this tour as we wanted to see more of China than just Shanghai. It provided a contrast to the city and enabled us to see some of the region. It is a long day in the heat, but worthwhile. The Water Village is lovely, but is sadly let down by some rather tacky shops that have filled the old buildings and the fact that the lady on our gondola insisted on singing for us at a price she wanted to determine. The silk factory was very interesting and all in all, we enjoyed the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great day trip.

From USD $ 134.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2052SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message